Banned Books
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost)
Academic Search Ultimate is described by EBSCO (its publisher) as "the world's highest quality multidisciplinary full-text journal database."
Below is an alphabetical listing of hyperlinked subject heading searches of the database for concepts related to academic freedom, banned books, censorship, free speech and propaganda.
- Simply select one of the below entries to be connected to all matching records within the Academic Search Ultimate database.
Linked Searches of Academic Search Ultimate
- Academic freedom
- Academic freedom AND Censorship
- Academic freedom AND Libraries
- Academic library collection development
- Access to archives
- Access to archives AND Libraries
- Access to information
- Access to information AND Academic libraries
- Access to information AND Censorship
- Access to information AND Libraries
- Access to information AND Public libraries
- Access to information AND School libraries
- African American gay people in literature
- African American LGBTQ+ people in literature
- American erotic literature
- American young adult fiction
- American young adult literature
- Anticensorship activists
- Anticensorship activists AND Libraries
- Art censorship
- Banned books
- Banned books AND Academic Libraries
- Banned books AND Librarians
- Banned books AND Prison Libraries
- Banned books AND Public Libraries
- Banned books AND School Libraries
- Banned books week
- Banned films
- Bisexual people in literature
- Blacklisting of authors
- Book burning
- Book burning in literature
- Book industry laws
- Book selection
- Book selection AND Libraries
- Book selection in public libraries
- Book selection in school libraries
- Books & reading AND Censorship
- Censorship
- Censorship -- Government policy
- Censorship & ethics
- Censorship & society
- Censorship & the arts
- Censorship AND Academic Libraries
- Censorship AND Archives
- Censorship AND Children's Libraries
- Censorship AND High school libraries
- Censorship AND Public libraries
- Censorship AND Research libraries
- Censorship AND School Libraries
- Censorship in libraries
- Censorship in literature
- Challenged books
- Classified defense information
- Collection development in libraries
- Collection development in literary libraries AND Banned books
- Collection development in literary libraries AND Censorship
- Collection development in literary libraries AND Challenged books
- Collection development in public libraries
- Collection development in research libraries
- Collection development in school libraries
- Coming out (Sexual orientation in literature)
- Constitutional history of the freedom of speech
- Content filters (Computer science)
- Content rating of television programs
- Critical race theory
- Critical race theory AND Censorship
- Disinformation
- Disinformation AND Censorship
- Electronic publishing laws
- Erotic art AND Libraries
- Erotic comic books, strips, etc.
- Erotic literature
- Erotic Literature AND Libraries
- Erotic literature writers
- Erotic photography
- Erotic Poetry
- Erotica
- Erotic AND Censorship
- Erotic AND Libraries
- Eroticism in literature
- Expurgated books
- Fake news
- Fake news AND Libraries
- Film content ratings
- Film content ratings AND Libraries
- Filtering software AND Censorship
- Free speech zones
- Freedom of information
- Freedom of information -- Government policy
- Freedom of Information Act (U.S.)
- Freedom of Information Act (U.S.) AND Libraries
- Freedom of information AND Libraries
- Freedom of information exemptions
- Freedom of speech
- Freedom of speech -- Social aspects
- Freedom of speech & ethics
- Freedom of speech AND Libraries
- Freedom of speech in art
- Freedom of speech in literature
- Freedom of speech lawsuits
- Freedom of teaching
- Freedom of teaching AND Libraries
- Freedom of the press
- Freedom of the press AND Libraries
- Gay people in literature
- Hate speech
- Hate speech AND Libraries
- Hate speech laws
- Hate speech lawsuits
- Hicklin Rule
- History of banned books
- History of book burning
- History of censorship
- History of censorship AND Libraries
- History of the freedom of information
- History of the freedom of speech
- History of the freedom of the press
- Homophobia AND Censorship
- Information filtering AND Censorship
- Information filtering systems AND Censorship
- Intellectual freedom
- Intellectual freedom AND Censorship
- Intellectual freedom AND Libraries
- Intellectual freedom awards
- Intellectual freedom in literature
- Internet censorship
- Internet censorship AND Libraries
- Internet content moderation
- Internet content providers
- Internet content providers AND Libraries
- Internet content regulation
- Internet content regulation AND Libraries
- Internet publishing laws
- Intersex people in literature
- LGBTQ+ literature
- LGBTQ+ literature AND Censorship
- LGBTQ+ people in literature
- Library Bill of Rights (American Library Association)
- Literature & propaganda
- Management of library collection development
- Mass media & propaganda
- Mass media censorship
- Misinformation AND Libraries
- Motion picture censorship
- Motion picture censorship AND Libraries
- Motion pictures in propaganda
- Music censorship
- Music in propaganda
- Network neutrality
- Network neutrality AND Censorship
- Network neutrality AND Libraries
- Network neutrality laws
- Network neutrality policy
- Obscene publications
- Obscenity (Law)
- Obscenity (Law) AND Censorship
- Obscenity (Law) AND Libraries
- Photography censorship
- Policy statements for book selection
- Postal service censorship
- Press & propaganda
- Press law
- Press law AND Censorship
- Press law AND Libraries
- Propaganda
- Propaganda analysis
- Propaganda AND Censorship
- Propaganda in art
- Propaganda laws
- Public employees' speech
- Public libraries & politics
- Racism AND Academic libraries
- Racism AND Censorship
- Racism AND Libraries
- Racism AND Public libraries
- Racism AND School libraries
- Radio censorship
- Radio in propaganda
- Right of privacy
- Self-censorship
- Self-censorship AND Libraries
- Self-censorship AND School libraries
- Speech codes in universities & colleges
- Strategic lawsuits against public participation
- Student rights
- Student rights AND Censorship
- Student rights AND Libraries
- Student speech
- Student speech AND Censorship
- Study & teaching of the freedom of speech
- Television censorship
- Television in propaganda
- Textbook censorship
- Theater censorship
- Theater in propaganda
- Themes in young adult literature
- Transgender people in literature
- Underground comic books, strips, etc.
- Underground literature
- Underground literature AND Censorship
- Underground literature AND Libraries
- Underground newspapers
- Underground periodicals
- Underground press publications
- Wartime censorship
- Young adult fiction AND Censorship
- Young adult fiction AND Libraries
- Young adult literature AND Academic libraries
- Young adult literature AND Censorship
- Young adult literature AND Libraries
- Young adult literature AND Public libraries
- Young adult literature AND School libraries
- Young adult literature awards
ASU Library Catalog: Hyperlinked Searches
Below is an alphabetical listing of hyperlinked subject heading searches of the ASU Library Catalog for concepts related to academic freedom, banned books, censorship, free speech and propaganda. There are 2 tabs: one with A-L entries, another with M-Z entries.
- Simply select one of the entries to be connected to all matching records (books, dissertations, government documents, journals, video) - in both print and electronic format - within the ASU Library Catalog.
- Full text means the entire text of a resource is provided. This means you can read, print, save or cite it without having to request additional access.
- Open access eliminates any barriers, such as price and copyright restrictions, that hinder access to scholarship and the knowledge it confers. Open access challenges censorship attempts by guaranteeing that research is available online for global, public access at no cost, permitting the transformation of ideas to improve society.
Identifying Banned / Censored / Challenged Books
- Academic freedom
All Results · [Full-Text Online] · Open Access - Advertising -- Censorship -- United States
All Results - Animated films -- Censorship -- United States
All Results - Anticensorship activists
All Results - Art -- Censorship
All Results - Arts -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Arts -- Censorship -- United States -- Congresses
All Results - Cancel culture
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Censorship
All Results · [Full-Text Online] · Open Access - Censorship -- Economic aspects -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Censorship -- History
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Censorship -- United States -- Bibliography
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Censorship -- United States -- Case studies
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Censorship -- United States -- Congresses
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Censorship -- United States -- Encyclopedias
All Results - Censorship -- United States -- Exhibitions
All Results - Censorship -- United States -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Censorship -- United States -- History -- 19th century
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Censorship -- United States -- History -- 20th century
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Censorship -- United States -- History -- 20th century -- Case studies
All Results - Censorship -- United States -- History -- Case studies
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Censorship -- United States -- History -- Digests
All Results - Censorship -- United States -- Juvenile literature
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Censorship -- United States -- Periodicals
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Censorship -- United States -- Popular works
All Results - Censorship -- United States -- Prevention
All Results · [Full-Text Online] · Open Access - Censorship -- United States -- Sources
All Results - Censorship -- United States -- Statistics
All Results - Challenged books
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Challenged books -- Juvenile literature
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Challenged books -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Challenged books -- United States -- Bibliography
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Children's literature -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Children's stories, American -- Censorship -- United States
All Results - Deepfakes
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Education -- Curricula -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Erotic literature -- Censorship -- United States -- History
All Results - Erotic literature -- Censorship -- United States -- History -- 20th century
All Results - Expurgated books
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Freedom of expression
All Results · [Full-Text Online] · Open Access - Freedom of information
All Results · [Full-Text Online] · Open Access - Freedom of speech
All Results · [Full-Text Online] · Open Access - Freedom to Read Foundation (U.S.)
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Genocide -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Holocaust denial literature
All Results · [Full-Text Online] · Open Access - Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Censorship
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Illegal libraries
All Results - Index librorum prohibitorum
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Intellectual freedom
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Internet -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Libraries -- Censorship
All Results · [Full-Text Online] · Open Access - Libraries -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Libraries -- Censorship -- United States -- Bibliography
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Libraries -- Censorship -- United States -- Case studies
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Libraries -- Censorship -- United States -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Libraries -- Censorship -- United States -- History
All Results - Libraries -- Censorship -- United States -- History -- 20th century
All Results - Libraries -- Censorship -- United States -- Periodicals
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Library information networks -- Censorship -- United States
All Results
- Mass media -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Mass media -- Censorship -- United States -- Bibliography
All Results - Morse, Salmi, 1826-1884 -- Censorship
All Results - Motion pictures -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Motion pictures -- Censorship -- United States -- Digests
All Results - Motion pictures -- Censorship -- United States -- History
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Motion pictures -- Censorship -- United States -- History -- 20th century
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Motion pictures -- Censorship -- United States -- History -- 20th century -- Cases
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Obscenity (Law)
All Results · [Full-Text Online] · Open Access - Online social networks -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Periodicals -- Censorship -- United States -- Case studies
All Results - Persian Gulf War, 1991 -- Censorship
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Polarization (Social sciences) -- Political aspects
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Popular music -- Censorship
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Popular music -- Censorship -- Great Britain
All Results - Popular music -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Postal service -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Prohibited books
All Results · [Full-Text Online] · Open Access - Prohibited books -- History
All Results · [Full-Text Online] · Open Access - Prohibited books -- United States -- History -- 20th century
All Results - Public libraries -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Public libraries -- Censorship -- United States -- History
All Results - Public libraries -- Censorship -- United States -- History -- 20th century
All Results - Public schools -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Public schools -- Curricula -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Radio -- Censorship -- United States
All Results - Rap (Music) -- Censorship -- United States
All Results - Rock music -- Censorship -- United States
All Results - School libraries -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - School libraries -- Censorship -- United States -- Public opinion
All Results - Sex in mass media -- Censorship -- United States
All Results - Social media -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Sound recordings -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Student newspapers and periodicals -- Censorship -- United States
All Results - Student newspapers and periodicals -- Censorship -- United States -- Cases
All Results - Student publications -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Teaching, Freedom of
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Television -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Textbooks -- Censorship
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Textbooks -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Textbooks -- Censorship -- United States -- Case studies
All Results - Textbooks -- Censorship -- United States -- Cases
All Results - Textbooks -- Censorship -- United States -- Miscellanea
All Results - Theater -- Censorship
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Theater -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Theater -- Censorship -- United States -- History
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Theater -- Censorship -- United States -- History -- 19th century
All Results - Theater -- Censorship -- United States -- History -- 20th century
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Trigger warnings
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Trigger warnings -- Case studies
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Trigger warnings -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Truth -- Political aspects
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Twain, Mark, 1835-1910 -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - United States. Communications Decency Act of 1996
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - United States. Office of Censorship
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - United States. Office of Censorship -- History
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Vietnam War, 1961-1975 -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Violence in mass media -- Censorship -- United States
All Results - World War, 1914-1918 -- Censorship -- United States
All Results - World War, 1939-1945 -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Young adult literature -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Young adults libraries -- Censorship -- United States
All Results · [Full-Text Online] - Youth -- Books and reading -- Censorship
All Results
- Last updated: Sep 27, 2024 4:23 PM
- URL: https://libguides.asu.edu/BannedBooks
- Print page
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
