Login to LibApps

ENG 102/105/108, First-Year Composition: Finding Articles: Research Databases

A step-by-step guide to finding sources for ENG102, 105 or 108 research papers.
Subjects: Literature
Tags: writing

New York Times

New York Times GroupPass
Create an Account!

As an ASU student, you have free access to the entire New York Times website, going back to the 1860's.

Once you have an account, go directly to NYTimes.com to login.

Library One Search

Library One Search  

Find most ASU Libraries' books, articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and more – with just one search!

Google Scholar

Index to scholarly literature, books and journals, from all subject fields.  The ASU Library's link to GS supplies links to the Libraries' online collections.

Helpful Handouts

Article Databases

The library databases below are the best for your English papers:


Academic Search Premier is a great starting place for any topic. It covers all subject areas, includes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals, and has loads of full text. Depending on the topic, many ENG102 students will get all they need from Academic Search Premier.

Academic Search Premier - Introduction: Interactive Tutorial and Quiz


The most helpful feature of Opposing Viewpoints is that it provides clearly identified pro and con sources for each topic. You can either browse the most popular topics from the first screen, or you can search by keyword.  This is a great place to start, but you need to look at other tools also.  All of the essays are available full text.

It also provides other useful information about each issue, such as relevant articles from encylopedias, magazines and scholarly journals. Use the tabs at the top of your search results to find these.


CQ Researcher is an excellent source for comprehensive background information on current issues in the news. It is the most reliable place to find balanced, unbiased overviews. These reports are meant to educate rather than influence researchers.  But don't let it be your only source!

This link takes you to the CQ Library; from there select CQ Researcher.


LexisNexis offers newspaper articles from around the country and the world.


Access World News offers newspaper coverage from around the US and around the world (and easier to use than LexisNexis). 


Get articles from our local newspaper the Arizona Republic from to 1999 to present.  Local information can often be harder to find than national, so ask a Librarian for help if you want it and are not finding it.


 

Alt-Press Watch is a full text database of selected independent newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative press. It provides an alternative to mainstream media perspectives on local, national, and international issues.


Ethnic NewsWatch brings full text coverage of ethnic and minority presses from around the United States.  Provides viewpoints and resources you may not find anywere else!

Need Help?

Get immediate help from a librarian via chat or email.

Librarian

Alexandra Humphreys's picture
Alexandra Humphreys
Alexandra.Humphreys@asu.edu

Subjects: Humanities, Education, Architecture & Design
Profile and Guides
Contact:
ASU Downtown Phoenix Campus Library
602-496-1188

Hours and Locations