Misinformation

Academic Search Ultimate is described by EBSCO (its publisher) as "the world's highest quality multidisciplinary full-text journal database."

Below is an alphabetical listing of hyperlinked subject heading searches of the database for concepts related to misinformation, fake news, free speech, and propaganda. By no means does this list show all of the possible searches for these concepts, but it provides options for where to start.

• Simply select one of the below entries to be connected to all matching records within the Academic Search Ultimate database.

Below is an alphabetical listing of hyperlinked subject heading searches of the ASU Library Catalog for concepts related to misinformation, fake news, free speech, and propaganda. There are 2 tabs: one with A-L entries and another with M-Z entries. By no means do these lists show all of the possible searches for these concepts, but they provide options for where to start.

• Simply select one of the entries to be connected to All Results (books, dissertations, government documents, journals, video) in print and electronic formats within the ASU Library Catalog.
• Full text means the entire text of a resource is provided. This means you can read, print, save, or cite it without having to request additional access. 
• Open access eliminates barriers such as price and copyright restrictions that hinder access to scholarship and the knowledge it confers. Open access challenges censorship attempts by guaranteeing that research is available online for global public access at no cost, permitting the transformation of ideas to improve society.

If you're using Library One Search's Simple Search: 

1. Under "Searching For," change the option to "ASU Library Catalog" from "All Resources."
2. Type in any keywords, title, or author you are looking for. (Tip: Use quotation marks to ensure the exact phrase and order are searched.)
3. Change the option on the dropdown menu to best match what you are looking for (for example, if searching for books by Margaret Atwood, you'll want to change the dropdown from "keyword" to "author.")
4. Hit "Search" or the Enter button on your keyboard. 
5. On the right of the results screen, under "Filter My Results," limit results to "Books."

If you're using Library One Search's Advanced Search:

1. Under "Searching For," change the option to "ASU Library Catalog" from "All Resources." 
2. On the dropdown menu "Any field," change it to reflect the title, author/creator, ISBN number, subject, or genre you want to search. 
3. Type in your respective search keywords or number.
4. On the dropdown menu "Material Type," change it from "All items" to "Books" to include physical books and e-books. 

After you find the book you want:

1. If it is an electronic book, click "Full text available" to access the database where it is located.
2. If it's a physical book and you want to search within the library, write down the call number (a string of one or two letters followed by numbers) and select "Locate" to see the respective library floor map.
3. If you want to pick it up from the library of your choice, click the button "Request ASU Copy," select the pickup location of your choice, then hit "Send Request."
4. If ASU Library doesn't own the book or if the book is checked out, you can select "Request ASU Copy" to place a hold on the book or select "Request External Copy" to try and obtain it via Interlibrary Loan. (Note: The request should be partially filled out, but still include as much information as possible.)

You can also watch this video on Library One Search or access the Library One Search tip sheet.