Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Humanities Lab-Migration, Art, Place: Berlin/Phoenix

Humanities Lab course on Immigrant groups and responses of local communities in different urban spaces

Arizona

Arizona Archives Online
Arizona Archives Online consists of text-based finding aids that describe archival collections held in Arizona. It provides finding aids for archival collections at repositories throughout Arizona, including ASU's Archives and Special Collections.

Arizona and Southwestern Index  (ASU Library)
The database is comprised of eight sections, such as Arizona and Southwestern Index, Mexican American Index, University Archives Index and other collections. Each section may include: booklets, pamphlets, small manuscripts, issues of unique newspapers and newsletters, biographies, broadsides, article reprints, reports, photographs, and more.

Arizona Demographics (Migration Policy Institute - MPI) 

Immigrants in Arizona (American Immigration Council)
Fact Sheet, 2020

Immigration to the United States (ASU Library guide) 
Online resources and reports

Russian Germans- Migration to Arizona (Volga-German Institute @ University of South Florida) 
Locations of the German-speaking minority that lived along the Volga River in Russia from 1764 to 1941

Berlin

Berlin: A Window into Germany’s Future? (Knowledge at Wharton, University of Pennsylvania, 2013) 

Writing and Sounding the City: Turkish-German Representations of Berlin  (Ela Eylem Gezen, University of Michigan, 2012)

Spatial Agency: Turks in Kreuzberg (Harvard Melon Urban Initiative, Harvard University) 

Trafficked and Trapped: Vietnamese Cigarette Sellers in Berlin (Tobias Kuehne, Globalist, Yale University, 2010)

Belonging in Berlin: An exploration of Syrian refugee-led organisations and volunteerism during COVID-19 (The Othering & Belonging Institute at the University of California, Berkeley, 2022)

Survey of Ukrainian War Refugees (Federal Ministry of Interior and Community, Berlin, Germany, 2022)

Additional Resources

"The German Arizonians": Ethnic identity and society formation on a Southwestern frontier, 1853--World War I (Dissertation by Gerhard Grytz, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, 2003)

The Southwest’s Unven Welcome: Immigrant Inclusion and Exclusion in Arizona and New Mexico (Elizabeth Durden, Journal of American Ethnic History, 2018, Vol. 37, No. 3, pp. 5-36) 

The Black Nurses Who Were Forced to Care for German Prisoners of War (What it means to be American, a national multimedia conversation hosted by the Smithsonian and ASU, 2018) 

A Black Nurse, a German Soldier and an Unlikely WWII Romance (New York Times, May 15, 2013) 

German POWs Escape: How the German POWs got called, “The Crazy Boatmen” (Salt River Stories) 

The Not So Great Escape: German POWS in the U.S. During the WWII (historynet, 2007) 

Foreign at Home: Turkish-German Migrants and the Boundaries of Europe, 1961-1990 (Dissertation by Michelle Lynn Kahn, Stanford University, 2018)

The Guest Worker Myth: How Turkish Immigrant Communities Rebuilt West Berlin, 1960s - 1980s (Undergraduate Research Thesis by Sarah Stradling, Ohio State University, 2020)

Right-wing populism in Germany: Muslims and minorities after the 2015 refugee crisis (Brookings, 2019)

Germany's Guestworkers (Philip L., Martin,  Challenge (White Plains), 1981, Vol.24 (3), p.34-42) 

Cities and refugees: The German experience (Brookings, 2016)

The Language and Cultural Barriers for Immigrants and Foreigners in Germany (Vinh Pham, Mellon Grant Research Report, 2012)

Tags: arizona, Berlin

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.