ENG 465 Studies in Film/The American Indian in Film and Video
Need More Help?
Labriola National American Indian Data Center Info
Labriola Center Homepage http://lib.asu.edu/labriola
Labriola Center Hours Monday-Thursday 9am-7pm & Friday 9am-6pm
Contact the Center at 480-965-6490 or Ask-An-Archivist
Or call Alex Soto at 602-543-8261 or alexander.soto@asu.edu
Librarians Contact Information
Hayden Library Subject Librarians http://lib.asu.edu/librarians
English Department
Joe Buenker
480-965-4904
Recommended Research Databases
- Academic Search PremierA multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
- American Indian History OnlineA unique resource that offers fast access to more than 5,000 years of culture, history, and leaders. More than 240 Native American groups are presented through subject entries, biographies, primary source documents, historical maps, and photographs.
- American Indian IndexPart of the Labriola National American Indian Data Center Collection. Includes all topics dealing with the American Indian inAlaska, Canada, and the United States. Photographs are included in this collection.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaGeneral database for journal articles on various topics dealing with American Indian Nations - link to full text through Get it ASU
- Ethnic NewswatchNewspaper articles, including Indian Country Today, very contemporary information, full text
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals PlusThis database offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals from 1972 to the present.
- Film Indexes OnlineProvides access to the catalogs of the American Film Institute (AFI Catalog) and the British Film Institute (Film Index International).
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a widevariety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Humanities Full TextIndexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications,language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.
Find Books and Articles
Books
Imagic Moments by ISBN: 0820345148Publication date: 2013-05-01In Indigenous North American film Native Americans tell their own stories and thereby challenge a range of political and historical contradictions, including egregious misrepresentations by Hollywood. Although Indians in film have long been studied, especially as characters in Hollywood westerns, Indian film itself has received relatively little scholarly attention. In Imagic Moments Lee Schweninger offers a much-needed corrective, examining films in which the major inspiration, the source material, and the acting are essentially Native.
Native Recognition by ISBN: 1438443978Publication date: 2012-12-30Offers a new interpretation of the century-long relationship between the Western film genre and Native American filmmaking.
Native Americans on Film by ISBN: 0813136652Publication date: 2013-01-18The film industry and mainstream popular culture are notorious for promoting stereotypical images of Native Americans: the noble and ignoble savage, the pronoun-challenged sidekick, the ruthless warrior, the female drudge, the princess, the sexualized maiden, the drunk, and others. Over the years, Indigenous filmmakers have both challenged these representations and moved past them, offering their own distinct forms of cinematic expression.
Engaged Resistance by ISBN: 0292723997Publication date: 2011-04-01Dean Rader offers the first interdisciplinary examination of how American Indian artists, filmmakers, and writers tell their own stories.
Useful Websites
- American Indian Film GalleryThis Gallery of vintage motion pictures offers rich perspectives on the American Indian experience.
- Arizona Archives OnlineArchival collections from the three Arizona Universities
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
