Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Design & Data Visualization

Article Databases

Design & Applied Arts Index
Covers all aspects of design, including architecture, interior design, environmental design, graphic design, advertising, theatre design, industrial design, design and craft education, and design management.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Covers a broad and international array of architectural publications, including: journals, popular periodicals, professional association publications and major serials on architecture and design. Other areas of coverage include: Urban and City Planning, Interior Design, Interior Decoration, Landscape Architecture, Archeology, and Historic Preservation.

JSTOR
This database provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences. Relevant subject areas listed under "Browse by Subject" include: Architecture & Architectural History,  Art & Art History, ​​​​and Classical Studies. 

Academic Search Ultimate
Multidisciplinary article database which covers thousands of mostly English-language popular magazines and scholarly (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. 

Interdisciplinary Databases

Additional Databases

Getty Art and Architecture Thesaurus
The thesaurus is a helpful tool to find subject terms related to architectural and art history research

Art Full Text
Indexes articles on art from periodicals, yearbooks, & museum bulletins, including reproductions of works of art. References paintings used as illustrations for articles or ads, listing the works under the artists' names with full citations.

ART Bibliographies Modern
Indexes journals, monographs, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, & other publications related to 19-20th century art. Covers architecture, collecting, drawing, education, folk art, graphic design, museums & galleries, painting, photography, etc.

Bibliography of the History of Art
Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Indexes and abstracts art- related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.

Science Direct
Offers the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Includes indexing and  full-text access to relevant journal publications auch as Building and Environment, Computer-Aided Design, Design Studies, Materials & Design, and others.

Image Databases

Archivision Digital Research Library
Architectural images representing Greek, Roman, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, 18th-/19th-century, and Modern architecture.
The images in this repository are accessible, as an institutional repository, via ARTstor.

ARTstor Digital Library
Digital library of visual material in the area of architecture, decorative arts, painting, sculpture, photography, and design. Contains images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Coverage includes architecture & architectural History, classical studies, design & decorative studies, industrial and interior design, and other subjects. 

Archivision Digital Research Library
Architectural images representing Greek, Roman, Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, 18th-/19th-century, and Modern architecture.
The images in this repository are accessible, as an institutional repository, via ARTstor.

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 (Arizona)
Provides digital access to historic maps of towns and cities in Arizona.

American Memory (The Library of Congress)
Gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States.
It includes these selected image collections: Built in America: Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes Survey, 1933-Present; Architecture and Interior Design for 20th Century America: Photographs by Samuel Gottscho and William Schleisner, 1935-1955; American Landscape and Architectural Design, 1850-1920; Touring Turn-of-the-Century America: Photographs from the Detroit Publishing Company, 1880-1920

Advanced Databases

Dissertations and Theses Arizona State University
A searchable database for full-text and citations to ASU students' doctoral dissertations and masters theses.

Dissertations and Theses 
Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and selected masters' theses accepted for degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions. Covers approximately 3,000 subject areas.

Sage Research Methods
A web-based research methods tool to help researchers, faculty and students with research projects. Researchers can explore methods to help them construct research projects and understand various methods. This database focuses on methodology and is useful for all disciplines.

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.