Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Engineering: The Literature Review Process

How to do a thorough literature review for a dissertation, thesis, applied project or grant application.

Have you completed each step in the process?

___ 1.  Equipped my "tool box" with the following:  (Chapter 3)

___ a. My library account is active and clear of fines/fees

___ b. I have registered for an ILLiad account so I can obtain materials not owned by the ASU Library

___ c. I have registered for a RefWorks account (or I am using another software package) to manage my citations

___ d. I have devised a way to keep a record of what databases I've searched and how I've searched them.

 

___ 2. Composed a simple sentence or a PICO statement/question that describes my information need. (Chapter 4)

______________________________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________________________

 

___ 3. Determined which publications types will contain the information I need: (Chapter 5)

___ a. Background Information

___ b. Articles

___ c. Books

___ d. Conference Proceedings

___ e. Dissertations/Theses

___ f.  Patents

___ g. Standards

___ h. Technical Reports

___ i. U.S. or International Government/Agency Documents
 

____ 4. Determined which resources/databases to use to find those publication types: (Chapter 5)

___ a.  ABI/Inform

___ b. ACM Digital Library/Guide to Computing Literature

___ c. Compendex 

___ d. Dissertations & Theses

​___ e. Google Scholar

___ f. Inspec

___ g. Knovel

___ h. Library One Search

___ i. Patent databases 

___ j. Science.gov

___ k. SciFinder

___ l. Sci-Tech Connect

___ m. Scopus

___ n. Synthesis

___ o. USA.gov

___ p. Web of Science

___ q. Worldcat

___ r. WorldwideScience.org

___ s. Other: 

 

___ 5. Used different search strategies to retrieve information from the above resources/databases:  (Chapter 6 )

___ a. Searched keywords using:  

___ i. How I describe the concept(s)

___ ii. How authors in the field describe the concept(s)

___ iii. How the database describes the concept(s)

___ b.  Re-searched resources/databases whenever new words/terminology were found

___ c. Searched for articles written by prominent authors in the field

___ d. Searched the citations, backwards and forwards, for the major articles in the field

___ e. Kept a record of what search strategies/words were used in each database and when

 

___ 6. Set up current alerting services for the major resources, databases, and journals in the field. (Chapter 7)

List which resources and what type of alert: 

_________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________
 

___ 7. Created a matrix for the important points mentioned in your readings.  (Chapter 8)

___ a.  Sorted matrix by each column to find patterns and commonalities 

___ b. Decided on the groupings to use in the review

 

___ 8. Created an outline for the review containing:  (Chapter 9)

___ a. Introduction 

___ b. Groupings

___ c. Conclusion 

Hours and Locations