Banned Books
Exploring Censorship and Banned Books
Exploring Censorship and Banned Books Collection
The Exploring Censorship and Banned Books Collection is a curated collection of books, film and other media curated in partnership with ASU Library and the School of Historical, Philosophical and Religious Studies that address the topics of censorship and freedom of expression, along with those works which are considered “banned” by political groups and organizations.
View the Collection!
-
The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness - 10th Anniversary Edition
by
ISBN: 9781620975459Publication date: 2020-01-07First published in 2010, this book has been cited in judicial decisions, has been adopted in campus-wide and community-wide reads, and has spawned a whole generation of criminal justice reform activists and organizations like the Marshall Project. This tenth-anniversary edition has a new author preface that discusses the impact the book has had and the state of the criminal justice reform movement today. -
Euphemism and Dysphemism: Language Used as Shield and Weapon
by
ISBN: 0195066227Publication date: 1991-06-06Keith Allan and Kate Burridge examine the linguistic, social, and psychological aspects of using euphemisms and dysphemisms. The authors discuss the many shapes they can take, from circumlocution and acronym to hyperbole and understatement, metaphor, and even technical jargon. -
Cabaret
by
ISBN: 0790782227Publication date: 1972Set in 1929–1930 Berlin during the twilight of the Jazz Age and as the Nazis rise to power, "Cabaret" focuses on the hedonistic nightlife at the seedy Kit Kat Klub and revolves around American writer Clifford Bradshaw's relationship with English cabaret performer Sally Bowles. A subplot involves the doomed romance between German boarding house owner Fräulein Schneider and her elderly suitor Herr Schultz, a Jewish fruit vendor. Overseeing the action is the Master of Ceremonies at the Kit Kat Klub. -
How the Garcia Girls Lost Their Accents
by
ISBN: 0945575572Publication date: 1991-01-04Uprooted from their family home in the Dominican Republic, the four García sisters - Carla, Sandra, Yolanda, and Sofía - arrive in New York City in 1960 to find a life far different from the genteel existence of maids, manicures, and extended family they left behind. What they have lost - and what they find - is revealed in fifteen interconnected stories. -
Bless Me, Ultima
by
ISBN: 0892290021Publication date: 1976-01-01When a curandera comes to stay with a young boy, he tests the bonds that tie him to his culture and finds himself in the secrets of the past. -
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
by
ISBN: 9781419701764Publication date: 2012-03-01Seventeen-year-old Greg has managed to become part of every social group at his Pittsburgh high school without having any friends except for Earl. However, his life changes when his mother forces him to befriend Rachel, a girl he once knew in Hebrew school, who has leukemia. -
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
by
ISBN: 9780812980028Publication date: 2009-04-21Maya Angelou describes her coming of age as a precocious but insecure Black girl in the American South during the 1930s and subsequently in California during the 1940s. -
Thirteen Reasons Why
by
ISBN: 9781595141712Publication date: 2007-10-18Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside, he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush, who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah's voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out why. -
The Handmaid's Tale
by
ISBN: 9780385490818Publication date: 1998-03-16The Republic of Gilead: a totalitarian regime that enforces rigid social roles and enslaves the few remaining fertile women. Offred is one of these, a Handmaid bound to produce children for one of Gilead's commanders. Deprived of her husband, her child, her freedom, and even her own name, Offred clings to her memories and her will to survive. -
Library Services and Incarceration: Recognizing Barriers, Strengthening Access
by
ISBN: 9780838949450Publication date: 2021-11-17This text examines the historical and current intersections of librarianship and carceral systems, highlighting issues of information access, control, and resistance. It presents case studies of library programs supporting incarcerated and reentering individuals, along with strategies for collection development, outreach, and community engagement. Concluding with next steps and resources, this text advocates for rethinking the librarian’s role in social justice and criminal justice reform. -
The New Media Monopoly: A Completely Revised and Updated Edition with Seven New Chapters
by
ISBN: 0807061875Publication date: 2004-05-15When the first edition was published in 1983, critics called Ben Bagdikian's warnings about the chilling effects of corporate ownership and mass advertising on the nation's news "alarmist." Since then, the number of corporations controlling most of America's daily newspapers, magazines, radio and television stations, book publishers, and movie companies has dwindled from fifty, then to ten, then to five. The most respected critique of modern mass media ever issued is now published in an updated, revised twentieth anniversary edition. -
The Fire Next Time
by
ISBN: 9780679744726Publication date: 1992-12-01At once a powerful evocation of James Baldwin's early life in Harlem and a disturbing examination of the consequences of racial injustice, the book is an intensely personal and provocative document. It consists of two "letters," written on the occasion of the centennial of the Emancipation Proclamation, that exhort Americans, both black and white, to attack the terrible legacy of racism. -
Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic
by
ISBN: 9780618871711Publication date: 2007-06-05Alison Bechdel's groundbreaking, bestselling graphic memoir that charts her fraught relationship with her late father. Distant and exacting, Bruce Bechdel was an English teacher and director of the town's funeral home, which Alison and her family referred to as the "Fun Home." It was not until college that Alison, who had recently come out as a lesbian, discovered that her father was also gay. A few weeks after this revelation, he was dead, leaving a legacy of mystery for his daughter to resolve. -
Dangerous Ideas: A Brief History of Censorship in the West, From the Ancients to Fake News
by
ISBN: 9780807036242Publication date: 2021-05-04A fascinating examination of how restricting speech has continuously shaped our culture, and how censorship is used to prop up authorities and maintain class and gender disparities. Highlighting the base impulses driving many famous acts of suppression, Berkowitz demonstrates the fragility of power and how every individual can act as both the suppressor and the suppressed. -
Encyclopedia of Literature and Politics [3 Volumes]
by
ISBN: 0313329281Publication date: 2005-09-30From Isabel Allende to Emile Zola and from Shakespeare to Sartre, literary works have often engaged political issues, and many political writings give close attention to literary concerns. The first work of its kind and internationally focused, this 3-volume encyclopedia explores the complex relationship between literature and politics and gives special attention to the conflicts and controversies of the modern world and to works written in English. -
Naked Lunch
by
ISBN: 9780802122070Publication date: 2013-07-16Since its original publication in Paris in 1959, "Naked Lunch" has become one of the most important novels of the twentieth century. This volume, which contains final-draft typescripts, numerous unpublished contemporaneous writings by Burroughs, his own later introductions to the book, and his essay on psychoactive drugs, is a valuable and fresh experience of a novel that has lost none of its relevance or satirical bite. -
Chokehold: Policing Black Men -
by
ISBN: 9781595589057Publication date: 2017-07-11Cops, politicians, and ordinary people are afraid of black men. The result is the "Chokehold:" laws and practices that treat every African American man like a thug. In this explosive new book, an African American former federal prosecutor shows that the system is working exactly the way it's supposed to, and bold suggestions challenge the status quo and reshape debates on justice and race. -
The Tempest
by
ISBN: 9780866986625Publication date: 2021-06-01After being banished by his brother Antonio, Prospero harnesses the magic of an otherworldly island full of monsters and spirits to seek revenge. In reworking this play for a twenty-first-century audience, Kenneth Cavander focuses on the humor and the magic in the tale, much of which has largely escaped modern audiences in recent years. -
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
by
ISBN: 0671027344Publication date: 1999-02-01Observant "wallflower" Charlie as he charts a course through the strange world between adolescence and adulthood. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it, Charlie must learn to navigate those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up. -
Media Control: The Spectacular Achievements of Propaganda -2nd Edition
by
ISBN: 1583225366Publication date: 2002-09-03Chomsky's classic back-pocket primer on US government propaganda and media bias, arguably more important now than ever, is now in this newly expanded edition. This edition furthers Chomsky's analysis with his January 2002 comments regarding media coverage of terrorism and US foreign policy in the post-September 11 world. -
Ghost World
by
ISBN: 1560972998Publication date: 1998-04-01Clowes sets out to examine the lives of two recent high school graduates from the advantaged perch of a constant and undetectable eavesdropper. Drawn in his inimitable style, this is the first full length graphic novel from the renowned artist, famed for his comic series Eightball. -
Stuck Rubber Baby
by
ISBN: 0060977132Publication date: 1996-10-01This graphic novel follows a gay young Southerner who learns about the agonizing struggles of racist bombings, civil rights activities, and encounters with aggressive gays, both black and white. -
The Origins of the Korean War
by
ISBN: 0691101132Publication date: 1981-10-21While the Korean War is considered by most Americans a near-forgotten conflict that lasted from 1950 to 1953, Bruce Cumings expands his scope and shows it as a generations-long struggle that still affects contemporary events. Cumings paints a picture of a civil war that erupted in the aftermath of Japan’s brutal 35-year occupation and escalated. He also delves into the forgotten history of America’s post-World War II occupation of Korea and the untold insurgencies and rebellions that erupted. -
Flamer
by
ISBN: 9781627796415Publication date: 2020-09-01It's the summer between middle school and high school, and Aiden Navarro is away at camp. Everyone's going through changes -- but for Aiden, the stakes feel higher. As he navigates friendships, deals with bullies, and spends time with Elias (a boy he can't stop thinking about), he finds himself on a path of self-discovery and acceptance.
-
James and the Giant Peach
by
ISBN: 0141304677Publication date: 2001-03-19A young boy escapes from two wicked aunts and embarks on a series of adventures with six giant insects he meets inside a giant peach. -
Censors at Work: How States Shaped Literature
by
ISBN: 9780393242294Publication date: 2014-09-22This absorbing history by a brilliant scholar and writer deepens our understanding of how censorship works. By rooting censorship in the particulars of history, Darnton's revealing study enables us to think more clearly about efforts to control expression past and present. -
This Book Is Gay
by
ISBN: 9781492617822Publication date: 2015-06-16This candid, funny, and uncensored exploration of sexuality and what it's like to grow up LGBTQ+ also includes real stories and illustrations from people across the gender and sexual spectrums. This book is for anyone with questions, parents of gay kids and other LGBTQ+ youth, and educators looking for advice about the LGBTQ+ community. -
What's the T? The Guide to All Things Trans and/or Nonbinary
by
ISBN: 9781728254036Publication date: 2022-06-07Discover what it means to be a young transgender and/or non-binary person in the twenty-first century in this candid and funny guide for teens. Includes everything you've wanted to know about labels and identities, and offers uncensored advice on coming out, sex, and relationships. -
The Reinvention of Obscenity: Sex, Lies, and Tabloids in Early Modern France
by
ISBN: 0226141411Publication date: 2002-06-01"The Reinvention of Obscenity" casts a fresh light on the mythical link between sexual impropriety and things French. Exploring the complicity between censorship, print culture, and obscenity, DeJean argues that mass market printing and the first modern censorial machinery came into being at the very moment that obscenity was being reinvented - that is, transformed from a minor literary phenomenon into a threat to society. -
Critical Race Theory: An Introduction
by
ISBN: 0814719317Publication date: 2001-04-01For well over a decade, critical race theory - the school of thought that holds that race lies at the very nexus of American life - has roiled the legal academy. In recent years, however, the fundamental principles of the movement have influenced other academic disciplines, from sociology and politics to ethnic studies and history. From two of the founders of the movement, this is the first primer on one of the most influential intellectual movements in American law and politics. -
Sex, Literature and Censorship
by
ISBN: 0745627633Publication date: 2001-08-22Dollimore argues that literature often violates humane values, exposing desires that society censors. He critiques academic theories on desire, then shows how media, critics, and the state suppress uncomfortable truths in art, especially around sexuality and violence. Through examples from Euripides to Yeats, he reveals how desire challenges ethics and fuels censorship. -
Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass
by
ISBN: 0486284999Publication date: 1995-04-13Frederick Douglass (1818-1895) was a former slave, abolitionist, writer, editor, and orator. As he overcame abuse and hardship through self-education, he became a fierce advocate. His 1845 autobiography vividly recounts his childhood, slavery, and escape, which is passionate, powerful, and essential for understanding African-American history and civil rights. -
If I Ran the Zoo
by
ISBN: 9780385379052Publication date: 2014-01-07If Gerald McGrew ran the zoo, he'd let all the animals go and fill it with more unusual beasts: a ten-footed lion, an Elephant-Cat, a Mulligatawny, a Tufted Mazurka, and others. -
Like Water for Chocolate: A Novel in Monthly Installments, With Recipes, Romances, and Home Remedies
by
ISBN: 0385420161Publication date: 1992-09-06The classic love story takes place on the De la Garza ranch, as the tyrannical owner, Mama Elena, chops onions at the kitchen table in her final days of pregnancy. While still in her mother's womb, her daughter-to-be weeps so violently she causes an early labor, and little Tita slips out amid the spices and fixings for noodle soup. This early encounter with food soon becomes a way of life, and Tita grows up to be a master chef. She shares special points of her favorite preparations with listeners throughout the story. -
The First: How to Think About Hate Speech, Campus Speech, Religious Speech, Fake News, Post-Truth, and Donald Trump
by
ISBN: 9781982115241Publication date: 2019-11-05From the rise of fake news to the role of tech companies in monitoring content (including the President's tweets) and to Colin Kaepernick's kneeling protest, First Amendment controversies continue to dominate the news cycle. Across the United States, college campus administrators are forced to balance free speech against demands for safe spaces and trigger warnings. Ultimately, Fish argues, freedom of speech is a double-edged concept, shining new light on one of the U.S.'s most cherished and debated constitutional rights. -
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
by
ISBN: 0618329706Publication date: 2005-04-04Nine-year-old Oskar Schell has embarked on an urgent, secret mission that will take him through the five boroughs of New York. His goal is to find the lock that matches a mysterious key that belonged to his father, who died in the World Trade Center on the morning of September 11. This seemingly impossible task will bring Oskar into contact with survivors of all sorts of an exhilarating, affecting, often hilarious, and ultimately healing journey. -
Anne Frank's Diary: The Graphic Adaptation
by
ISBN: 9781101871799Publication date: 2018-10-02A timeless story rediscovered by each new generation, "The Diary of a Young Girl" stands without peer, capturing the remarkable spirit of Anne Frank, who for a time survived the worst horror the modern world has seen and who remained triumphantly and heartbreakingly human throughout her ordeal. With extensive quotations directly from the definitive edition, adapted by Ari Folman, illustrated by David Polonsky, and authorized by the Anne Frank Foundation in Basel, this graphic edition remains faithful to the original, while the stunning illustrations interpret and add layers of visual meaning and immediacy to this classic work of Holocaust literature. -
Desert Blood: The Juárez Murders
by
ISBN: 9781558854468Publication date: 2005-03-01Ivon Villa, a lesbian professor living in Los Angeles, returns home to El Paso to adopt a baby girl from Cecilia, a Mexican maquiladora residing across the border in Juárez, and attend a family reunion. But to her horror, Cecilia turns up dead in the desert, a victim of the epidemic of homicides of young women from southern Mexico emigrating to the north for better work. Things take a turn for the worse when Ivon's sixteen-year-old sister Irene gets kidnapped while attending a fair in Juárez. The search for her sister leads Ivon to discover a terrifying conspiracy that involves everyone from the Border Patrol to the corrupt judicales in Juárez. -
Colored People: A Memoir
by
ISBN: 0679421793Publication date: 1994-05-10From an American Book Award-winning author comes a pungent and poignant masterpiece of recollection that ushers readers into a now-vanished "colored" world and extends and deepens our sense of African-American history, even as it entrances us with its bravura storytelling. -
Red Lines: Political Cartoons and the Struggle Against Censorship
by
ISBN: 9780262543019Publication date: 2021-08-31The robustness of political cartooning - one of the most elemental forms of political speech - says something about the health of democracy. "Red Lines" includes interviews with more than sixty cartoonists and insights from art historians, legal scholars, and political scientists, all presented in graphic form. This engaging account makes it clear that cartoon censorship doesn't just matter to cartoonists and their fans. When the red lines are misapplied, all citizens are potential victims. -
Encyclopedia of Censorship: New Edition
by
ISBN: 0816044643Publication date: 2005-04-30Although censorship may seem like a thing of the past, current controversies over books, movies, and websites prove it to be a very timely and critical issue. Covering all forms of expression from the past to the present, from the office of the censor in ancient Rome to the Internet in the computer age, this completely current reference examines every facet of this complex subject. With an easy-to-use A-to-Z format perfect for high school and college students as well as anyone with an interest in censorship and its politics, "Encyclopedia of Censorship, New Edition" brings this important topic up to date through the new millennium. -
The Velvet Prison: Artists Under State Socialism
by
ISBN: 9780465098002Publication date: 1987-10-01Examines the aesthetics of censorship and how writers are cooperating, if they are. -
Banned Books
by
ISBN: 9780744056280Publication date: 2022-08-30Censorship of one form or another has existed almost as long as the written word, while definitions of what is deemed "acceptable" in published works have shifted over the centuries, and from culture to culture. "Banned Books" explores why some of the world's most important literary classics and seminal non-fiction titles were once deemed too controversial for the public to read, whether for challenging racial or sexual norms, satirizing public figures, or simply being deemed unfit for young readers. Packed with eye-opening insights into the history of the written word and the political and social climate during the period of suppression or censorship, this is a must-read for anyone interested in literature, creative writing, politics, history, or the law. -
Their Eyes Were Watching God
by
ISBN: 0060199490Publication date: 2000-10-24One of the most important and enduring books of the twentieth century, "Their Eyes Were Watching God" brings to life a Southern love story with the wit and pathos found only in the writing of Zora Neale Hurston. Out of print for almost thirty years due largely to initial audiences' rejection of its strong black female protagonist, Hurston's classic has, since its 1978 reissue, become perhaps the most widely read and highly acclaimed novel in the canon of African-American literature.
-
Monday's Not Coming
by
ISBN: 9780062422675Publication date: 2018-05-22Claudia and Monday have always been inseparable, more sisters than friends. So when Monday doesn't show up to school for weeks on end, Claudia knows that something is wrong. But Monday's mother refuses to give Claudia a straight answer, and Monday's sister is even less help. As Claudia digs deeper into her friend's disappearance, she discovers that no one seems to remember the last time they saw Monday. How can a teenage girl just vanish without anyone noticing that she's gone? -
All Boys Aren't Blue: A Memoir-Manifesto
by
ISBN: 9780241515037Publication date: 2021In a series of personal essays, prominent journalist and LGBTQIA+ activist George M. Johnson explores his childhood, adolescence, and college years in New Jersey and Virginia. From the memories of getting his teeth kicked out by bullies at age five, to flea marketing with his loving grandmother, to his first sexual relationships, this young-adult memoir weaves together the trials and triumphs faced by Black queer boys. -
Ulysses
by
ISBN: 1512406554Publication date: 2016-01-01This novel offers an extraordinary glimpse into an ordinary day, June 16, 1904, in the life of a middle-aged Jewish man residing in Dublin, Ireland. Leopold Bloom, who is certain that his wife is being unfaithful, must come to terms with how this affects their marriage and whether it alters the nature of their love for one another. Richly detailed stream-of-consciousness narration immerses the reader in the thoughts and emotions of the characters as they deal with the normal events of daily life in Dublin, as well as grander issues of sexuality, prejudice, birth, and death. -
How to Be an Antiracist
by
ISBN: 9780525509295Publication date: 2019Ibram X. Kendi's concept of antiracism reenergizes and reshapes the conversation about racial justice in America -- but even more fundamentally, points us toward liberating new ways of thinking about ourselves and each other. Kendi asks us to think about what an antiracist society might look like, and how we can play an active role in building it, while weaving an electrifying combination of ethics, history, law, and science, bringing it all together with an engaging personal narrative of his own awakening to antiracism. -
Hate Crime
by
ISBN: 0375421327Publication date: 2002-05-28In this superbly written examination of the brutal, modern-day lynching of James Byrd, Jr. and its aftermath, award-winning journalist Joyce King brings us on a journey that begins at the crime scene and extends into the minds of the young men who so casually ended a man’s life. The result is a deeply engrossing psychological portrait of the accused and a powerful indictment of the American prison system’s ability to reform criminals. King writes with candor and clarity about how the events of that fateful night have affected her as a black woman, a native Texan, and a journalist given the agonizing assignment of covering the trials of all three defendants. -
Book Banning in 21st-Century America
by
ISBN: 9781538171127Publication date: 2022-04-21Previous research on censorship tends to focus on how censorship occurs, with an emphasis on legal frameworks centered on Supreme Court cases, historical case studies, and bibliographies of texts targeted for removal or relocation. On the other hand, this text focuses on the why of censorship, positing that many censorship behaviors and practices, such as challenging books, are intimately tied to how one understands the practice of reading and its effects on character development and behavior. In order to understand why people challenge books, it presents a model of how the practice of reading is understood by challengers, including "what it means" to read a text, and especially how one constructs the idea of "appropriate" reading materials. -
Foundations of Intellectual Freedom
by
ISBN: 9780838937839Publication date: 2022-10-28Designed to serve as both an introductory text for library and information science students and a complementary resource for current professionals, this book offers a cohesive and holistic perspective on intellectual freedom. Extending beyond censorship to encompass such timely and urgent topics as hate speech and social justice, readers will gain an understanding of the historical and legal roots of intellectual freedom, with an in-depth examination of subjects like John Stuart Mill's "On Liberty" and Article 19 of the U.N Declaration of Human Rights; the intersection of intellectual freedom, freedom of expression, and social justice; professional values, codes of ethics, ALA's Library Bill of Rights, and Freedom to Read/View Statements; pro- and anti- censorship arguments and their use in impeding and facilitating access to information; book banning and internet filtering; and emerging global issues and their impact on future intellectual freedom. -
Gender Queer: a Memoir
by
ISBN: 9781549304002Publication date: 2019-05-28In 2014, Maia Kobabe, who uses e/em/eir pronouns, thought that a comic of reading statistics would be the last autobiographical comic e would ever write. At the time, it was the only thing e felt comfortable with strangers knowing about em. Now, Gender Queer is here. Maia's intensely cathartic autobiography charts eir journey of self-identity, which includes the mortification and confusion of adolescent crushes, grappling with how to come out to family and society, bonding with friends over erotic gay fanfiction, and facing the trauma and fundamental violation of pap smears. Started as a way to explain to eir family what it means to be nonbinary and asexual, Gender Queer is more than a personal story: it is a useful and touching guide on gender identity--what it means and how to think about it--for advocates, friends, and humans everywhere. -
Sex, Literature, and Censorship: Essays
by
Publication date: 1953This collection of essays examines sexuality and its suppression in literature and society.
-
The Left Hand of Darkness
by
ISBN: 9780143111597Publication date: 2016-10-25A groundbreaking work of science fiction, The Left Hand of Darkness tells the story of a lone human emissary's mission to Winter, an unknown alien world whose inhabitants can choose--and change--their gender. His goal is to facilitate Winter's inclusion in a growing intergalactic civilization. But to do so, he must bridge the gulf between his own views and those of the completely dissimilar culture that he encounters. Exploring questions of psychology, society, and human emotion in an alien world, The Left Hand of Darkness stands as a landmark achievement in the annals of science fiction. -
To Kill a Mockingbird
by
ISBN: 0060194995Publication date: 1999-11-03A lawyer's advice to his children as he defends the real mockingbird of Harper Lee's classic novel - a black man charged with the rape of a white girl. Through the young eyes of Scout and Jem Finch, Harper Lee explores with rich humor and unswerving honesty the irrationality of adult attitudes toward race and class in the Deep South of the 1930s. The conscience of a town steeped in prejudice, violence, and hypocrisy is pricked by the stamina and quiet heroism of one man's struggle for justice, but the weight of history will only tolerate so much. -
As I Lay Dying
by
ISBN: 9780824042332Publication date: 1990-03-01As I Lay Dying tells the story of the death of Addie Bundren and her poor, rural family's quest to honor her wish to be buried in her hometown of Jefferson, Mississippi, as well as the motives, noble or selfish, they show on the journey. Annotations are provided by Dianne C. Luce to aid in understanding of the novel. -
Unlearning Liberty: Campus Censorship and the End of American Debate
by
ISBN: 9781594037306Publication date: 2014-03-11For over a generation, shocking cases of censorship at America's colleges and universities have taught students the wrong lessons about living in a free society. Drawing on a decade of experience battling for freedom of speech on campus, First Amendment lawyer Greg Lukianoff reveals how higher education fails to teach students to become critical thinkers: by stifling open debate, our campuses are supercharging ideological divisions, promoting groupthink, and encouraging an unscholarly certainty about complex issues. Unlearning Liberty: Campus Censorship and the End of American Debate illuminates how intolerance for dissent and debate on today's campus threatens the freedom of every citizen and makes us all just a little bit dumber. -
Fry Bread: A Native American Family Story
by
ISBN: 9781626727465Publication date: 2019-10-22Told in lively and powerful verse by debut author Kevin Noble Maillard, Fry Bread is an evocative depiction of a modern Native American family, vibrantly illustrated by Pura Belpre Award winner and Caldecott Honoree Juana Martinez-Neal. -
You Can't Say That! Writers for Young People Talk About Censorship, Free Expression, and the Stories They Have to Tell
by
ISBN: 9781536232974Publication date: 2023-08-22What happens when freedom of expression comes under threat? In frank and wide-ranging interviews, historian and critic Leonard S. Marcus probes the experience of thirteen leading authors of books for young people. Tune in as they speak out about what it's like to have your work banned or challenged in America today, as well as how the challenges have or haven't affected their writing, and why some people feel they have the right to deny access to books. In addition, Leonard S. Marcus puts First Amendment challenges in a historical context and takes a promising look at the vibrant support network that has risen up to protect and defend young people's rights. -
Into The Woods
by
A modern twist on several of the beloved Brothers Grimm fairy tales, intertwining the plots of a few choice stories and exploring the consequences of the characters' wishes and quests. This humorous and heartfelt musical follows the classic tales of Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Jack and the Beanstalk, and Rapunzel, all tied together by an original story involving a baker and his wife, their wish to begin a family, and their interaction with the witch who has put a curse on them.
-
Outlaw Representation: Censorship & Homosexuality in Twentieth-Century American Art
by
ISBN: 0195107608Publication date: 2002-01-17From the U.S. Navy's 1934 confiscation of a painting of sailors on shore leave to contemporary culture wars over funding for the arts, conflicts surrounding homosexuality and creative freedom have shaped the history of modern art in America. Richard Meyer's Outlaw Representation tells the charged story of this strife through pioneering analysis of the works of gay artists and the circumstances under which these works have been attacked, suppressed, or censored outright. Focusing on the careers of Paul Cadmus, Andy Warhol, Robert Mapplethorpe, David Wojnarowicz, Gran Fury, and Holly Hughes, Outlaw Representation explores how gay artists responded to the threat of censorship by producing their own "outlaw representations" of homosexuality. -
Areopagitica
by
Publication date: 1927This is a facsimile of the British Museum copy. Areopagitica is a speech of Mr. John Milton for the liberty of unlicensed printing, to the Parliament of England. London, printed in the year 1644.
-
Beloved
by
ISBN: 0394535979Publication date: 1987-08-12Set in post-Civil War Ohio, an escaped slave named Sethe lives in a small house on the outskirts of town with her daughter, Denver, her mother-in-law, Baby Suggs, and a disturbing, mesmerizing intruder who calls herself Beloved. Sethe works at "beating back the past," but it is alive in all of them. It keeps Denver fearful of straying from the house. It fuels the sadness that has settled into Baby Suggs. And to Sethe, the past makes itself heard and felt incessantly: in memories that both haunt and soothe her in the arrival of Paul D. Sethe struggles to keep Beloved from gaining full possession of her present, and to throw off the long, dark legacy of her past. -
William Shakespeare's Twelfth Night; William Shakespeare's Macbeth
by
ISBN: 9780780029682Publication date: 2004This adaptation of Shakespeare's Twelfth Night is set in contemporary London. Additionally, the adaptation of Shakespeare's Macbeth is set in a timeless zone somewhere in the twentieth century against a raw, urban industrial environment. -
The Filter Bubble: How The New Personalized Web is Changing What We Read and How We Think
by
ISBN: 9780143121237Publication date: 2012-04-24With little notice or fanfare, our online experience is changing, as the websites we visit are increasingly tailoring themselves to us. In this engaging and visionary book, MoveOn.org board president Eli Pariser lays bare the personalization that is already taking place on every major website, from Facebook to AOL to ABC News. As Pariser reveals, this new trend is nothing short of an invisible revolution in how we consume information, one that will shape how we learn, what we know, and even how our democracy works. -
Beyond Banned Books
by
ISBN: 9780838919019Publication date: 2019-05-01Equitable access to information for all, including underserved populations, is a core value of librarianship. The growing awareness of where this inequality persists has led many professionals to take steps to advance social justice within their institutions, from creating book displays about the Black Lives Matter movement or LGBT History Month to hosting programs by potentially controversial speakers. But while libraries are often well-versed in protecting the right to read books, many lack policies and experience in addressing censorship of resources and services. This resource from Pekoll, Assistant Director of the American Library Association's Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF), uses specific case studies to offer practical guidance on safeguarding intellectual freedom related to library displays, programming, and other librarian-created content.
-
And Tango Makes Three
by
ISBN: 0689878451Publication date: 2005-06-01And Tango Makes Three is the bestselling, heartwarming true story of two penguins who create a nontraditional family. At the penguin house at the Central Park Zoo, two penguins named Roy and Silo were a little bit different from the others. But their desire for a family was the same. With the help of a kindly zookeeper, Roy and Silo get the chance to welcome a baby penguin of their very own. -
Christianity, Book-Burning and Censorship in Late Antiquity
by
ISBN: 9783110484458Publication date: 2016-07-25It is estimated that only a small fraction, less than 1 percent, of ancient literature has survived to the present day. In an approach that presents evidence for the role played by Christian institutions, writers and saints, this book analyses a broad range of literary and legal sources. Paying special attention to the problem of which genres and book types were likely to be targeted, the author argues that heretical, magical, astrological, and anti-Christian books, alongside other less obviously subversive categories of literature, were also vulnerable to destruction, censorship, or suppression through the prohibition of the copying of manuscripts. -
The Satanic Verses
by
ISBN: 9780670825370Publication date: 1989-02-22One of the most controversial and acclaimed novels ever written, and set in a modern world filled with both mayhem and miracles, the story begins with the terrorist bombing of a London-bound jet in mid-flight. Two Indian actors of opposing sensibilities fall to earth, transformed into living symbols of what is angelic and evil. This is just the initial act in a magnificent odyssey that seamlessly merges the actual with the imagined. -
The Complete Persepolis
by
ISBN: 9780375714832Publication date: 2007-10-30Here, in one volume: Marjane Satrapi's best-selling, internationally acclaimed graphic memoir of growing up as a girl in Iran during the revolution has for twenty years been a classroom staple, a feminist manifesto, and one of the most popular and widely known graphic novels of all time. Persepolis is the story of Satrapi's unforgettable childhood and coming of age within a large and loving family in Tehran during the Islamic Revolution; of the contradictions between private life and public life in a country plagued by political upheaval; of her high school years in Vienna facing the trials of adolescence far from her family; of her homecoming--both sweet and terrible; and, finally, of her self-imposed exile from her beloved homeland. It is the chronicle of a girlhood and adolescence at once outrageous and familiar, a young life entwined with the history of her country yet filled with the universal trials and joys of growing up. -
Books Under Fire
by
ISBN: 9780838949825Publication date: 2021-04-22In our polarized environment, the censorship and outright banning of children's books which some deem to be controversial or objectionable remains a major concern for libraries. Intellectual freedom champion Scales returns to the fray with a new edition of her matchless guide, updating the focus to titles published since 2015 which have been the target of challenges. School and public librarians, LIS students, and classroom educators will find the assistance and support they need to defend these challenged books with an informed response while ensuring access to young book lovers. For each of the dozens of titles covered, readers will find a book summary; a report of the specific challenges; quotes from reviews, plus a list of awards and accolades; talking points for discussing the book's issues and themes; links to the book's website, additional resources about the book, and suggested further reading; and read-alikes that have been challenged for similar reasons. -
Lucky
by
ISBN: 0684857820Publication date: 1999-08-04In a memoir hailed for its searing candor, as well as its wit, Alice Sebold reveals how her life was transformed when, as an eighteen-year-old college freshman, she was brutally raped and beaten in a park near campus. What ultimately propels this chronicle of sexual assault and its aftermath is Sebold's indomitable spirit, as she fights to secure her rapist's arrest and conviction and comes to terms with a relationship to the world that has forever changed. -
Censoring Sex
by
ISBN: 9780742551312Publication date: 2007-07-20John Semonche surveys censorship for reasons of sex from the nineteenth century to the present day. He covers the various forms of American media-books and periodicals, pictorial art, motion pictures, music and dance, and radio, television, and the Internet. Semonche also traces the story of how the cultural territory contested by those advocating and opposing censorship has diminished. Yet, he argues, the censorship of sexual materials that continues in the United States poses a challenge to the free speech that is part of the foundation upon which the nation is built. -
Spring Awakening: The Musical
by
ISBN: 9781282468788Publication date: 2007-01-01Based on the 1891 German play "Spring Awakening" by Frank Wedekind, this coming-of-age rock musical tells the story of teenagers discovering the inner and outer tumult of adolescent sexuality. -
More Happy Than Not
by
ISBN: 9781616955601Publication date: 2015-06-02Grieving from his father's suicide but trying to find happiness again, sixteen-year-old Aaron Soto seeks support from his girlfriend, his mom, and the new guy in town. But as his feelings for Thomas grow stronger, he considers a memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, but risks forgetting who he truly is. -
Sex Is a Funny Word
by
ISBN: 9781609806064Publication date: 2015-07-28A comic book for kids that includes children and families of all makeups, orientations, and gender identities; an essential resource about bodies, gender, and sexuality for children ages 8 to 10, as well as their parents and caregivers. -
The Complete Maus
by
ISBN: 0679406417Publication date: 1996-11-19A brutally moving work of art, widely hailed as the greatest graphic novel ever written, "Maus" recounts the chilling experiences of the author's father during the Holocaust, with Jews drawn as wide-eyed mice and Nazis as menacing cats. Maus is a haunting tale within a tale, weaving the author's account of his tortured relationship with his aging father into an astonishing retelling of one of history's most unspeakable tragedies. It is an unforgettable story of survival and a disarming look at the legacy of trauma. -
Of Mice and Men
by
ISBN: 9780394604725Publication date: 1979-06-12This is the tragic story of the complex bond between two migrant laborers in Central California. George Milton and Lennie Small are itinerant ranch hands who dream of owning a small farm one day. George acts as a father figure to Lennie, a large, simple-minded man, calming him and helping to rein in his immense physical strength.
-
Dear Martin
by
ISBN: 9781101939499Publication date: 2017-10-17After a traffic stop turns violent at the hands of the police, a young Black teen grapples with racism and what it means for his future. Critically acclaimed author Nic Stone boldly tackles America's troubled history with race relations in her gripping debut novel. -
Uncle Tom's Cabin
by
ISBN: 0679602003Publication date: 1996-05-07A devoutly Christian slave becomes separated from his wife and family when he is sold to the brutal planter, Simon Legree. -
This One Summer
by
ISBN: 9781596437746Publication date: 2014-05-06Rose is always excited for summer. It means the lake house with her parents, but most importantly, it means she gets to spend the summer with her best friend Windy. This year, though, it's different. Rose's parents won't stop fighting and when she and Windy look for distractions, they find a whole new world. It's full of local teens-just a few years older than they are - and one of them is caught up in something very bad and very secret. Rose and Windy have to navigate the confusion, heartbreak, and hope that comes with being right on the edge of growing up. -
The Hate U Give
by
ISBN: 9780062498557Publication date: 2017-02-28Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds shatters when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed. Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil's name. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr. But what Starr does, or does not, say could upend her community and put her life in danger. -
Civil Disobedience
by
ISBN: 1892295938Publication date: 2000-11-01One of the most important documents of American political thought, Civil Disobediance eloquently states a position that has influenced the thinking of Gandhi, Martin Luther King, and many figures of the 1960s protests against the Vietnam War. Thoreau argues that the progress from an absolute to a limited monarchy, from a limited monarchy to a democracy, is a progress toward a true respect for the individual.' 'There will never be a really free and enlightened State until the State comes to recognise the individual as a higher and independent power...and treats him accordingly.'' -
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
by
ISBN: 0679448896Publication date: 1996-04-14This edition reprints the 1885 text of the first American edition (with a portfolio of illustrations) along with critical essays representing major critical and cultural controversies surrounding the work. The novel and essays are supported by distinctive editorial materials, including introductions to critical conflict in literary studies, to Twain's life and work, and to each critical controversy highlighted in this edition, which helps students grapple not only with the novel's critical issues but also with cultural debates about literature itself. -
Candide
by
ISBN: 0679642587Publication date: 2002-03-05Candide is a satire of the theory that our world is "the best of all possible worlds." The book traces the picaresque adventures of the guileless Candide, who is forced into the army, flogged, shipwrecked, betrayed, robbed, separated from his beloved Cunegonde, tortured by the Inquisition, etc., all without losing his resilience and will to live and pursue a happy life. -
Slaughterhouse-Five
by
ISBN: 9780385333849Publication date: 1999-01-12Centering on the infamous World War II firebombing of Dresden, this novel is the result of what Kurt Vonnegut described as a twenty-three-year struggle to write about what he had witnessed as an American prisoner of war. It combines historical fiction, science fiction, autobiography, and satire as Vonnegut describes the life of Billy Pilgrim, a barber's son turned draftee turned optometrist turned alien abductee. As Vonnegut had, Billy experiences the destruction of Dresden as a POW. Unlike Vonnegut, he experiences time travel, or being "unstuck in time." -
Race Matters
by
ISBN: 0807009725Publication date: 2001-05-25Race Matters contains West's most powerful essays on the issues relevant to black Americans today: despair, black conservatism, black-Jewish relations, myths about black sexuality, the crisis in leadership in the black community, and the legacy of Malcolm X. And the insights that he brings to these complicated problems remain fresh, exciting, creative, and compassionate. Now more than ever, Race Matters is a book for all Americans, as it helps us to build a genuine multiracial democracy in the new millennium. -
Leaves of Grass
by
ISBN: 9780140421996Publication date: 1961-07-10When Walt Whitman self-published his Leaves of Grass in July 1855, he altered the course of literary history. One of the greatest masterpieces of American literature, it redefined the rules of poetry while describing the soul of the American character. -
Silicon Values: The Future of Free Speech Under Surveillance Capitalism
by
ISBN: 9781788738804Publication date: 2021-03-23Who decides what is permissible on the internet: Politicians? Mark Zuckerberg? Users? Who determines when political debate becomes hate speech? How does this impact our identity or our ability to create communities and to protest? Silicon Values reports on the war for digital rights and how major corporations -Facebook, Twitter, Google, and TikTok - threaten democracy as they harvest our personal data in the pursuit of profit. -
A People's History of the United States
by
ISBN: 1565843797Publication date: 1997-11-01The New Press's Abridged Teaching Edition of A People's History of the United States has made Howard Zinn's original text available specifically for classroom use. With exercises and teaching materials to accompany each chapter, this edition spans American Beginnings, Reconstruction, the Civil War, and the present, with new chapters on the Clinton Presidency, the 2000 elections, and the War on Terrorism.
Find Books at ASU Library
If you're using Library One Search's Simple Search:
- Under "Searching For," change the option to "ASU Library Catalog" from "All Resources"
- Type in any keywords, title, or author you are looking for. (Tip: Use quotation marks to ensure the exact phrase and order are searched.)
- Change the option on the dropdown menu to best match what you are looking for (for example, if searching for books by Margaret Atwood, you'll want to change the dropdown from "keyword" to "author.")
- Hit "Search" or the Enter button on your keyboard.
- On the right of the results screen, under "Filter My Results," limit results to "Books."
If you're using Library One Search's Advanced Search:
- Under "Searching For," change the option to "ASU Library Catalog" from "All Resources."
- On the dropdown menu "Any field," change it to reflect the title, author/creator, ISBN number, subject, or genre you want to search.
- Type in your respective search keywords or number.
- On the dropdown menu "Material Type," change it from "All items" to "Books" to include physical books and e-books.
After you find the book you want:
- If it is an electronic book, click "Full text available" to access the database where it is located.
- If it's a physical book and you want to search within the library, write down the call number (a string of one or two letters followed by numbers) and select "Locate" to see the respective library floor map.
- If you want to pick it up from the library of your choice, click the button "Request ASU Copy," select the pickup location of your choice, then hit "Send Request."
- If ASU Library doesn't own the book or if the book is checked out, you can select "Request ASU Copy" to place a hold on the book or select "Request External Copy" to try and obtain it via Interlibrary Loan. (Note: The request should be partially filled out, but still include as much information as possible.)
For more resources, you can watch this video on Library One Search, or you can access the Library One Search tip sheet.
Other Literature Outside ASU Library
The ABA Right to Read Handbook: Fighting Book Bans and Why It Matters
This handbook is a comprehensive guide and a great introduction to book censorship and fighting against it through local organizing and engaged citizenship. Not only does it identify causes, actors, motivations, and strategies of groups attempting to ban books across the country, but it also provides guides to contacting representatives and joining school boards to promote the freedom to read.