Theatre for Youth and Community Collection

This guide is to engage researchers and community members with the history of theatre for young audiences and drama in education.

Search Tools

Collections are described in a variety of databases and discovery tools. Due to the varied and complex nature of the collection, there is no single tool that exhaustively searches every facet of the entire collection. Many researchers therefore find it worthwhile to use a combination of tools to achieve the most thorough search. This page gives an overview of each tool and provides advice on when to use it. ASU Library curators, archivists, and librarians are also available to provide assistance in person or remotely. To request a research consultation or to pose a query, please contact Ask an Archivist

Finding TFYC Materials on Arizona Archives Online

Tips for Searching the Collection

Tips for Searching the Child Drama Collection

This document provides step-by-step instructions for searching for holdings in the collection.

Created in collaboration with Caelin Ross and Charisa Deremiah, Senior Instructional Design at ASU Library.

Specialized Call Numbers

All books, periodicals, and some of the media in the Theatre for Youth and Community Collection are listed in the library online catalogue with specialized call numbers. To search within these unique call numbers, click on the following:

Theatre for Youth and Community Stacks

Lowell and Nancy Swortzell Book Collection

Jonathan Levy Book Collection

Search Tools

Arizona Archives Online
The mission of Arizona Archives Online (AAO) is to provide free public access to descriptions of archival collections, preserved and made accessible by Arizona repositories, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums. Through the collaboration of the Arizona repositories we strive to inform, enrich, and empower the researcher by creating and promoting access to a vast array of primary sources across the state of Arizona.
Accession Records of the Theatre for Youth and Community Collection
Arrangement: Each record contains a brief title, an Accession Number, which is constructed by the year the materials were required, followed by the sequential order in which they were received (example: 1999-01234). In the case of multiple accessions for one collection, a records will contain multiple accession numbers. Following the accession number is a brief description of the record which include the inclusive dates of the materials and the extent of the materials by linear feet.
ASU Library One Search
ASU Library One Search enables you to find books available in the ASU Library, link to journals online, discover scholarly articles for your research and helps you manage your research. Sign in with your ASU account to save results to My favorites, request articles and books via Interlibrary Loan (ILL). and to renew books and other items on loan.
PRISM
The ASU Library's digital collections repository, PRISM, preserves and shares digitized and born digital content from ASU Library's many unique distinctive, archival, and community-oriented collections. Collections in PRISM are open, and intended to be used for teaching, learning, research, and scholarship, and include historic photographs, maps, audio recordings, videos, manuscripts, and texts.
Ask an Archivist
Send a message to Ask an Archivist to ask questions about the collection, make an appointment, or get help with research.