Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Action Research in Education

Education Research: Databases

Education Full Text 
Covers education topics such as critical thinking, teaching methods, curriculum, comparative education, literacy standards, multicultural education, psychology, special education, counseling, teacher/parent relations, vocational education, etc.

ERIC (via Proquest) 
Premier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.

Sage Premier
Includes the full text of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies.

LearnTechLib
Valuable resource of peer-reviewed and published international journal articles and conference papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) 
Covers a wide range of academic subjects.

JSTOR
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.

ProQuest
Provides access to a collection of databases. The ability to search across multiple databases is particularly useful for researching multi-disciplinary topics.

Web of Science
Provides access to multiple databases in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. 

Related Subject Databases

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts 
Indexes literature on the nature & use of language. Covers linguistics (nature & structure of human speech); language (speech sounds, sentence & word structure, meaning, spelling, phonetics); and speech, language, & hearing pathology.

PsycINFO 
A comprehensive index of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Indexes more than 2,150 journals (98% are peer-reviewed) as well as relevant books and dissertations.

Physical Education Index 
This database is an index to materials from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, and patents on physical education, sports law, kinesiology, physical therapy, etc.

 

Advanced Research Databases

ASU Electronic Theses and Dissertations
This collection includes most of the ASU Theses and Dissertations from 2011 to present. ASU Theses and Dissertations are available in downloadable PDF format; however, a small percentage of items are under embargo. Information about the dissertations/theses includes degree information, committee members, an abstract, supporting data or media.

Dissertations and Theses Arizona State University
A searchable database for full text, citations, and abstracts of ASU dissertations.

Dissertations and Theses
Indexes and abstracts doctoral dissertations and selected masters' theses accepted for degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions

SAGE Research Methods Online
A web-based research methods tool to help researchers, faculty, and students with research projects. Researchers can explore methods to help them construct research projects, and understand various methods. This database focuses on methodology and is useful for all disciplines.

Ulrich's Periodical Directory 
Provides title-specific information for currently published journals, magazines and newspapers. Indicates whether a journal is peer reviewed (refereed).

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities: Education
Provides information on many education journals, their circulation figures, subject areas, guidelines for submitting manuscripts, reviewing process, and acceptance rates when available. 

Library Search Engines

Library One Search  

                             Find most ASU Libraries' books, articles from newspapers, journals, magazines and more – with just one search!

 

Google Scholar (via ASU)
Google Scholar indexes items Google considers scholarly, including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings, and technical reports. The ASU Library subscribes to the electronic version of many of these materials and may own the print copy. 

Hours and Locations