MIC 302: Advanced Bacteriology
Need more help?
On Reserve at Noble Library
- Bergey's manual of determinative bacteriologyCovers the nature of bacterial identification schemes, the differentiation of procaryotic from eucaryotic microorganisms, and major categories and groups of bacteria. It is available at the information desk for 2-hr checkout.
Microbiology Manuals
- The Prokaryotes (2006) - vol 1Volume 1: Symbiotic associations, Biotechnology, Applied Microbiology
- The Prokaryotes (2006) - vol 2Volume 2: Ecophysiology and Biochemistry
- The Prokaryotes (2006) - vol 3Volume 3: Archaea. Bacteria: Firmicutes, Actinomycetes
- The Prokaryotes (2006) - vol 4Volume 4: Bacteria: Firmicutes, Cyanobacteria
- The Prokaryotes (2006) - vol 5Volume 5: Proteobacteria: Alpha and Beta Subclasses
- The Prokaryotes (2006) - vol 6Volume 6: Proteobacteria: Gamma Subclass
- The Prokaryotes (2006) - vol 7Volume 7: Proteobacteria: Delta, Epsilon Subclass
- Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology, Vol 1, 2nd ed, 2001The Archaea and the Deeply Branching and Phototrophic Bacteria
- Bergey's Manual® of Systematic Bacteriology, Vol 2, 2nd ed, 2005 - Part AThe Proteobacteria, Part A Introductory Essays
- Bergey's Manual® of Systematic Bacteriology, Vol 2, 2nd ed, 2005 - Part BThe Proteobacteria Part B The Gammaproteobacteri
- Bergey's Manual® of Systematic Bacteriology, Vol 2, 2nd ed, 2005 - Part CThe Proteobacteria Part C The Alpha-, Beta-, Delta-, and Epsilonproteobacteria
- Bergey's Manual® of Systematic Bacteriology, Vol 4, 2nd ed, 2010The Bacteroidetes, Spirochaetes, Tenericutes (Mollicutes), Acidobacteria, Fibrobacteres, Fusobacteria, Dictyoglomi, Gemmatimonadetes, Lentisphaerae, Verrucomicrobia, Chlamydiae, and Planctomycetes
- Bergey's Manual® of Systematic Bacteriology, Vol 5, 2nd ed, 2012The Actinobacteria
- Current Protocols in MicrobiologyCurrent Protocols in Microbiolgy presents clear methodologies for research in priority areas such as infectious diseases, biodefense, microbe-host interactions, and host defense.
- Nature ProtocolsNature Protocols is an interactive online resource for laboratory protocols for bench researchers.
- KnovelElectronic library of Science and Engineering reference material containing many biotechnology resources.
Search for Articles
Use one of the following databases to search for articles.
- Academic Search UltimateA multidisciplinary article database which covers thousands of mostly English-language popular magazines and scholarly (including peer-reviewed) journals. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
- Biological SciencesThis database covers a wide variety of biological resources including: Algology, Mycology, Protozoology, Bacteriology, Immunology, Industrial and Applied Microbiology, and Virology. Coverage is from 1982 -
- JSTORThis database provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.
- KnovelFull text collection of several thousand reference works for most areas of engineering, technology and the sciences. Works include handbooks, manuals, encyclopedias, data compilations and regular texts. In addition to keyword searching, features also include property data searching, periodic table, a unit converter and interactive equations.
- Nucleic Acid AbstractsDetailed perspectives on innovative cloning and sequencing strategies are available in this database.
- PubMedSearch for articles on all biomedical topics including:
Biochemistry; Biology; Food Sciences; Health Sciences; Medicine; Microbiology; Nursing; Nutrition; Physiology; Public Health; Speech and Hearing - ScopusAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of peer-reviewed content.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Use Interlibrary Loan to request materials (articles, books, etc.) that you need, but are not in the ASU Library collection. This is a free service for students, staff, and faculty.
Interlibrary Loan FAQ
Formatting Your Lab Report
Use the For Authors page for the Journal of Bacteriology as the guide to format your lab reports.
The print manual is also available through the Library:
ASM Style Manual for Journals and Books. Washington D.C: American Society for Microbiology, 1991. Print.
Video Resources
- Films on DemandThere are many academic videos on a wide variety of subjects, including microbiology.
- JOVE: BiologyThe Journal of Visualized Experiments includes new and standard techniques in physical biology, cellular biochemistry, genetics, physiology, systems biology and a combination of eukaryotic and prokaryotic model systems.
- JOVE: NeuroscienceMethodologies presented range from molecular and cellular level studies to full central and peripheral neural systems. Potential treatment platforms and surgical techniques for neurological diseases and disorders are also presented.
- KanopyKanopy is a video streaming solution for colleges offering a "Netflix-like" user experience and a broad selection of over 26,000 documentaries, feature films, and educational videos from thousands of producers.
Recommended Books
Encyclopedia of Food Safety by
With the world's growing population, the provision of a safe, nutritious and wholesome food supply for all has become a major challenge. To achieve this, effective risk management based on sound science and unbiased information is required by all stakeholders, including the food industry, governments and consumers themselves. In addition, the globalization of the food supply requires the harmonization of policies and standards based on a common understanding of food safety among authorities in countries around the world. With some 280 chapters, the Encyclopedia of Food Safety provides unbiased and concise overviews which form in total a comprehensive coverage of a broad range of food safety topics, which may be grouped under the following general categories: History and basic sciences that support food safety; Foodborne diseases, including surveillance and investigation; Foodborne hazards, including microbiological and chemical agents; Substances added to food, both directly and indirectly; Food technologies, including the latest developments; Food commodities, including their potential hazards and controls; Food safety management systems, including their elements and the roles of stakeholders. The Encyclopedia provides a platform for experts from the field of food safety and related fields, such as nutrition, food science and technology and environment to share and learn from state-of-the art expertise with the rest of the food safety community. Assembled with the objective of facilitating the work of those working in the field of food safety and related fields, such as nutrition, food science and technology and environment - this work covers the entire spectrum of food safety topics into one comprehensive reference work The Editors have made every effort to ensure that this work meets strict quality and pedagogical thresholds such as: contributions by the foremost authorities in their fields; unbiased and concise overviews on a multitude of food safety subjects; references for further information, and specialized and general definitions for food safety terminology In maintaining confidence in the safety of the food supply, sound scientific information is key to effectively and efficiently assessing, managing and communicating on food safety risks. Yet, professionals and other specialists working in this multidisciplinary field are finding it increasingly difficult to keep up with developments outside their immediate areas of expertise. This single source of concise, reliable and authoritative information on food safety has, more than ever, become a necessity
ISBN: 9780123786135Publication date: 2013-12-12
Food Microbiology by
Authoritative coverage presented in a format designed to facilitate teaching and learning.
ISBN: 9781555819385Publication date: 2017-03-21
Food Microbiology by
This essential reference emphasizes the molecular and mechanistic aspects of food microbiology in one comprehensive volume.
ISBN: 1555818463Publication date: 2012-01-01- Handbook of Plant-Based Fermented Food and Beverage Technology by Fermented food can be produced with inexpensive ingredients and simple techniques and makes a significant contribution to the human diet, especially in rural households and village communities worldwide. Progress in the biological and microbiological sciences involved in the manufacture of these foods has led to commercialization and heightened intISBN: 9781439870693Publication date: 2012-05-17
- Manual of Clinical Microbiology by The 11th edition of the Manual of Clinical Microbiology continues to set the standard for state-of-the-science laboratory practices as the most authoritative reference in the field of clinical microbiology. This new edition presents the numerous microbial taxonomic changes and newer more powerful diagnostic approaches that have been developed since publication of the 10th edition. A collaborative team of editors and authors from around the world, all experienced practitioners, researchers, or public health experts, revised the Manual to include the latest applications of genomics and proteomics, producing an authoritative work of two volumes filled with current findings regarding infectious agents, leading-edge diagnostic methods, laboratory practices, and safety guidelines.ISBN: 9781555817374Publication date: 2015-04-30
Manual of Industrial Microbiology and Biotechnology by
A rich array of methods and discussions of productive microbial processes. Reviews of the newest techniques, approaches, and options in the use of microorganisms and other cell culture systems for the manufacture of pharmaceuticals, industrial enzymes and proteins, foods and beverages, fuels and fine chemicals, and other products. Focuses on the latest advances and findings on the current state of the art and science and features a new section on the microbial production of biofuels and fine chemicals, as well as a stronger emphasis on mammalian cell culture methods. Covers new methods that enhance the capacity of microbes used for a wide range of purposes, from winemaking to pharmaceuticals to bioremediation, at volumes from micro- to industrial scale.
ISBN: 9781555815127Publication date: 2010-03-25- Microbes by An accessible introduction to the world of microbes--from basic microbe biology through industrial applications Microbes affect our lives in a variety of ways--playing an important role in our health, food, agriculture, and environment. While some microbes are beneficial, others are pathogenic or opportunistic. Microbes: Concepts and Applications describes basic microbe biology and identification and shows not only how they operate in the subfields of medicine, biotechnology, environmental science, bioengineering, agriculture, and food science, but how they can be harnessed as a resource. It provides readers with a solid grasp of etiologic agents, pathogenic processes, epidemiology, and the role of microbes as therapeutic agents. Placing a major emphasis on omics technology, the book covers recent developments in the arena of microbes and discusses their role in industry and agriculture, as well as in related fields such as immunology, cell biology, and molecular biology. It offers complete discussions of the major bacterial, viral, fungal, and parasitic pathogens; includes information on emerging infectious diseases, antibiotic resistance, and bioterrorism; and talks about the future challenges in microbiology. The most complete treatment of microbial biology available, Microbes features eye-opening chapters on: Human and Microbial World Gene Technology: Application and Techniques Molecular Diagnostic and Medical Microbiology Identification and Classification of Microbes Diversity of Microorganisms Microbes in Agriculture Microbes as a Tool for Industry and Research Complete with charts and figures, this book is an invaluable textbook for university teachers, students, researchers, and people everywhere who care about microorganisms.ISBN: 9781118311905Publication date: 2012-07-11
- Methods in Microbiology by Immunological Methods in Microbiology, Volume 47 in the Methods in Microbiology series, highlights new advances in the field, with this new volume presenting interesting chapters on Immunological Techniques in the Clinical laboratory, Immunologic Diagnosis of HIV and Opportunistic Infections, Combining Antigen Detection and Serology for the Diagnosis of Selected Infectious Diseases, Immunologic Detection of Lyme Disease and Related Borrelioses, Immunodetection of Bacteria Causing Brucellosis, Immunological Diagnostic Techniques Used to Identify and Type Pasteurella, Immunological Tests for Diarrhea caused by Diarrheagenic Escherichia coli Targeting Their Main Virulence Factors, and much more.ISBN: 9780128208113Publication date: 2020-04-29
- Handbook of Fermented Food and Beverage Technology Two Volume Set by Fermented food can be produced with inexpensive ingredients and simple techniques and makes a significant contribution to the human diet, especially in rural households and village communities worldwide. Progress in the biological and microbiological sciences involved in the manufacture of these foods has led to commercialization and heightened interest among scientists and food processors. Handbook of Fermented Food and Beverage Technology, Second Edition is an up-to-date two-volume set exploring the history, microorganisms, quality assurance, and manufacture of fermented food products derived from both plant and animal sources. Each book in the set begins by describing fermented product manufacturing before delving into more specialized topics. Handbook of Plant-Based Fermented Food and Beverage Technology explores: Soy beverages and sauce, soymilk, and tofu Fruits and fruit products, including wine, capers, apple cider and juice, mangos, olive fruit, and noni fruits Vegetables and vegetable products, including red beet juice, eggplant, olives, pickles, sauerkraut, and jalapeño peppers Cereals and cereal products, including fermented bread, sourdough bread, rice noodles, boza, Chinese steamed buns, whiskey, and beer Specialty products such as balsamic vinegar, palm wine, cachaça, brick tea, shalgam, coconut milk and oil, coffee, and probiotic nondairy beverages Ingredients such as proteolytic bacteria, enzymes, and probiotics Handbook of Animal-Based Fermented Food and Beverage Technology discusses: Dairy starter cultures, microorganisms, leuconostoc and its use in dairy technology, and the production of biopreservatives Exopolysaccharides and fermentation ecosystems Fermented milk, koumiss, laban, yogurt, and sour cream Meat products, including ham, salami, sausages, and Turkish pastirma Malaysian and Indonesian fermented fish products Probiotics and fermented products, including the technological aspects and benefits of cheese as a probiotic carrier Fermented food products play a critical role in cultural identity, local economy, and gastronomical delight. With contributions from over 60 experts from more than 20 countries, this work is an essential reference distilling the most critical information on this food sector.ISBN: 9781466561458Publication date: 2012-05-21
Textbook
- Parker, N., Schneegurt, M., Thi Tu, A.-H., Lister, P., & Forster, B. M. (2016). Microbiology. OpenStax. "Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of the text make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter. Microbiology’s art program enhances students’ understanding of concepts through clear and effective illustrations, diagrams, and photographs. Microbiology is produced through a collaborative publishing agreement between OpenStax and the American Society for Microbiology Press. The book aligns with the curriculum guidelines of the American Society for Microbiology."
Microbiology Bar Chart
- Microbiology, BarCharts Inc. by This reference answers the most important questions that form the foundation of Microbiology within 6 laminated pages. Carry this core material in a handy format to use beyond the course and into higher level and career courses, then even further into your working life as a refresher. With many diagrams in a small package, you will not need to crack the textbook to review. Suggested uses: o Students – especially relevant for those majoring in science or a health care related field o Quick Reference – instead of digging into the textbook to find a core answer you need while studying, use the guide to reinforce quickly and repeatedly o Memory – refreshing your memory repeatedly is a foundation of studying, have the core answers handy so you can focus on understanding the concepts o Test Prep – no student should be cramming, but if you are, there is no better tool for that final review.Publication date: 2016
ASM Images and Protocols
- ASM Image LibraryThe Gallery is a collection of images, videos, and animations that can be used to enhance lecture or lab presentations.
- ASM Laboratory ProtocolsLaboratory Protocols are information briefs about standard laboratory tests and include the procedural steps as well as the purpose, theory, history, safety considerations, tips and comments, and references.
- ASM Curriculum ArchiveThe Curriculum Archive features 85 peer-reviewed activities promoting active learning in undergraduate microbiology.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
