Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


ASU Zine Fest

Digital home of the 2021 ASU Zine Fest, to be held April 2-3, 2021

Megan Atencia

Megan Atencia holds space in South Phoenix, Arizona as a teaching artist and aspiring wizard. She teaches English Literature full time at an alternative high school and cultivates local youth arts spaces. She can be found with a cup of chai or on most social media platforms as @mayagain_

 

Website: mayagainpoetry.com

Instagram: @mayagain_

Ron Broglio

Ron Broglio is a field marshal of the animal revolution. The revolution will not be televised nor tweeted but its modalities are alive for those who have ears to hear, eyes to see. His job is to help us to attune to the nonhuman modes of being and to help us comport to these other worlds. Ron Broglio is Director of Desert Humanities and Associate Director of the Institute of Humanities Research at Arizona State University.

Tatum and Damon Begay

Damon is a Navajo independent comic book artist. He grew up watching Saturday morning kid shows and playing Pokemon. His family moved around a lot in the rez, and ended up in Phoenix. Lives in Phoenix with Wife and cat. Tatum grew up mostly in Page, AZ. She always wanted to create comics. She started publishing comics on Tapastic.com. A year later, she was introduced to the whole world of printing and zines by her husband. Both sell their comics at Ash Ave. Comics and Wasted Ink Distro.

Instagram:  @90sbowie /  @day_day_mon

Website: gumroad.com/92kickstart 

Antonieta Carpenter-Cosand

antonieta carpenter-cosand was born in El Paso, Texas, united states and grew up in Ciudad Juarez, Chihuahua, México: she is one of those: borderless. she paints words and writes images. she loves to live, breathe, see, feel, read, and write about what art does to human consciousness. she advocates for the utopia, following it one step at a time and lives for it, conmoción; con-move.

Instagram:   @carpentercosand

Félix Castro

Félix Castro rapero boricua establecido en phoenix, az. existencialista en resistencia. hombre-niño con medias tintas solicita espacio para acomodar trazos de memoria selectiva.

Website:  linktr.ee/fenixcastro

Angie Dell

Angie Dell is a queer and nonbinary book artist and writer, and the associate director of ASU’s Virginia G. Piper Center for Creative Writing. Angie makes zines, prints, artists' books, and other literary objects through Shut Eye Press and their work has been shown in journals, collections, libraries, and galleries across the United States and abroad. They enjoy learning new techniques but will always love letterpress most of all. 

Shut Eye Press: shuteyepress.com

Raquel Denis

Raquel is a softly powerful singer-songwriter, with one foot firmly in the acoustic indie world, and another firmly in lyric and narrative poetry. check out a recent performance of hers here: https://fb.watch/2jHfQtHCwT/. her work examines Black identity, the injustices seen in the desert southwest, the strength of hope, and the magic of Black and brownness. she's based in the phoenix area.

Website:   raqueldenis1.bandcamp.com

Facebook:  RaquelLitaDenis + Spotify  

Denise Dominguez

Denise Dominguez is a Chicanx artist who likes to dabble in various mediums such as stop motion, food, watercolor, screen printing, and garbage. She also founded Pachanga Press to make riso prints and zines. Denise takes inspiration from nostalgic favorites from her childhood, including monsters and ghoulish creatures, old sci-fi illustrations, and her Mexican roots. She approaches Chicanx imagery with a whimsical approach that must be approved by her 9-year-old son Noah, who provides the most influence to her work by allowing a childlike free way to use materials in fun and unlimited ways.

Instagram:  @pachanga_press

Rosemarie Dombrowski

Rosemarie Dombrowski is the inaugural Poet Laureate of Phoenix, AZ and the founding editor of rinky dink press (a publisher of micro-poetry) and The Revolution (Relaunch), which was named “Best Creative Activism” by Phoenix New Times in 2020. She’s the recipient of an Arts Hero award, a Fellowship from the Academy of American Poets, and was named one of “The Great 48” by Phoenix Magazine in 2020. 

 

 

Website:  rdpoet.com

 

Danielle Du

Danielle Du is an undergraduate medical studies student at Arizona State University hoping to pursue optometry. As a creative, she enjoys writing poetry, as well as calligraphy and minimalistic art. When she's not reading or studying, you might find her timesetting subtitles, applying to fanzines, or growing her ever-larger collection of rocks.

 

Estrella Esquilín

Estrella Esquilín is a multi-disciplinary artist, arts administrator, and teaching artist based in Phoenix, AZ. Formally trained as a printmaker, Esquilín makes work on and with paper. However, her artwork also explores the use of building materials, constructed spaces, movement, abstracted and appropriated blueprints, text, sculptural collage, and place-centering experiences. Her research interests relate to walking and exploring the built environment as it relates to her body, social experiences, and ideas of personal thriving.

Rebecca Fish Ewan

Rebecca Fish Ewan is a poet/cartoonist with a passion for mingling text with visual art, primarily in ink and watercolor, to tell stories of place and memory. Her hybrid-form work has appeared in After the Art, Brevity, Crab Fat, Survivor Zine, Hip Mama, Mutha, TNB, Punctuate & Under the Gum Tree. She is the author of A Land Between, By the Forces of Gravity: A Memoir, the chapbook Water Marks, and her newest book, Doodling for Writers. Rebecca has an MFA in creative writing from ASU, where she has been a landscape design professor for 25+ years. 

Shaunté Glover

phoenix-bred, shaunté glover is a visual artist specializing in photo and film. shaunté has directed and produced creative content as well as consulted for businesses and brands. with a keen eye for capturing life's subtleties, shaunté calls herself a storyteller and continues to document and share the culture drawing inspiration from her downtown phoenix neighborhood.

Instagram:   @shaunte

Ashley Gohr

Michelle Ashley Gohr (they/she) is a First Year Experience Librarian with Arizona State University where she teaches information literacy to first year students and provides research assistance to students and faculty in women and gender studies, social justice/human rights, and other subject areas. Her research primarily focuses on radical librarianship, critical pedagogies, and the library’s role in social justice movements.

Ariel Gore

Ariel Gore is the founding editor and publisher of the award-winning parenting zine Hip Mama, the creator of the Home is Where the Freaks Are cartoon series, and the author of a dozen books of fiction and nonfiction including We Were Witches (The Feminist Press), Hexing the Patriarchy (SealPress), and F*ck Happiness (Microcosm). She self-publishes and works with big presses and small presses alike. She teaches writing online at The Literary Kitchen.

Literary Kitchen Website: Literarykitchen.net

Etsy shop:  shop/ArielGoreStudio

Heather Green

Heather Green is a research-based installation artist and Assistant Professor of book arts at Herberger Institute School of Art at ASU. She teaches classes in zines, artists’ books, letterpress, papermaking and art/science discourse. Her projects and installations examine historical and ecological narratives of the Northern Gulf of California and Sonoran Desert. The collaborative nature of her work has allowed her to ally with a diverse range of individuals including scientists, poets and fishermen.

Website:  heathergreen-art.com

Barbara Guzzetti

Barbara Guzzetti is a professor in the new College of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, Humanities, Arts & Cultural Studies, English Department. She is Affiliated Faculty in the Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College and in Women’s and Gender Studies, as well as Associate Faculty in the ASU Center for Gender Equity in Science and Technology. She has done extensive research and published widely on zinesters and their zines, such as, Zines for Social Justice: Adolescent Girls Writing on Their Own  and, “Stories of a Healing Way”: A Navajo Woman’s Media Production for Cultural Representation and Identification, both published in the Reading Research Quarterly. 

Tiffany Harmanian

Tiffany Harmanian is a Biology major at ASU and the president of the Medical Humanities Society. She’s also involved in REACT, which is a student led clinical team designed to help refugees in the Phoenix community. She’s always had a passion for writing poetry and short stories that lean toward science fiction. She also loves to sit and listen to the birds in the morning.

 

 

 

Vida de Jesus Lopez

ninth life: phoenix-bred, trying to give you a piece of my heart with every word. queer, probably an alien, soft, loverboi. my name is "life of jesus." i have a lot to live up to...

Instagram:  @novenavida

Russ Kazmierczak, Jr.

Russ Kazmierczak, Jr. is the creator of “Amazing Arizona Comics,” a minicomic series that satirizes Arizona news, history, and culture with superhero adventure. He was the Phoenix New Times’s Best Storyteller 2018, and is the biggest fan of The Monkees you’ll ever meet.

Website:  amazingarizonacomics.com

Instagram  @amazingazcomics

Rachel Leket-Mor

Rachel Leket-Mor is the open stack collections curator at ASU Library who established the newly installed zine collection at Hayden Library. Her research interests in book history and non-traditional publishing models resulted in a political zine collection from Israel and the IsraPulp Collection for Hebrew popular literature--both among the library’s distinctive collections.

Emilie Lu

Prior to dabbling in zine-making, Emilie Lu began her writing journey as a creative nonfiction writer. Both of her passions – science and writing – were finally merged in a pivotal class called Poetry and Medicine, which she took as a Barrett, the Honors College student. She continues to be amazed by poetry and all the roads to explore. In her free time, Emilie enjoys reading, watercolor painting, pen sketching, and playing the piano. She has a love for plants and hopes to fill her sketchbook with them.

Charissa Lucille


Charissa Lucille is a multimedia artist and zine maker from Phoenix. After launching a 4th wave feminist zine, Fem Static and opening a zine distro called Wasted Ink in 2015, Charissa founded the Phoenix Zine Fest in 2016. Through Wasted Ink, they represent 250 zine makers and host workshops with organizations like the Obama Foundation in Phoenix and Chicago, and the Congressional Youth Art Competition where they gave a keynote speech on zines at the U.S. Capitol. They recently moved their zine storefront to join Palabras Bilingual Bookstore and two printing presses in opening a literary hub in Downtown Phoenix.  

Wasted Ink Zine Distro website: wizd-az.com

Instagram: @charissalucille

Hours and Locations