Find the librarian skilled in your research area. They can help you determine the best databases and resources for your topic.
Get acquainted with the Research Guide for your subject. This will supply descriptions and links for the major sources in your field.
The ASU Library provides a network of physical and virtual resources for your use. We have a comprehensive collection of databases for finding research articles. The research guides in your area and your subject librarian can help you find the best starting point.
Our book collection contains both print and e-books. You can easily find both in our catalog.
Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery - Don't find the item you need? Our Interlibrary Loan service can get it for you.
Search for dissertations that have been done on your topic before you begin your thesis or dissertation. The library provides a database called Proquest Dissertations and Theses which includes the full text of many doctoral dissertations from institutions in the United States and abroad.
JournalTOCs - Keep current with this searchable collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs). Sign up for alerts when new content is published.
Selected Research Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles
Social Services Abstracts - Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,500 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews
Sociological Abstracts - Covers theoretical & applied sociology, social science, & policy science. Topics include: sociological aspects of anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, family studies, health, racial interactions, social psychology, social work, urban studies, etc.
PubMed - An Abstract/Citation Database, PubMed indexes citations for articles from MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE as well as out-of-scope citations from additional general science and chemistry journals whose life sciences articles are indexed in MEDLINE. PubMed also indexes additional life science journal articles that submit full text to PubMed Central.
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Leading research from publications in the fields of nursing and allied health from 1982 to the present.
Cochrane Library: Provides access to reliable information compiled by the Cochrane Collaboration, an international network of individuals and institutions committed to preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic, up-to-date reviews of the effects of health care.
Search the title of the article in Google Scholar. If you put the title of the article in quotation marks into the search box it will be a little more specific, but that's not always necessary. Usually just a simple cut and paste will work. Use the "get it @ ASU" links within Google Scholar to take you to the article.
Search the title of the article in Library One Search. Same procedure as above. Note that this will only find the article if ASU has it, so it's more limiting than a Google Scholar search.
These are also the methods you can use to find an article if you have gotten a reference from another source, such as a bibliography, and already know the citation information (journal name, volume number, date, etc.).
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-two Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.