Peace and Security
Department of Political Affairs - monitors and assesses global political developments with an eye to detecting potential crises before they escalate, and devising effective responses.
Peacemaker - UN Peacemaker is the online mediation support tool developed by the UN Department of Political Affairs. Intended for peacemaking professionals, it includes an extensive database of peace agreements, guidance material and information on the UN’s mediation support services.
Peacekeeping Operations - In addition to maintaining peace and security, peacekeepers are increasingly charged with assisting in political processes; reforming judicial systems; training law enforcement and police forces; disarming and reintegrating former combatants; supporting the return of internally displaced persons and refugees.
Peacebuilding Commission - The Peacebuilding Commission (PBC) is an intergovernmental advisory body that supports peace efforts in countries emerging from conflict, and is a key addition to the capacity of the International Community in the broad peace agenda.
Countering Terrorism - Member States in September 2006 embarked upon a new phase in their counter-terrorism efforts by agreeing on a global strategy to counter terrorism.
Disarmament – The Office for Disarmament Affairs provides leadership and support for the reduction of nuclear, chemical, biological, and conventional weapons.
Promote Sustainable Development
Sustainable Development Goals - On 1 January 2016, the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development — adopted by world leaders in September 2015 at an historic UN Summit — officially came into force.
Zero Hunger Challenge - Launched by UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon in 2012, the Zero Hunger Challenge is his personal vision of a world without hunger – and a global call to action to achieve zero hunger.
Every Woman Every Child - an unprecedented global movement that mobilizes and intensifies international and national action by governments, the UN, multilaterals, the private sector and civil society to address the major health challenges facing women, children and adolescents.
Climate Change - According to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, the world’s greenhouse gas emissions are continuing to increase. To stop the negative consequences on climate change, the 196 Parties to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change adopted the Paris Agreement on 12 December 2015 at the UN Climate Change Conference.
Disaster Risk Reduction - Disaster risk reduction is the concept and practice of reducing disaster risks through systematic efforts to analyse and reduce the causal factors of disasters. Reducing exposure to hazards, lessening vulnerability of people and property, wise management of land and the environment, and improving preparedness and early warning for adverse events are all examples of disaster risk reduction.
Gender equality and empowering women and girls - UN Women works to eliminate discrimination against women and girls, empower all women, and achieve equality between women and men as partners and beneficiaries of development, human rights, humanitarian action and peace and security.
Protect Human Rights
The Universal Declaration of Human Rights - The term “human rights” was mentioned seven times in the UN's founding Charter, making the promotion and protection of human rights a key purpose and guiding principle of the Organization. In 1948, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights brought human rights into the realm of international law. Since then, the Organization has diligently protected human rights through legal instruments and on-the-ground activities.
High Commissioner for Human Rights - The Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) has lead responsibility for the promotion and protection of human rights, and for implementing the human rights programme within the UN.
Human Rights Council - The Human Rights Council is an inter-governmental body within the United Nations system made up of 47 States responsible for the promotion and protection of all human rights around the globe.
Core International Human Rights - There are 9 core international human rights instruments. Each of these instruments has established a committee of experts to monitor implementation of the treaty provisions by its States parties.
Commission on the Status of Women - the principal global intergovernmental body exclusively dedicated to the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women.
Uphold International Law
International Court of Justice - The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations (UN). The Court’s role is to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by authorized United Nations organs and specialized agencies. The Court is composed of 15 judges, who are elected for terms of office of nine years by the United Nations General Assembly and the Security Council.
International Law Commission - The International Law Commission was established by the General Assembly, in 1947, to "initiate studies and make recommendations for the purpose of ... encouraging the progressive development of international law and its codification".
Commission on International Trade Law - A legal body with universal membership specializing in commercial law reform worldwide for over 40 years, UNCITRAL's business is the modernization and harmonization of rules on international business.
UN Convention on the Law of the Sea - The 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea provides, for the first time, a universal legal framework for the rational management of marine resources and their conservation for future generations.
UN Treaty Database – Contains multilateral treaties, United Nations agreements, and League of Nations treaties, as well as treaty handbooks and indexes.
Internal Justice System - Because the United Nations has immunity from local jurisdiction and cannot be sued in a national court, the Organization has set up an internal justice system to resolve staff-management disputes, including those that involve disciplinary action.
Programme of Assistance in the Teaching, Study, Dissemination and Wider Appreciation of International Law - Established to contribute to a better knowledge of international law “as a means for strengthening international peace and security and promoting friendly relations and co-operation among States”. It is one of the cornerstones of the efforts of the United Nations to promote international law.
Deliver Humanitarian Aid
Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) - OCHA is responsible for bringing together humanitarian actors to ensure a coherent response to emergencies.
Central Emergency Response Fund (CERF) - supports rapid humanitarian response for people affected by natural disasters and armed conflict. CERF receives voluntary contributions year-round to provide immediate funding for life-saving humanitarian action anywhere in the world.
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees - leads and co-ordinates international action to protect refugees and resolve refugee problems worldwide.
United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) - is a leading humanitarian and development agency working globally for the rights of every child.
World Food Programme - provides relief to millions of people, who are victims of disasters.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) - creates and shares critical information about food, agriculture and natural resources in the form of global public goods.
World Health Organization (WHO) - directs and coordinates international health within the United Nations’ system.