TCL 360: Inequality and Diversity in Education: Home
Course Description
This course explores various dimensions of diversity in relation to educational systems and outcomes. Through sociological and psychological research, case studies and films, students will examine how educational inequality is created and reproduced through individual actions and institutional constraints. The course will also consider the connection between schooling and human rights and ways in which educational inequality may be addressed.
Librarian
Chicano/a Research Collection
Use the Special Materials Index and Arizona Archives Online to find archival material about education in Arizona.
Search Tip: When you're looking for material, use different search terms like: Chicano, Chicana, Hispanic, Mexican American, Boycotts, Demonstrations, Walkouts, Protest, Activism, Segregation, etc.
- National Association for Ethnic Studies RecordsThe organization was founded in 1972 by a small group of Midwestern scholars in order to bring together educators interested in an interdisciplinary approach to the national and international dimensions of ethnicity. They supported student activism on colleges and universities in order to increase the number of minority students and teachers on campuses and to promote the development of curricula responsive to the needs of communities of color.
- National Coalition for Language Freedom RecordsIn the mid 1980's, a national conservative movement proposed legislation to suppress the use of the Spanish language in the United States by making English the official language. They kept activists informed on developments among the numerous organizations working to oppose this movement on the grounds that it violated the rights of Spanish-speaking people in the U.S.
- Santo and Socorro Bernasconi PapersThis collection documents the path to school desegregation in Tempe, Arizona. It contains correspondence between Tempe Elementary School District No. 3 and OCR, desegregation plans proposed by the Board of Trustees, and audit reports showing how federal funds were used. It also contains implementation and training material, test scores, and program guidelines
Important Events in Arizona History
1955 - Court Case: Ortiz v. Jack, U.S. District Court of Arizona, No. 1723. The Board of Education of Glendale agreed to discontinue the segregation and discrimination of Mexican school children.
1955 - Court Case: Gonzalez v. Sheeley: Opinion by United States District Judge Dave Ling, Phoenix. The Court injunction granted barring segregation of Mexican school children in separate schools. In the course of the decision, the Court declared: "a paramount requisite in the American system of public education is social equality. It must be open to all children by unified school association, regardless of lineage."
1960 - The American Coordinating Council of Political Education (ACCPE) was founded in Phoenix to provide a political support base to elect a Mexican-American Principal in the Phoenix Elementary School District.
1969/1970 - Mexican American students walkout/boycott classes at Phoenix Union High School. Students advocated for better facilities and curriculum.
1970 - The Chicano Studies Collection (later renamed Chicano/a Research Collection) was established in response to the academic needs of ASU Chicano/a students and faculty. At first, the collection consisted of a circulating book collection that reflected the current philosophy of the Chicano Movement. This generation of Chicanos/as wanted recognition of Mexican American history, culture, language, and tradition.
1983 - The Phoenix Elementary School District board voted to select 25 eighth-grade Mexican-American young women and their mothers to participate in a pilot program previewing campus life at Arizona State University in Tempe. The "Hispanic Mother-Daughter Program" was funded through the federal Women's Educational Equity Act and began in January, 1984.
2010 - Arizona passes, HB 2281 (Ban on Ethnic Studies), a law that eliminated a Mexican American Studies program in Tucson Unified School District (TUSD) on the grounds that it "advocated the overthrow of the U.S. Government, promoted resentment toward Americans, and advocated for ethnic solidarity at the expense of student individuality".
Books
Use the ASU Library Catalog or eBooks on EBSCOhost to find books.
Made in America by Call number: LC3771 .O47x 1997
Beyond silenced voices: class, race, and gender in United States by Call number: LC212.2 .B49 2005
Aztlán Arizona by Call number: LC2687.A6 E45 2014
Just schools: pursuing equality in societies of difference by Call number: LC213.2 .J87 2008
Blowout! by Call number: eBook
Educational Films
Use ASU Library Catalog, Films on Demand, or American History in Video to find films or documentaries.
- Films on DemandProvides access to a comprehensive collection of high-quality educational videos available for video streaming.
- NBC LearnProvides access to video resources, historic footage, images, and mini-documentaries.
- American History in VideoProvides access to online videos, commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
