TCL 210: Introduction to Ethnic Studies in the US: Welcome
Course Description
This course covers the history of race and ethnicity and the experiences of diverse racial and ethnic groups in the United States. It will raise questions about racial categories and their intersections with class, gender, and sexuality. There will also be discussion about how marginalized people survive and resist longstanding oppression. Special attention will be given to Arizona history.
Librarian
ASU Archives & Special Collections
Use the Special Materials Index and Arizona Archives Online to find archival material.
Search Tip: When you're looking for material, use different search terms like: Chicano, Hispanic, Mexican American, Latino, Ethnic Studies, African American, Negro, Black, Asian, Japanese, American Indian, Native American, Race, Solidarity, etc.
- National Association for Ethnic Studies RecordsThe organization was founded in 1972 by a small group of Midwestern scholars in order to bring together educators interested in an interdisciplinary approach to the national and international dimensions of ethnicity. They supported student activism on colleges and universities in order to increase the number of minority students and teachers on campuses and to promote the development of curricula responsive to the needs of communities of color.
- Chicanos Por La Causa (CPLC) RecordsThis organization was founded in 1967 by a group of Chicanos and Chicanas who were dedicated to improving the quality of life for Mexican Americans living in Arizona. The Southwest Council of La Raza (later the National Council of La Raza) made an initial investment in the group, which quickly developed bilingual housing referral services for lower income communities in South and Central Phoenix.
- African American EphemeraSmall manuscripts, newspapers clippings, newsletters, biographies, broadsides, reports, photographs, etc.
- Japanese American EphemeraSmall manuscripts, newspapers clippings, newsletters, biographies, broadsides, reports, photographs, etc.
ASU Digital Repository
- Chicano/a Research Collection Films and VideosDigitized material from the Chicano/a Research Collection
- Martin Luther King Jr. at Arizona State UniversityMartin Luther King Jr.'s speech entitled "Religious Witness for Human Dignity" presented at Goodwin Stadium, Arizona State University on June 3, 1964. Introduction by ASU President G. Homer Durham. This recording is followed by a brief recording of King's remarks to NAACP supporters at the Tanner AME Church in Phoenix earlier in the same day.
- Ralph Cameron Oral History Digital CollectionThe interviews focus on the history of Maricopa Tribe. Special discussion about education at both Phoenix Indian School and Sherman Institute in Riverside, California, World War II military exploits, community activities, and children's stories.
- State of Arizona ReportsReports on African American, Native American, Asian American and Latino communities in Arizona.
Databases
- Arizona Memory ProjectProvides access to digitized archival material.
- Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 (Arizona)Provides access to maps of towns and cities in Arizona.
- Television News ArchiveProvides access to news coverage of significant events.
- Twentieth Century Advice LiteratureProvides access to rare material focusing on historical American attitudes towards gender roles and relations, American consumerism, class relations, race, citizenship, education, work, sex, life cycles, family, and religion.
- Black DramaContains 1000 plays by more than 170 playwrights. Also, has playbills, production photographs, and other ephemera related to the plays.
- Who Speaks for the Negro?Features interviews of civil rights leaders conducted for Robert Penn Warren's seminal book "Who Speaks for the Negro."
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000Provides access to a collection of documents, images, and links to other websites.
Newspapers & Journals
- Arizona Digital Newspaper ProgramProvides access to digitized Arizona historical newspapers.
- Historic Mexican & Mexican American PressProvides access to Mexican and Mexican American newspapers published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s. Written in English and Spanish.
- Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980)Provides access to Spanish-English newspapers printed in U.S.
- Alt-PressWatchProvides access to independent newspapers, magazines, and journals.
- Ethnic NewsWatchProvides access to articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
- Project MUSEProvides access to nearly 250 journals.
- JSTORProvides access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.
Films
Use ASU Library Catalog, Films on Demand, or American History in Video to find films or documentaries.
- Santa Rita & The Beginning of La CausaHighlights the history of Chicanos Por La Causa (CPLC).
- A Good Day to DieChronicles the life of Dennis Banks, the Native American who co-founded the American Indian Movement (AIM) in 1968.
- Chinese Americans in ArizonaDocumentary on the history of Chinese Americans in Arizona.
Books
Use the ASU Library Catalog or eBooks on EBSCOhost to find books.
Aztlán Arizona by Call number: LC2687.A6 E45 2014
Echoes of Life in Phoenix by Call number: F820.M5 A27 2007
Mexicans in Phoenix by Call number: F819.P57 B37 2008
To Sin Against Hope by Call number: F815.3.G88 A3 2013
Progress and a Mexican American Community's Struggle for Existence by Call number: HN80.P53 D55 1999
Prisons and Patriots: Japanese American by Call number: eBook
The Snake Dance of Asian American Activism by Call number: eBook
Beyond Red Power by Call number: E98.T77 B49 2007
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
