Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Applied Biological Sciences and Pre-Veterinary Medicine

A guide to research databases, electronic journals, web and other resources for the Applied Biological Sciences

Veterinary School Requirements

Program prerequisites for most veterinary medicine programs include math, statistics, chemistry, and laboratory courses in both biological science and physics. For more information, explore the resources below.

Research Databases

Math and Statistics Resources

Knovel:

Find formulas or property data (boiling point, density, elasticity, etc)

Elsevier's ScienceDirect:

A collection of electronic journals and books with emphasis on the sciences including mathematics and statistics

MathSciNet:

Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications

Chemistry and Biochemistry Resources

 

Chemical Abstracts (SciFinder):

SciFinder is a comprehensive chemical information database

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics:

Tables and references on all aspects of chemistry and physics

​Complete list of chemistry related databases at ASU

Biology and Life Science Resources

 

Agricola:

Worldwide coverage of agricultural literature

Animal Behavior Abstracts:

Subjects include neurophysiology, behavior ecology, genetics, and applied ethology. Now part of Biological Sciences.

Biological Sciences:

A wide range of research in biology, biotechnology, zoology, and ecology

CAB Abstracts Archive:

A comprehensive database in the applied life sciences including animal health and conservation of natural resources

PubMed

Covers veterinary and human medicine.

Physical and Earth Science Resources

American Institute of Physics:

Journals and conference proceedings in the areas of math, applied physics and chemistry

Encyclopedia of Life:

A descriptive catalog of all the species in the world

Environment Complete:

Coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more

ScienceDirect:

E-journal collection covering all areas of science

 

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.