Skip to Main Content
Login to LibApps


ENG 102/105/108, First-Year Composition

A step-by-step guide to finding sources for ENG102, 105 or 108 research papers.

Overview

You can also research databases by specific subject or discipline. There are additional disciplinary databases available through the A to Z Database List. Look for the drop-down menu to the left labeled "All Subjects" and open it to select your area of interest.

Research Databases by Discipline

If you want or need only research articles from a specific discipline, using discipline specific databases is the most direct way to find them.  

Multidisciplinary Research Databases

Academic Search Premier 
A multidisciplinary database which provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.

Google Scholar
Find scholarly literature (books and journal articles) on a wide variety of subjects using the Google search engine. Getit@ASU will link to the fulltext of articles as long as ASU Library subscribes to it.

Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of peer-reviewed content from around the world.

Determining Disciplinary Perspective: Academic Search Premier

Here are some tips for determining the disciplinary perspective of journals found in an Academic Search Premier search.  

 

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.