Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Banned Books

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost)

Academic Search Ultimate is described by EBSCO (its publisher) as "the world's highest quality multidisciplinary full-text journal database."

Below is an alphabetical listing of hyperlinked subject heading searches of the database for concepts related to academic freedom, banned books, censorship, free speech and propaganda.

  • Simply select one of the below entries to be connected to all matching records within the Academic Search Ultimate database.

Linked Searches of Academic Search Ultimate: Part 1

  • “Academic freedom”
  • “Academic library collection development”
  • “Anticensorship activists”
  • “Art censorship”
  • “Banned books”
  • “Banned books week”
  • “Banned films”
  • “Blacklisting of authors”
  • “Book burning”
  • “Book burning in literature”
  • “Book industry laws”
  • “Book selection”
  • “Book selection in public libraries”
  • “Book selection in school libraries”
  • “Books & reading” AND “Censorship”
  • Censorship
  • “Censorship -- Government policy”
  • “Censorship & ethics”
  • “Censorship & society”
  • “Censorship & the arts”
  • Censorship AND “Academic libraries””
  • Censorship AND Archives
  • Censorship AND “High school libraries”
  • Censorship AND “Public libraries”
  • Censorship AND “School libraries”
  • “Censorship in libraries”
  • “Censorship in literature”
  • “Challenged books”
  • “Classified defense information”
  • “Collection development in libraries”
  • “Collection development in literary libraries” AND “Censorship”
  • “Collection development in public libraries”
  • “Collection development in research libraries”
  • “Collection development in school libraries”
  • “Constitutional history of the freedom of speech”
  • “Content filters (Computer science)”
  • “Content rating of television programs”
  • “Critical race theory”
  • “Critical race theory” AND “Censorship”
  • “Electronic publishing laws”
  • “Expurgated books”
  • “Film content ratings”
  • “Filtering software” AND “Censorship”
  • “Free speech zones”
  • “Freedom of information”
  • “Freedom of information -- Government policy”
  • “Freedom of Information Act (U.S.)”
  • “Freedom of information exemptions”
  • “Freedom of speech”
  • “Freedom of speech -- Social aspects”
  • “Freedom of speech & ethics”
  • “Freedom of speech in art”
  • “Freedom of speech in literature”
  • “Freedom of speech lawsuits”
  • “Freedom of teaching”
  • “Freedom of the press”
  • “Hate speech”
  • “Hate speech laws”
  • “Hate speech lawsuits”
  • “Hicklin Rule”
  • “History of banned books”
  • “History of book burning”
  • “History of censorship”
  • “History of the freedom of information”
  • “History of the freedom of speech”
  • “History of the freedom of the press”
  • Homophobia AND Censorship

    • Linked Searches of Academic Search Ultimate: Part 2

  • “Information filtering”
  • “Information filtering” AND Censorship
  • “Information filtering systems”
  • “Information filtering systems” AND Censorship
  • “Intellectual freedom”
  • “Intellectual freedom” AND Censorship
  • “Intellectual freedom” AND Libraries
  • “Intellectual freedom awards”
  • “Intellectual freedom in literature”
  • “Internet censorship”
  • “Internet content moderation”
  • “Internet content providers”
  • “Internet content regulation”
  • “Internet publishing laws”
  • “Literature & propaganda”
  • “Management of library collection development”
  • “Mass media & propaganda”
  • “Mass media censorship”
  • “Motion picture censorship”
  • “Motion pictures in propaganda”
  • “Music censorship”
  • “Music in propaganda”
  • “Network neutrality”
  • “Network neutrality” AND Censorship
  • “Network neutrality laws”
  • “Network neutrality policy”
  • “Obscene publications”
  • “Obscenity (Law)”
  • “Obscenity (Law)” AND Censorship
  • “Photography censorship”
  • “Policy statements for book selection”
  • “Postal service censorship”
  • “Press & propaganda”
  • “Press law”
  • “Press law” AND Censorship
  • Propaganda
  • “Propaganda analysis”
  • Propaganda AND Censorship
  • “Propaganda in art”
  • “Propaganda laws”
  • “Public employees' speech”
  • “Public libraries & politics”
  • Racism AND Censorship
  • “Radio censorship”
  • “Radio in propaganda”
  • “Self-censorship”
  • “Self-censorship” AND Libraries
  • “Speech codes in universities & colleges”
  • “Strategic lawsuits against public participation”
  • “Student rights”
  • “Student rights” AND Censorship
  • “Student speech”
  • “Student speech” AND Censorship
  • “Study & teaching of the freedom of speech”
  • “Television censorship”
  • “Television in propaganda”
  • “Theater censorship”
  • “Theater in propaganda”
  • “Themes in young adult literature”
  • “Underground comic books, strips, etc.”
  • “Underground literature”
  • “Underground literature” AND “Censorship”
  • “Underground newspapers”
  • “Underground periodicals”
  • “Underground press publications”
  • “Wartime censorship”
  • “Young adult fiction” AND Censorship
  • “Young adult literature” AND Censorship

    • The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.