Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


United Nations

Print, Microform, and Online Resources

Created by 51 States in 1945, the United Nations seeks to achieve world peace through international cooperation.  Currently made up of 193 nations, the UN works on a multitude of issues that affect the international community including:

  • International Peace and Security
  • Sustainable Development
  • Human Rights
  • International Law
  • Humanitarian Aid

In over 70 years of existence the United Nations has produced a lot of valuable information. Although the ASU Library is not an official United Nations Depository Library, we can provide access to UN information through our print, microform, and online resources.  We can also assist in getting access to materials that we do not own.

Our print and microfiche collections are located on Level 3 of Hayden Library.  While much of the collection is searchable in our online catalog, some of it (including League of Nations documents) are not.  These collections adhere to the United Nations Symbol Series for document location and shelving.  A brief overview is available from the Dag Hammarskjöld Library, and a more detailed version (768 pages) is available from the General Assembly.

In addition, the ASU Library subscribes to the Access UN database which ​serves primarily as an ongoing Web-based index to more than 500,000 current and archived United Nations documents and publications, contained in our microfiche collection. Access UN also provides the full text or links to the full text of more than 35,000 of these documents and publications.

Hours and Locations