Shakespeare (William Shakespeare, 1564-1616)
Related Library Guide
Please note the I have a second Shakespeare-focused library guide
Shakespeare at 400: From Fiction to Fact.
English Studies Research Librarian
ASU Library Databases Focused on William Shakespeare
BBC Shakespeare Plays
Television adaptations of all 37 Shakespeare plays, produced by the BBC between 1978 and 1985.
Digital Theatre+
See Browse - People - William Shakespeare
Early English Books Online
Browse by Author > Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616
Literature Criticism Online
Includes indexing of Shakespearean Criticism (1984- ). The ASU Library has online full-text access to .....
Shakespeare Survey
An annual yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production begun in 1948, Shakespeare Survey has published the best international scholarship in English and many of its essays have become classics of Shakespeare criticism.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Published for Shakespeare Quarterly by Oxford University Press in association with The Folger Shakespeare Library and Texas A&M University.
Very Short Introductions
The ASU Library has an ongoing subscription to Very Short Introductions, a monographic/book series published by Oxford University Press. Titles - both in electronic and print format - which focus on "Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616" are noted below.
Post, Jonathan F. S. Shakespeare’s Sonnets and Poems: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2017. 140 pages: illustrations.
Online Full-Text: Very Short Introductions [restricted access]
Post, Jonathan F. S. Shakespeare’s Sonnets and Poems: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2017. 140 pages: illustrations; 18 cm.
PR2984 .P67 2017 Hayden Library Very Short Introductions
Van Es, Bart. Shakespeare’s Comedies: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford University Press, 2016. 122 pages: illustrations.
Online Full-Text: Very Short Introductions [restricted access]
Wells, Stanley. Shakespeare’s Tragedies: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2017. xii, 138 pages: illustrations.
Online Full-Text: Very Short Introductions [restricted access]
Wells, Stanley. Shakespeare’s Tragedies: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2017. xii, 138 pages: illustrations; 18 cm.
PR2983 .W3665 2017 Hayden Library Very Short Introductions
Wells, Stanley. William Shakespeare: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2015. xv, 125 pages: illustrations.
Online Full-Text: Very Short Introductions [restricted access]
Wells, Stanley. William Shakespeare: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2015. xv, 125 pages: illustrations; 18 cm.
PR2976 .W367 2015 Hayden Library Very Short Introductions
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
