Login to LibApps

HST 495: Migration and the Making of Postwar Europe: Article Databases

Migration and the Making of Postwar Europe

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier: includes thousands of scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed journals. Covers topics in the Social Sciences, Humanities, Science, and Education.

JSTOR: Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.

ProQuest: Users can search a single database or a cluster of databases covering Humanities, Social Sceinces, the Arts, or Science. The ability to search across multiple databases is particularly useful for researching multidisciplinary topics.

Article Databases


Historical Abstracts Full-Text: Covers the world's scholarly literature in history. Includes full-text articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, except for the United States and Canada.

Humanities Full Text: Indexes articles in the fields of archaeology and classical studies, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, communications, language, literature, literary and political criticism, performing arts, philosophy, religion, etc.

Periodical Archives Online (1770-1995): Full text archive of hundreds of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995 Allows date-limited searching.

Periodical Index Online (1665-1995): An electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995. 

Project Muse: Full text of nearly 250 scholarly journals in the the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics.

Social Sciences

SocIndex: A social sciences research database, covering a wide spectrum of disciplines. It offers in-depth coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Ethnic Studies 

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (1990+): Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union published in the United States and Canada.

Jewish Studies Source: Covers several hundred full-text titles, including leading Jewish Studies academic journals, monographs, related articles from major periodicals and newspapers.

Index to Jewish Periodicals: Covers Jewish history, activity and thought. Some full-text. 

Hours and Locations