Standards (Engineering)
Introduction
These tools will help you identify standards by number, title, or keyword in title.
Once you have located the alpha-numeric designation for a standard, go to Standards Available in the ASU Library on this guide to determine whether the ASU Library has a copy in paper format. The following standards are electronic: ASTM, IEEE, and selected SAE.
Resources available:
Multi-Organization Databases
The following commercial providers have databases in which you can identify standards from multiple organizations. You will not be able to see the full text of the standards online from these databases; after identifying which standards you need, check the Standards Available in Noble Library on this guide to see if the standards are available in the ASU Library.
- ANSI
- The database of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI); covers ANSI-approved standards as well as some non-ANSI documents. Search by keyword in title or by document number.
- TechStreet
Covers the following publishers and more:- American Gas Association (AGA)
- American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
- American Petroleum Institute (API)
- American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
- American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
- ASTM International (ASTM)
- British Standards Institute (BSI)
- Deutsches Institut fur Normung (German Institute for Standards, DIN)
- Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
- International Organization for Standards (ISO)
- Military Specifications (MIL)
- National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
- For a more complete list: TechStreet Publishers
Single Organization Databases
The following organizations maintain a database specifically for their own standards or their standards are findable via the search engine on their website. Standards that are available online within the database will be indicated; for all other standards click on the link given below to see if the standards are available in the ASU Library.
- Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI)
Search by keyword or browse by subject category. ASU does not have access to AAMI standards online.
Determine availability of AAMI standards in the ASU Library.
- American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
Search by keyword in title or abstract, or by document number; browse by technical committee. ASU does not have access to ASME standards online.
ASU Library ASME Standards access .
- ASTM (formerly: American Society for Testing of Materials)
Search by keyword or number; browse by subject area, committee, or number.
- Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
Browse by number range or subject; search by number of keyword using the search box. Set the drop down list to STANDARDS. The full text of all IEEE issued standards are available within the database, however, draft standards are not included in our subscription nor can they be obtained via the Interlibrary Loan service. - International Standards Organization (ISO)
Search by keyword to browse by subject (ICS: International Classification for Standards) or Technical Committee (TC). ASU does not have access to ISO standards online.
Determine the availability of ISO standards in the ASU Library - SAE International (formerly: Society of Automotive Engineers)
In the upper right corner of the screen, in the Search Box area, click on the "Search Standards" tab - the standards search provides searching by keyword or number or browsing by industry or topic. ASU has selective access to SAE standards via SAE Mobilus Including: Aerospace Material Specifications (Historical), Aerospace Standards (Historical), Ground Vehicle Standards (Current & Historical) - U.S. Department of Defense (MIL-Specs)
The ASSIST database provides access to the full text of Defense and Federal specifications and standards available. Search by number, keyword in title or browse by subject (FSA - Federal Supply Class).
You may also try:
Ask a Librarian
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
