TCL 111: Introduction to Transborder Chicana/o & Latina/o Culture: Welcome
Course Description
Designed as an introduction to Transborder Chican@ and Latin@ cultural expression, this course will emphasize visual culture and contextualize beliefs, concepts, customs, issues, historical events, and symbols. Particular themes and issues addressed in the course include: politics of identity, U.S. citizenship, gender roles, cultural traditions, political activism for social justice, U.S. imperialism, and the U.S.-Mexico Border.
Librarian
Chicano/a Research Collection
Use the Special Materials Index and Arizona Archives Online to find archival material.
Search Tip: When you're looking for material, use different search terms like: Chicano, Hispanic, Mexican American, Latino, Labor, Immigration, Politics, Civil Rights, Culture, etc.
- Chicanos Por La Causa (CPLC) RecordsThis organization was founded in 1967 by a group of Chicanos and Chicanas who were dedicated to improving the quality of life for Mexican Americans living in Arizona. The Southwest Council of La Raza (later the National Council of La Raza) made an initial investment in the group, which quickly developed bilingual housing referral services for lower income communities in South and Central Phoenix.
- Ocampo Family Papers & PhotographsThe collection preserve the life and customs of a pioneering Mexican American family from 1863 to the present. The Ocampos helped establish the first public school, St. Anthony Padua Catholic Church, and library in Wickenberg, Arizona.
- Ed Pastor PapersThis collection preserves the political career of Arizona's first Latino U.S. Congressman.
- Xico Inc. RecordsThis collection focuses on the history of Chicano/a artistic expression in Arizona. Xico was formed to promote a greater understanding and appreciation
of Chicano/a and indigenous cultures through community based arts programs.
Films
Use ASU Library Catalog, Films on Demand, or American History in Video to find films or documentaries.
- Chicano! : History of the Mexican American Civil Rights MovementA four part documentary. 1) Quest for a Homeland 2) The Struggle in the Fields 3) Taking Back the Schools 4) Fighting for Political Power
- Arizona History, A Chicano PerspectiveThree-part documentary traces Chicano heritage and influence in Arizona.
- Santa Rita & The Beginning of La CausaHighlights the history of Chicanos Por La Causa (CPLC).
- Los Veteranos of World War IIHighlights Mexican American WWII veterans from Phoenix who helped improve social conditions for Latinos in Arizona.
- In search of AztlánThis film follows Culture Clash as they search for the mythical Aztlán, an ancient homeland of the Aztec people believed to be located somewhere in the Southwest.
ASU Digital Repository
- Nosotros VenceremosUnited Farm Workers (UFW) songs and speeches in Spanish.
- Corrido: Los Tres MojadosA corrido written about the 1976 Hanigan Case in Arizona.
- Oral History Project: Undocumented VoicesProject documents the lives of undocumented students, known as dreamers, who have, and are currently, pursuing a more inclusive US immigration policy. These students have captured the public attention for the extensive social and political movement that they have built on college campuses around the U.S.
Books
Use the ASU Library Catalog or eBooks on EBSCOhost to find books.
Aztlán Arizona by Call number: LC2687.A6 E45 2014
Echoes of Life in Phoenix by Call number: F820.M5 A27 2007
Mexicans in Phoenix by Call number: F819.P57 B37 2008
To Sin Against Hope by Call number: F815.3.G88 A3 2013
Borderlands: the new mestiza = La frontera by Call number: PS3551.N95 B6 2007
Drink Cultura by Call number: E184.S75 B85 1993
Databases
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000Provides access to a collection of documents, images, and links to other websites.
- Chicano DatabaseProvides access to Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database covering psychological, sociological, & educational literature.
- ProQuest Statistical InsightProvides access to statistical information produced by the state governments and selected private organizations.
Newspapers & Journals
- Arizona Digital Newspaper ProgramProvides access to digitized Arizona historical newspapers.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersProvides access to articles from the Arizona Republican.
- Latin American NewspapersProvides access to a collection of 19th and 20th century newspapers from Latin America.
- Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980)Provides access to Spanish-English newspapers printed in U.S.
- Hispanic American Periodicals IndexProvides access to an index of articles in journals.
- PRISMAPublicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas: Provides access to journals in the social sciences and humanities.
- PAO- Periodicals Archive OnlineProvides access to hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
