Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


Humanities Book Award (IHR)

The Humanities Book Award from Arizona State University's Institute for Humanities Research was established in 2008 and "is presented [annually] for a non-fiction work that exemplifies ... socially engaged humanities-based scholarship."

Award Winners: By Award Year

2021 Winner
Barker, Hannah. That Most Precious Merchandise: The Mediterranean Trade in Black Sea Slaves: 1260-1500. University of Pennsylvania Press. 2019. Middle Ages series. Vii, 314 pages.
Ebook Central Perpetual Titles [unlimited access].
HT983 .B37 2019 ASU Authors Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections.


2021 Shortlist
Fahs, Breanne. Women, Sex, and Madness: Notes from the Edge. Routledge. 2020. Women and Psychology. Viii, 220 pages.
HQ29 .F34 2020 ASU Authors Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections.


2021 Shortlist
Florini, Sarah. Beyond Hashtags: Racial Politics and Black Digital Networks. New York University Press. 2019. Critical Cultural Communication. Vii, 270 pages.
P94.5.A37 F57 2019 ASU Authors Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections.


2021 Shortlist
Fonseca-Chávez, Vanessa. Colonial Legacies in Chicana/o Literature and Culture: Looking Through the Kaleidoscope. University of Arizona Press. 2019. Xi, 167 pages.
PS153 .M4 F636 2020 West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola Center Open Stacks.


2021 Shortlist
Hedberg Olenina, Ana. Psychomotor Aesthetics: Movement and Affect in Modern Literature and Film. Oxford University Press. 2020. Xliii, 366 pages.
Oxford Scholarship Online Complete.
NX180 .P79 O44 2020 Design and the Arts Library


2020 Winner
Du, Juan. The Shenzhen Experiment: The Story of China's Instant City. Harvard University Press. 2020. 376 pages.
Ebook Central Perpetual Titles [3 copies].


2020 Honorable Mention.
Banner, Francine. Crowdsourcing the Law: Trying Sexual Assault on Social Media. Lexington Books. 2019. Ix, 263 pages.
Ebook Central Perpetual Titles [3 copies].


2019 Winner
Lim, Julian. Porous Borders: Multiracial Migrations and the Law in the U.S.-Mexico Borderlands. University of North Carolina Press. 2017. David J. Weber Series in the New Borderlands History. Xv, 302 pages.
Ebook Central [unlimited access],
Hein Online and,
E184.A1 L54 2017 ASU Authors Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections.


2019 Honorable Mention
Himberg, Julia. The New Gay for Pay: The Sexual Politics of American Television Production. University of Texas Press. 2017. Xii, 189 pages.
PN1992.8.H64 H56 2017 ASU Authors Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections.


2018 Winner
Kinney, Rebecca J.. Beautiful Wasteland: The Rise of Detroit as America's Postindustrial Frontier. University of Minnesota Press. 2016. Xiii, 298 pages.
Ebook Central [3 copies].


2018 Honorable Mention
Camp, Jordan T. Incarcerating the Crisis: Freedom Struggles and the Rise of the Neoliberal State. University of California Press. 2016. American Crossroads, 43. Xiv, 263 pages.
Ebook Central Perpetual Titles [3 copies].


2018 Honorable Mention
Snorton, C. Riley. Black on Both Sides: A Racial History of Trans Identity. University of Minnesota Press. 2017. Xiv, 259 pages.
HQ77.95.U6 S66 2017 Noble Library Stacks [2 copies].


2017 Winner
Lee, Charles T. Ingenious Citizenship: Recrafting Democracy for Social Change. Duke University Press. 2016. Xiii, 298 pages.
Ebook Central [3 copies].
JK1764 .L427 2016 ASU Authors Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections


2016 Winner
Konings, Martijn. The Emotional Logic of Capitalism: What Progressives Have Missed. Stanford University Press. 2015. Ix, 172 pages.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access] and
HB501 .K5795 2015 Noble Library Stacks.


2015 Winner
Koblitz, Ann Hibne. Sex and Herbs and Birth Control: Women and Fertility Regulation through the Ages. Kovalevskaia Fund. 2014. Viii, 345 pages.
RM666.H33 K62 2014 Noble Library Stacks.


2014 Winner
Garvey, Ellen Gruber. Writing with Scissors: American Scrapbooks from the Civil War to the Harlem Renaissance. Oxford University Press. 2012. X, 304 pages.
Ebook Central [3 copies].


2013 Winner
Broglio, Ron. Surface Encounters: Thinking with Animals and Art. University of Minnesota Press. 2011. Posthumanities, 17. Xxii, 157 pages.
Ebook Central [unlimited access] and
B105.A55 B76 2011 Hayden Library ASU Authors Featured Collections


2012 Winner
Nixon, Rob. Slow Violence and the Environmentalism of the Poor. Harvard University Press. 2011. Xiii, 353 pages.
Ebook Central [unlimited access] and
PR9080.5 .N59 2011 Hayden Library Stacks.


2011 Winner
Boradkar, Prasad. Designing Things: A Critical Introduction to the Culture of Objects. Berg Publishers. 2010. Ix, 326 pages.
NK1505 .B67 2010 Design and the Arts Library Stacks [3 print copies].


2010 Winner
Spitta, Silvia. Misplaced Objects: Migrating Collections and Recollections in Europe and the Americas. University of Texas Press. 2009. Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long Series in Latin American and Latino Art and Culture. Xii, 280 pages.
E18.75 .S66 2009 Hayden Library Agave Featured Collections Collecting.


2009 Winner
Sadowski-Smith, Claudia. Border Fictions: Globalization, Empire, and Writing at the Boundaries of the United States. University of Virginia Press. 2008. New World Studies. Xi, 187 pages.
PS153.M4 S23 2008 West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks.


2008 Winner
Sturken, Marita. Tourists of History: Memory, Kitsch and Consumerism from Oklahoma to Ground Zero. Duke University Press. 2007. Xii, 344 pages.
Ebook Central Perpetual Titles [unlimited access].
E169.12 .S8495 2007 Hayden Library Stacks.


The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.