Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Nutrition

A guide for finding quality information on food science and nutrition.

Web Resources

  • Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics - This official organization of the dietitians includes nutrition fact sheets, nutrition information for consumers, position papers, the food guide pyramid and much more for the general public.
  • American Society for Nutrition - Research society dedicated to improving the quality of life through the science of nutrition.
  • AZHealthInfo.org  - This site brings together in one portal access to local, state and national information on individual, clinical and community health related topics. Information on individual health conditions and diseases, community health issues and problems.
  • Biological Diversity in Food and Agriculture - This website, designed by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, explores some of the many issues surrounding biodiversity in food and agriculture, with important sections devoted to genetic resources, ecosystems, and the socio-economic impacts upon this diversity.
  • CDC FASTSTATS - The Faststats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
  • US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention  - The lead federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people, providing credible information to enhance health decisions, and promoting health through strong partnerships. CDC serves as the national focus for developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, and health promotion and education activities.
  • NIH State Cancer Profiles - Interactive maps, graphs, text, tables and figures showing geographic patterns and time trends of cancer death rates for more than 20 cancers.
  • ClinicalTrials.gov - Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers.
  • Drug Information from MedlinePlus - Prescription drugs and over the counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions and more.
  • Food and Nutrition Information Center - USDA National Agriculture Library; Provides credible, accurate, and practical resources for nutrition and health professionals, educators, government personnel and consumers.
  • National Academies Food and Nutrition  - Links to National Academies current topics announcements, news and reports
  • Interactive Menu Planner- A daily food and meal choices guide based on one day's calorie allowance. It may be used in advance to plan a meal, or at the end of a day to add up total calories, as well as fat, and carbohydrates consumed.
  • International Dairy Foods Association (IDFA) - This site is a gateway to information on the International Dairy Foods Association; the Milk Industry Foundation, the National Cheese Institute, and the International Ice Cream Association.
  • World Obesity Federation  - Organization dedicated to informing the world about the urgency of the problem of obesity.
  • Lab Tests Online - Information on many clinical lab tests that are part of routine care as well as diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of conditions and diseases. From the American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC) and other non profit partners.
  • MedlinePlus - Information on over 700 health topics written at a layperson's level; medical dictionary; drug information.
  • MedPix Medical Images Database - A free online medical image database provided by the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics, Uniformed Services University, Bethesda, MD. The database is targeted to physicians and nurses, allied health professionals, medical students, graduate nursing students and other post-graduate trainees. The images are organized by disease location (organ system), pathology category, patient profiles, and by image classification and caption. Additional features, including Category 1 CME and CNE credits, quizzes, uploading, and editing, are available to registered users.
  • Merck Manuals-free online versions  - The full text of 5 of the Merck Manuals: the Home edition, the Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, and several others.
  • National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health - National center dedication to complementary and alternative healthcare.
  • National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases - Research and health information on diseases of the kidneys and digestive system.
  • National Institutes of Health - Website of National Institutes of Health. Information on health topics, grants, and research.
  • OASH _ Office on Women's Health  - Government resource that is aimed at the particular health issues of women. 
  • NIH National Institute on Aging, Health Topics - A database of information on age related health issues.
  • Nutrition.gov - This portal offers government information on diet and nutrition and the ways these relate to specific diseases, physical activity, food safety, and dietary needs of special groups. Also included are statistical data, fact sheets, links to other U.S. government sites.
  • Prevention Research Center at the University of South Carolina  - Web resource with full text tools for assessment, a newsletter, and links to other sites that promote a healthy lifestyle.
  • RxList - Drug information including description, pharmacology, indications and dosage, side effects and drug interactions, warnings and precautions, drug overdose contraindications, and patient information.

Topic Overviews

MedlinePlus | Search a topic in English or Spanish and retrieve the most authoritative consumer health information gathered from trusted sources.  Get  substantial topic overviews with latest news, current treatments, diagnosis, treatment, related organizations, and more.  It's "one stop" shopping since your search retrieves/links to the best consumer health information from all the major health associations, i.e. American Diabetes Association, American Heart Association.|  Just like PubMed, MedlinePlus is developled by  National Institutes of Health and Medical Library Association| 

e-Library of Evidence for Nutrition Actions (eLENA) | Search the site provided by the World Health Organization (WHO) or browse through interventions, health conditions, nutrients, and more.  eLENA provides important information on nutrition interventions which is organized in an intuitive, user-friendly manner.  Each page covering a nutrition intervention contains seven core features: Navigation menu, Narrative text box, WHO documents, Evidence, Category of Intervention, Implementation, Related Links, and in some cases also Biological, Behavourial, and Contextual (BBC) statement, and Commentary.

AHRQ - Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality | The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. As 1 of 12 agencies within the Department of Health and Human Services, AHRQ supports research that helps people make more informed decisions and improves the quality of health care services.

NIH - National Institutes of Health | The National Institutes of Health (NIH) is the nation’s medical research agency, making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.

Mayo Clinic Patient Care and Health Information