PHY 194: Foundations of Undergraduate Research
Search for Scholarly Articles
Most of the databases below will require you to sign in with your ASURITE username and password. Databases marked with a open access symbol 
are freely available and do not need a subscription.
STEM:
- Engineering Village (Compendex and Inspec)Use these databases to find computing, engineering, manufacturing, physics, and technical information. Coverage goes back to 1884 and includes some conference papers, patents and trade magazines in addition to journal articles. Use "Full Text" and "Get It @ ASU" links on each entry to determine if full text is available online.
- arXiv.orgarXiv is an open access, e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.
- OSTI.GOVOSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). It includes journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata, technical reports, scientific research datasets and collections, scientific software, patents, conference and workshop papers, books and theses, and multimedia funded by DOE. Full text is publicly available for most reports.
- ASME Online JournalsFull-text of selected journals produced by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
- IEEE XploreContains full-text of journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE).
Environmental:
- Environment CompleteEnvironment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
- GreenFILEGreenFILE provides a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles and covers content about the environment from a variety of perspectives. Journals include International Journal of Green Energy and Renewable & Sustainable Energy Reviews.
General:
- ScopusScopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of peer-reviewed content from around the world.
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Other Useful Resources
Not sure if the article you found is peer-reviewed? Ulrichsweb can help you find more information about the journal.
- UlrichswebUlrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more. This database can help you determine if a journal is peer-reviewed.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
