Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Applied Biological Sciences and Pre-Veterinary Medicine

A guide to research databases, electronic journals, web and other resources for the Applied Biological Sciences

Magazine or journal articles

Abstracting and Indexing Databases

These databases provide...

Web Resources

American Rivers - Nonprofit conservation organization dedicated to protecting and restoring rivers nationwide.

American Society for Horticulture Science - Organization dedicated to research and education in horticulture and an agent for active promotion of horticultural science.

AmphibiaWeb - the source for amphibian data - Taxonomic information for every recognized species of amphibian in the world.

Animal Diversity Web - An online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan

ARS Water Database  - Collection of precipitation and streamflow data from small agricultural watersheds in the United States.

AZMET Weather Data - The Arizona Metrological Network (AZMET) provides air and soil temperature, humidity, solar radiation, speed and wind direction, and precipitation data from 1987 to the present. The website provides the latitude, longitude, and elevation and a map of data collection sites.

Biological Diversity in Food and Agriculture - This website, designed by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations, explores some of the many issues surrounding biodiversity in food and agriculture, with important sections devoted to genetic resources, ecosystems, and the socio-economic impacts upon this diversity.

Bureau of Land Management - Federal agency responsible for administering public lands, located primarily in 12 Western States.

Bureau of Reclamation  - Federal agency responsible for managing, developing, and protecting water and related resources in an environmentally and economically sound manner.

Center for International Earth Science Information - GIS formatted data, which includes the Central American Vegetation/ Land Cover Classification and Conservation Status, China Dimensions, Georeferenced Population Data Sets of Mexico, Grided Population of the World, Last of the Wild, Human footprint, and US PUMA and TIGER files.

Center for Land Use Interpretation - The Center for Land Use Interpretation is a research organization involved in exploring, examining, and understanding land and landscape issues. The Center employs a variety of methods to pursue its mission - engaging in research, classification, extrapolation, and exhibition.

Compendium of On-Line Soil Survey Information - Information about and links to soil survey institutes from around the world and the digital soil geographic databases they offer.

Convention on Biological Diversity - Information on the conservation of biological diversity, the sustainable use of its components, and the fair and equitable sharing of the benefits from the use of genetic resources.

Ecological Society of America - Nonprofit organization to promote ecological science; raise the public's level of awareness of the importance of ecological science; and ensure the appropriate use of ecological science in environmental decision making.

Ecosystem Valuation - Information on the economic benefits of conservation, ecosystem preservation and restoration.

Endangered Species Program - Information from the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service

Endangered Wildlife and Plants - Listing of endangered species and plants.

Environmental Organization WebDirectory - Links to resources on all areas of the environment.

International Organization for Plant Information - Manages a series of cooperative international projects that aim to create and link databases of plant taxonomic information.

International Union of Forestry Research Organizations - Non-profit, non-governmental international network of forest scientists to promote international cooperation in forestry and forest products research.

Life Science Dictionary - 8300+ terms dealing with biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, cell biology and genetics. Also contains some terms relating to ecology, limnology, pharmacology, toxicology and medicine.

Medical Dictionary from MedlinePlus - Medical dictionary

National Biological Information Infrastructure - Links to data and information on the nation's biological resources.

National Soil Survey Center - Soil information including surveys, maps, classifications, analyses.

National Wetlands Research Center - Source and clearinghouse of science information about wetlands in the United States and the world

National Wildlife Health Center - National agency focused on assessing the impact of disease on wildlife and to identifying the role of various pathogens in contributing to wildlife losses

National Resources Conservation Service - Government agency with the aim to conserve, maintain, and improve natural resources and the environment.

NatureServe - Information on rare and endangered species and ecosystems.

Office of Wetlands, Oceans, and Watersheds - Environmental Protection Agency's office for protecting water resources.

PLANTS Database  - The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.

Society for Ecological Restoration (SER) - Society for ecologically-sensitive repair and management of ecosystems

Society for Ecological Restoration International - A non-profit professional organization for those involved in restoration. Site includes educational opportunities, job postings, and an events calendar.

Southwest Center for Education and the Natural Environment - ASU program to provide Arizona citizens with a scientific basis for making informed decisions about the environment.

USGS National Water Quality Assessment Data Warehouse - Information on water quality studies from all over the United States.

Wetland Science Institute - Federal agency focussed on the science and technology needed to protect and restore wetlands.

World Database on Protected Areas - The WDPA is a fully relational database containing information on the status, environment and management of individual protected areas.

Hours and Locations