Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

PPE 501 Introduction to Research and Evaluation in Education

Overview of educational inquiry from controlled, quantitative to qualitative, naturalistic. Emphasizes locating and critically interpreting published research.

New Resource!

Finding Articles

Sports Medicine & Education Index
This database is an index to materials from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, and patents on physical education, sports law, kinesiology, physical therapy, etc.

SPORTDiscus 
(1975+) Covers all aspects of sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation. Includes sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and other sport- and fitness-related topics.

ERIC (via Proquest) 
(1966+) Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

Education Full Text 
(6/1983+) Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations, vocational education, etc

Google Scholar
Operates similar to regular Google but indexes only scholarly articles, books, book chapters & reports etc.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and web sources with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research. Scopus provides access to a broad portfolio of peer-reviewed content from around the world.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) (1975+ )
Covers a wide range of academic subjects. This database does includes magazines and newspapers so when looking for scholarly sources be sure to limit your results to peer-reviewed journals.
PubMed

Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine

PsycInfo
Mental/behavioral/psychological aspects of fitness, wellness, etc

Dissertations and Theses Global
A comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses that includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and provides strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works

Library Search Engine

Library One Search  

https://lib.asu.edu/                             Find most ASU Libraries' books, articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and more – with just one search!

Peer-Reviewed/Refereed Journals

Peer-reviewed and refereed are synonyms describing the same thing. 

Peer-review is the process whereby an author's peers, who are experts in the same field, read and evaluate the author's article submitted for publication.  This process is important in the decision about whether or not the article is published in the journal as written, with edits and modification or it is rejected. An article going through the peer-review process is called a refereed article.

Peer-reviewed/refereed articles are written for scholars in the field. Articles always have a list of references, generally have footnotes or in-text citations, may include tables, graphs or illustrations to support research, illustrations are in black & white with generally no color and they have few to no ads.

Subjects: Education

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.