Login to LibApps


The Round House by Louise Erdrich (NEA Big Read)

This guide is designed in support of ASU's NEA Big Read Phoenix programming. Inspired by The Round House by Anishinaabe author Louise Erdrich, the NEA Big Read: Phoenix features over 25 talks, workshops, book clubs, performances, art exhibitons and other

Books Focused on Erdrich: Genre & Copyright Year

thumbnail of book cover Autobiographies. Erdrich, Louise. The Blue Jay's Dance: A Birth Year. United States: New York: New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 1995. X, 223 p.
PS3555.R42 Z464 1995 Hayden Library Stacks &
PS3555.R42 Z464 1995 West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Autobiographies. Erdrich, Louise. Books and Islands in Ojbwe Country. United States: New York: New York: National Geographic, 2003. 141 p.
E99.C6 E63 2003 Hayden Library Stacks,
E99.C6 E63 2003 Hayden Library Labriola Center Open Stacks &
E99.C6 E63 2003 West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Ippolito, Mary Elizabeth. At the Feet of the Storyteller: Three Works by Louise Erdrich [M.A. thesis]. United States: Arizona: Tempe: Arizona State University, 1990. Iii, 55 p.
LD179.15 1990 .I676 High Density Storage Collection Stacks &
LD179.15 1990 .I676 High Density Storage Collection Archival Collections


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Carpenter, Lynette and Wendy K. Kolmar, eds. Haunting the House of Fiction: Feminist Perspectives on Ghost Stories by American Women. United States: Tennesse: Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, 1991. X, 266 p.
PS374 .G45 H38 1991 Hayden Library Stacks &
PS374 .G45 H38 1991 West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


thumbnail of book coverCriticism, interpretation, etc. Fleck, Richard F., ed. Critical Perspectives on Native American Fiction. United States: District of Columbia: Washington: Three Continents Press, 1993. 294 p.
PS153.I52 C75 1993 Hayden Library Stacks &
PS153.I52 C75 1993 West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Westling, Louise H.. The Green Breast of the New World: Landscape, Gender, and American Fiction. United States: Georgia: Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1996. Xi, 211 p.
PS374 .L28 W47 1996 Hayden Library Stacks &
PS374 .L28 W47 1996 West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Egerer, Claudia. Fictions of (In)betweenness. Sweden: Göteborg: Acta Universitatis Gothoburgensis, 1997. 199 p.
PN3352.M32 E54x 1997 Hayden Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Hansen, Elaine Tuttle. Mother Without Child: Contemporary Fiction and the Crisis of Motherhood. United States: California: Berkeley: University of California Press, 1997. X, 283 p.
Ebooks on EBSCOhost [1 copy],
PS374 .M547 H36 1997 High Density Storage Collection Stacks &
PS374 .M547 H36 1997 West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Smith, Jeanne Rosier. Writing Tricksters: Mythic Gambols in American Ethnic Literature. United States: California: Berkeley: University of California Press, 1997. Xv, 196 p.
PS374.T7 S45 1997 Hayden Library Stacks &
PS374.T7 S45 1997 West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Bloom, Harold, ed. Native American Women Writers. United States: Pennsylvania: Philadelphia: Chelsea House, 1998. Xvii, 126 p.
PS153.I52 N38 1998 West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Chavkin, Allan, ed. The Chippewa Landscape of Louise Erdrich. United States: Alabama: Tuscaloosa: University of Alabama Press, 1999. Viii, 213 p.
eBooks on EBSCOhost [2 copies],
PS3555.R42 Z63 1999 Hayden Library Stacks &
PS3555.R42 Z63 1999 West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Cooperman, Jeannette Batz. The Broom Closet: Secret Meanings of Domesticity in Postfeminist Novels by Louise Erdrich, Mary Gordon, Toni Morrison, Marge Piercy, Jane Smiley, and Amy Tan. United States: New York: New York: Peter Lang, 1999. 239 p.
PS374.H69 C66 1999 High Density Storage Collection Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Stookey, Lorena L. Louise Erdrich: A Critical Companion. United States: Connecticut: Westport: Greenwood Press, 1999. Xi, 188 p.
PS3555.R42 Z87 1999 Hayden Library Stacks &
PS3555.R42 Z87 1999 West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Armstrong, Jeannette. Demythologizing the Romance of Conquest. United States: Connecticut: Westport: Greenwood Press, 2000. 132 p.
PS374.W6 A76 2000 Hayden Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Scott, Steven D.. The Gamefulness of American Postmodernism: John Barth & Louise Erdrich. United States: New York: New York: P. Lang, 2000. 176 p.
PS3552.A75 Z517 2000 High Density Storage Collection Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Wong, Hertha Dawn. Louise Erdrich's Love Medicine: A Casebook. United States: New York: New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. Ix, 232 p.
PS3555.R42 L635 2000 Hayden Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Jacobs, Connie A . The Novels of Louise Erdrich: Stories of Her People<. United States: New York: New York: Peter Lang , 2001. Xix, 260 p.
PS3555.R42 Z73 2001 Hayden Library Stacks & West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Peterson, Nancy J. Against Amnesia: Contemporary Women Writers and the Crisis of Historical Memory. United States: Pennsylvania: Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2001. Viii, 242 p.
PS153.M56 P48 2001 Hayden Library Stacks &
PS153.M56 P48 2001 West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Quennet, Fabienne C. Where "Indians" Fear to Tread?: A Postmodern Reading of Louise Erdrich's North Dakota Quartet. United States: New Jersey: New Brunswick: Münster, 2001. 241 p.
PS3555.R42 Z83 2001 Hayden Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Dzregah, Augustina Edem. The Missing Factor: Explorations of Masculinities in the Works of Toni Morrison, Louise Erdrich, Maxine Hong Kingston and Joyce Carol Oates. Ph.D. dissertation. United States: Pennsylvania: Indiana: Indiana University of Pennsylvania, 2002. Viii, 254 p.
PS 374 .M37 D9 2002 High Density Storage Collection Stacks
Also available as full-text online via ProQuest's Dissertations & Theses Global [restricted access]


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Le gendre, Emilie. The Last Report on the Miralces at Little No Horse de Loiuse Erdrich: une traduction de cinq nouvelles. United States: Arizona: Tempe: Arizona State University, 2002. V, 119 p.
LC179.15 2002 .L43 High Density Storage Collection Stacks &
LC179.15 2002 .L43 High Density Storage Collection Archival Collections


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Hafen, P. Jane. Reading Louise Erdrich's Love Medicine. United States: Idaho: Boise: Boise State University, 2003. 56 p.
PS3555.R42 L634 2003 West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Rosenthal, Caroline. Narrative Deconstructions of Gender in Works by Audrey Thomas, Daphne Malatt, and Louise Erdrich. United States: New York: Rochester: Camden House, 2003. 193 p.
PR9188 .R675 2003 High Density Storage Collection Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Sawhney, Brajesh, ed. Studies in the Literary Achievement of Louise Erdrich, Native American Writer: Fifteen Critical Essays. United States: New York: Lewiston : Edwin Mellen Press, 2008. Ii, 295 p.
PS3555.R42 Z88 2008 West campus (Fletcher) Library & West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Schoeffel, Melissa A.. Maternal Conditions: Reading Kingsolver, Castillo, Erdrich, and Ozeki. United States: New York: New York: Peter Lang, 2008. 173 p.
PS152 .S35 2008 West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Wilson, Sharon Rose. Myths and Fairy Tales in Contemporary Women's Fiction: From Atwood to Morrison. United States: New York: New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2008. Viii, 207 p.
PR9199.3 .A8 Z955 2008 Hayden Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Stirrup, David. Louise Erdrich. United States: New York: New York: Manchester University Press, 2010. Viii, 237 p.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access] &
PS3555.R42 Z86 2010 Hayden Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Madsen, Deborah L., ed. Louise Erdrich: Tracks; The Last Report on the Miracles at Little No Horse; The Plague of Doves. United States: New York: New York: Continuum, 2011. Viii, 198 p.
PS3555 .R42 Z79 2011 Hayden Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Madsen, Deborah L. Louise Erdrich: Tracks; The Last Report on the Miracles at Little No Horse; The Plague of Doves. United States: New York: New York: Continuum, 2011. Viii, 198 p.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access]


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Hein, Christina. Whiteness, the Gaze, and Transdifference in Contemporary Native American Fiction . Germany: Heidelberg: Universitätsverlag Winter, 2012. 424 p.
PS374.W44 H45 2012 Hayden Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Hafen, P. Jane, ed. Louise Erdrich. United States: Massachusetts: Ipswich: Salem Press, 2013. Xi, 299 p.
PS3555.R42 Z76 2013 Hayden Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Washburn, Frances. Tracks on a Page: Louise Erdrich, Her LIfe and Works. United States: California: Santa Barbara: Praeger, 2013. 145 p.
PS3555.R42 Z94 2013 West campus (Fletcher) LIbrary Labriola National American Indian Data Center


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Kurup, Seema. Understanding Louise Erdrich. United States: South Carolina: Columbia: University of South Carolina Press, 2016. 122 p.
Ebook Central Academic Complete [unlimited access]


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc. Lysik, Marta J. Dialogism or Interconnectedness in the Work of Louise Erdrich. England: Newcastle upon Tyne: Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2017. X, 184 p.
PS3555.R42 Z69 2017 Hayden Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Criticism, interpretation, etc.. Jacobs, Connie A. and Nancy J. Peterson, eds. Louise Erdrich's Justice Trilogy: Cultural and Critical Contexts. United States: Michigan: East Lansing: Michigan State University Press, 2021.
DUE 2021/10/? See Michigan State University Press.


thumbnail of book cover Handbooks and manuals. Beidler, Peter G. and Gay Barton. A Reader's Guide to the Novels of Louise Erdrich. 1st ed. United States: Missouri: Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 1999. Ix, 265 p.
PS3555.R42 Z59 1999 Hayden Library Stacks &
PS3555.R42 Z59 1999 West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Handbooks and manuals. Beidler, Peter G. and Gay Barton. A Reader's Guide to the Novels of Louise Erdrich. 2nd ed. United States: Missouri: Columbia: University of Missouri Press, 2006. Xiii, 435 p.
PS3555.R42 Z59 2006 Hayden Library Stacks &
PS3555.R42 Z59 2006 West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks


thumbnail of book cover Interviews. Coltelli, Laura. Winged Words: American Indian Writers Speak. United States: Nebraska: Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1990. Ix, 211 p.
PS153 .I52 C57 1990 Hayden Library Stacks,
PS153 .I52 C57 1990 West campus (Fletcher) Library Stacks &
PS153 .I52 C57 1990 West campus (Fletcher) Library Labriola National American Indian Data Center


thumbnail of book cover Interviews. Chavkin, Allan and Nancy Feyl Chavkin, eds. Conversations with Louise Erdrich and Michael Dorris. United States: Mississippi: Jackson: University Press of Mississippi, 1994. Xxv, 262 p.
PS3555.R42 Z465 1994 Hayden Library 1st Floor Featured Collections NEA


The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.