TEL 713: Qualitative Methods in Action Research
Need more help?
Qualitative analysis software
The following software tools are highlighted in this guide and recommended for this course to analyze qualitative data.
- ATLAS ti
- Dedoose
- HyperRESEARCH
- MAXQDA
- NVivo
- Quirkos
- RQDA
For free trials or ASU access to the software, see the boxes below, which also include links to videos and manuals that will help you use the software packages to analyze your data.
For additional information on qualitative research methods see the Sage Research Methods box and the list of helpful books.
ATLAS ti
ATLAS.ti is a qualitative research tool that can be used to code and analyze transcripts and field notes, manage data, create network diagrams, visual data, and build literature reviews. Visit this link to install a free trial.
Free trial
- Free Trial
To work with this software, you can download a free trial from ATLAS ti.
Video
- Video Tutorials provided by ATLAS ti.
User manual
- User Manuals
For both Windows and Mac
Additional guidance
- Qualitative Data Analysis, Atlas ti. guidance from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
This is a guide to additional resources about ATLAS ti.
Dedoose
Dedoose is a cross-platform app to analyze qualitative and mixed methods research including text, photos, audio, videos, and spreadsheet data. Visit this link to install a free, month-long trial.
Free trial
- Free Trial
To work with the software, you can sign up for one month free. No software to download or install.
Video
- Video Tutorials
These videos include how to set up your account, importing your data, constructing your coding system, working with your text, applying codes, exploring and interpreting your data, and, exporting your results.
Learning center
- Dedoose Learning Center
The Learning Center includes a quick start guide, overview and training.
HyperRESEARCH
HyperRESEARCH gives you access and control with keyword coding, mind-mapping tools and theory building, to name a few of its features.
Free access (faculty, staff and students of Mary Lou Fulton College for Teaching and Learning Innovation only)
- Access through My Apps @ ASU
Visit this link to access My Apps @ ASU and search for HyperRESEARCH
Video
-
Additional videos can be found on YouTube by searching for HyperRESEARCH
User manual
-
The User Manual and Tutorials are available in the "Documentation" folder when you download the software.
MAXQDA
MAXQDA supports various methodologies such as grounded theory, literature reviews, market research and qualitative content analysis. The software can help you collect, organize, analyze, visualize and publish your research data.
Free trial
- Free Trial
To work with this software, you can download a free trial from MAXQDA.
Video
- Video Tutorial
MAXQDA offers multiple video tutorials, from how to get starting, to coding and transcribing.
User manual
- User Manual Comprehensive page of user information broken down by topic
NVivo
NVivo is a data analysis software package that can help you organize, code and manage your data. NVivo can help you analyze through visualization, memoing and reporting. While this is complex software tool, it is worth the effort for large research projects.
Free trial
- Free Trial
To work with this software, you can download a free trial from NVivo.
Video
- Video Tutorials
Tutorials include getting started and how-to videos provided by NVivo.
Basics
Quirkos
Quirkos is a visually oriented program for qualitative analysis of text-based data. The features are familiar like those found in Windows, Mac, Android, and Linux. Your work is automatically saved after each action. You can explore "small datasets" in depth.
Free trials and student discounts
-
Free TrialTo work with this software, you can download a 14 day free trial from Quirkos. Special student pricing and information
Video
-
Video TutorialsTutorials include getting started and how-to videos provided by Quirkos.
RDQA
RDQA is used to analysize qualitative data. The software is a R package product, which is free and openly licensed for use on Windows, Linux/Free BSD and Mac OSX platforms. RDQA was developed for ease of use to analyze textual data.
Free software (openly licensed)
-
Free SoftwareInstallation instructions for Windows, Linux, and Mac OSX.
-
Video TutorialsVideo tutorials include installation instructions, getting started, coding, and other how-to videos.
Sage research methods databases
-
SAGE Journals
Includes journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
-
Sage Knowledge
A social sciences digital library that includes scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
-
SAGE Research Methods
Offers tools, reference works, and case studies to support every step of the research process across a range of disciplines and methodologies.
-
SAGE Research Methods Datasets
Find sample datasets paired with instructional guides to help users build skills in analyzing quantitative and qualitative data across various research contexts.
-
SAGE Research Methods Data Visualization
Interactive tutorials, annotated examples, and practice datasets to teach users how to create effective visualizations for social and behavioral science research.
-
Sage Research Methods Video
Streaming videos demonstrating research concepts through tutorials, case studies, and expert interviews across qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods.
Books
-
Doing Good Qualitative Research byISBN: 0197633161Publication date: 2024One of the first comprehensive introductions to using qualitative methods across the social sciences, from start to finish. Each chapter introduces the theoretical considerations and best practices involved in the application of qualitative data collection and analysis. Additionally, contributors provide first-person accounts of methodology in action, address the expected and unexpected challenges associated with conducting qualitative research, and demonstrate the real-world applications of academic debates.
-
Mixed-methods content analysis with ATLAS ti : data analysis
by
ISBN: 1529629225Publication date: 2023This dataset is designed for learning how to undertake a mixed-methods content analysis with ATLAS.ti, incorporating recent developments in computer-assisted qualitative data analysis software (CAQDAS) to undertake rapid, automated topic and sentiment extraction from text transcripts and then combine this with a qualitative approach to analysis. -
Mixed-methods content analysis with ATLAS ti : project setup, data preparation, and auto-coding
by
ISBN: 1529629195Publication date: 2023This dataset is designed for learning how to prepare data, organize a project and start auto-coding content to classify and index larger sets of qualitative data. -
The Oxford handbook of qualitative researchISBN: 9780190847401Publication date: 2020Comprehensive retrospective and prospective review of the field of qualitative research. Filled with robust examples from real-world research; ample discussion of the historical, theoretical, and methodological foundations of the field; and coverage of key issues including data collection, interpretation, representation, assessment, and teaching. This newly revised and expanded edition features up-to-date examples and topics, including seven new chapters on duoethnography, team research, writing ethnographically, creative approaches to writing, writing for performance, writing for the public, and teaching qualitative research.
-
Qualitative Analysis Using MAXQDA byISBN: 1351976427Publication date: 2017-09-11Software is cut-and-dried - every button you press has a predictable effect - but qualitative analysis is open-ended and unfolds in unpredictable ways. This contradiction is best resolved by separating analytic strategies - what you plan to do - from software tactics - how you plan to do it. Expert MAXQDA users have unconsciously learned to do this. The Five-Level QDA® method unpacks the process so that you can learn it consciously and efficiently. The first part of the book explains how the contradiction between analytic strategies and software tactics is reconciled by "translating" between them. The second part provides both an in-depth description of how MAXQDA works and comprehensive instruction in the five steps of "translation". These steps are illustrated with examples from a variety of research projects. The third part contains real-world qualitative research projects from a variety of disciplines, methodologies, and kinds of qualitative analysis, all illustrated in MAXQDA using the Five-Level QDA method. The book is accompanied by three sets of video demonstrations on the Companion Website. The functionality and interface design of MAXQDA for Windows and Mac are identical. The Five-Level QDA method learned from this book is therefore the same whether you are working on a Mac or Windows computer. The Five-Level QDA method is based on the authors' combined 40 years of experience teaching MAXQDA and other software packages used as platforms for conducting qualitative analysis. After many years observing their students' challenges they developed the Five-Level QDA method to describe the process that long-time MAXQDA experts unconsciously adopt. The Five-Level QDA method is independent of software program or methodology, and the principles apply to any type of qualitative project. Please see the following URL to access the accompanying materials for this book: https://www.qdaservices.co.uk/five-level-qda
-
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research byISBN: 9781071836743Publication date: 2023-05-30This new edition of the SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research represents the sixth generation of the ongoing conversation about the discipline, practice, and conduct of qualitative inquiry. As with earlier editions, the Sixth Edition is virtually a new volume, with 27 of the 34 chapters representing new topics or approaches not seen in the previous edition, including intersectionality; critical disability research; postcolonial and decolonized knowledge; diffraction and intra-action; social media methodologies; thematic analysis, collaborative inquiry from the borderlands; qualitative inquiry and public health science; co-production and the politics of impact; publishing qualitative research; and academic survival. Authors in the Sixth Edition engage with questions of ontology and epistemology, the politics of the research act, the changing landscape of higher education, and the role qualitative researchers play in contributing to a more just, egalitarian society. To mark the Handbook's 30-year history, we are pleased to offer a bonus PART VI in the eBook versions of the Sixth Edition: this additional section brings together and reprints ten of the most famous or game-changing contributions from the previous five editions. You can bundle the print + eBook version with bundle ISBN: 978-1-0719-2874-5.
-
Social Research Methods and Applications: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches. byISBN: 1003593224Publication date: 2025Inclusive account of social research methods covering all aspects of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed-method research methodology. The book walks researchers and students through every step of the research process, from developing objectives, selecting research methodologies, sampling, and providing tips on properly collecting, analyzing, interpreting data, and disseminating findings explains how researchers can apply advanced analytical techniques using big data to analyze and interpret the social sector; provides a detailed guide to using software-assisted data analytical techniques for qualitative (ATLAS.ti, NVivo, etc.) and quantitative research (STATA and SPSS); details how social research methods and techniques can be applied; and provides a complete account of monitoring and evaluation and how this can help track the progress and success of a project. The book teaches the application of social research methods and techniques that integrate techniques from management and other social streams, ranging from CBA, LFA, and SWOT analysis to EIA.
-
Using software in qualitative research : a step-by-step guide
by
ISBN: 1473906903Publication date: 2014Software programmes covered in second edition include the latest versions of: ATLAS.ti, DEDOOSE, HyperRESEARCH, MAXQDA, NVivo, QDA Miner, TRANSANA
