While we can't just search for a great idea, we can use available resources to examine and refine the ideas we generate. The resources listed below are good options to use to track consumer mindsets and behavior.
Coverage: 1923+ Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
This comprehensive business database merges the content of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Archive and The Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition. It includes articles from thousands of English-language publications worldwide covering business, management, and related areas as well as case studies, annual reports, Experian company credit information, country reports, industry reports, commodity reports, conference papers, and dissertations.
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Consists of full-text market research reports covering US consumer markets and selective examples of non-US markets. Each report analyzes market share, segmentation, and trends along with providing comprehensive demographic profiles and consumer patterns. Includes Simmons data and other proprietary information otherwise difficult to obtain.
Alternate titles: Mintel Oxygen Requirements: Before using this database you must review and accept the terms and conditions. Click "I agree" to proceed. The first time you visit Mintel Oxygen click "Create a personal profile". Enter your name and school email address. Choose a password of at least five characters and click create profile. Next time you visit, sign in with your profile email address and password.
Google Trends is a free service from Google that allows you to examine the relative frequency of search terms over time. The dataset includes worldwide searches and goes back to 2004. Different search terms can be simultaneously compared and results can be displayed for custom dates and geographies.
Call Number: Hayden Library Sun Devil Reads T15 .K46 2016
Publication Date: 2016-12-13
"Elegant prose and excellent reporting . . . By the time I had finished reading, I had underlined many intriguing ideas."--New York Times Book Review "No doubt Inventology will be marketed to the creative business class, but there's ample interest here even for readers who aren't actively inventing anything."--Boston Globe A doctor realizes that an innocent-looking tube is killing his patients, then reads a newspaper article that inspires him to create a better version that serves as an early warning system for infections. A father cleans up after his toddler and builds a "sippy" cup that won't spill. An engineer dreams of a different world and pioneers the cell phone. By studying breakthroughs like these, we can learn how people imagine their way around "impossible" problems to discover groundbreaking answers. Pagan Kennedy reports on how enduring methods of invention can be adapted to the twenty-first century, as millions of us deploy tools like crowdfunding, big data, and 3-D printing to address our needs or realize our dreams. Drawing on fresh research and the surprising stories behind many inventions old and new to reveal the steps that most reliably produce discovery, Inventology is a myth-shattering book and a must-read for anyone who is curious about creativity and the mental leaps required to solve our most challenging problems. "'Inventology' may be a real science; researchers are beginning to study it, and teachers are teaching it . . . A delightful account of how inventors do what they do."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review "Offers a new perspective into the process of invention that will inform and illuminate."--Publishers Weekly
Do these comments sound familiar?We would love to be more innovative, but we don't have the resourcesInnovation works in some companies; we just aren't that creativeWe get some good ideas, but nothing ever happens with themUnfortunately, they reflect the general perception and environment for innovation in many firms today. In Lean Innovation: Unde