AIS 420 / AIS 502 American Indian Studies Research Methods
Need More Help?
Labriola National American Indian Data Center Info
Labriola Center Hours Monday-Thursday 9am-7pm & Friday 9am-6pm
Contact the Center at 480-965-6490 or Ask-An-Archivist
Or call Alex Soto at 602-543-8261 or alexander.soto@asu.edu
Librarians Contact Information
Labriola Center, West and Tempe Campus
Alex Soto, Labriola Director 602-543-8261
Government Documents http://lib.asu.edu/govdocs
Brad Vogus 602-543-5525
Fletcher Library, West Valley campus
How to Cite Government Documents
Law Library, Indian Law http://libguides.law.asu.edu/indianlaw/home
480-965-6144
Law Library Reference Staff Click to contact
Noble Library https://lib.asu.edu/noble
480-965-2600
Map and GIS Services Click on Contact
Primary Sources
Primary Sources in ASU Library
- American Indian IndexPhotographs, oral histories, and ephemera collections such as brochures, newsletters, etc in the Labriola National American Indian Data Center
- American Indian Manuscript CollectionThe following bibliography includes material found in the Labriola National American Indian Data Center in the University Libraries at Arizona State University, websites, and other research facilities.
- Arizona Archives OnlineDetailed descriptions of archival material about the history of Arizona and other subjects. The archival collections described in AAO are held at institutions across the state including academic libraries, historical institutions, special collections libraries, museums and other libraries and archives in Arizona.
- ASU Digital RepositoryThe ASU Digital Repository includes several Labriola Center digital collections.
- Microform PublicationsThe following microform publications are available in several places throughout the Hayden and Law Library: Hayden Reference; Hayden Microforms; Law Microforms; and the Arizona and Labriola Collections
- Oral History CollectionsContains a list and descriptions of all oral history collections held in the Labriola National American Indian Data Center
Primary Sources Online
- National ArchivesOver 2 million federal records, photographs, etc. available online.
- NAU Special Collections OnlineIncludes material from the Hopi Cultural Preservation Office and the Navajo Nation Museum
- Online Archive of CaliforniaPrimary source collections (artwork, manuscripts, papers, historic photographs, and so on) maintained by more than 200 libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California — including collections maintained by the 10 University of California campuses
- Primary Resources Guide - Created by ASU History Librarian Ed OettingCreated by History Librarian Ed Oetting
- Primary Resource GuideA guide that explains what a Primary Source is and how to use it in your research.
US Census Bureau - Tribal Affairs office - general info from the Census Bureau on Tribal Areas.
- My Tribal Area - Data on American Indian and Alaska Native (AIAN) populations
- Explore Census Data - The one-stop place to find US Census Bureau data.
Recommended Research Databases - Journal and Newspaper articles
- American Indian NewspapersAmerican Indian Newspapers includes newspapers produced by a range of Indigenous Nations in the United States and British Columbia from 1828 to 2016. The newspapers include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. Highlights from Arizona include the Ak-Chin O'odham Runner, Navajo Times, and Hopi Action News.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaCovers the history, life and culture of native North Americans. Indexes works from the 16th century to the present, including monographs, essays, journal articles, government documents, historical and ethnographic books, and dissertations.
- Ethnic NewswatchFull-text of ethnic, minority and native press newspapers, magazines and journals.
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a widevariety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- JSTORThis database provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Sciences.
- Project MuseThe Premium Collection is MUSE's foremost collection of high quality, peer reviewed, interdisciplinary journals from leading university presses, not-for-profit publishers and prestigious scholarly societies. It provides a growing collection of full text content in the the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Find Books and Articles
Advanced Research Databases
- American Indian IndexPart of the Labriola National American Indian Data Center Collection. Includes all topics dealing with the American Indian in Alaska, Canada, and the United States. Photographs are included in this collection.
- Arizona Archives OnlineThe mission of Arizona Archives Online (AAO) is to provide free public access to descriptions of archival collections, preserved and made accessible by Arizona repositories, including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums.
- Dissertations and Thesis Arizona State UniversityA seachable database for full text, citations and abstracts of ASU dissertations.
- Dissertations and Thesis GlobalIndexes dissertations accepted for doctoral degrees by accredited North American educational institutions and over 200 other institutions. Also contains citations and abstracts to masters' theses. Covers approximately 3,000 subject areas.
- ERICPremier U.S. database of education literature. Sponsored by the US Department of Education. Includes journal (EJ) and ERIC Document (ED) citations with abstracts; full text of ERIC Documents from 1993 to present.
- Indian Law Library GuideCreated by the ASU Law Library - a very comprehensive guide covering tribal law, federal Indian law, and international law related to indigenous peoples.
- Map and Geospatial HubThe Map and Geospatial Hub is ASU's library-based center for geographic information systems (GIS), remote sensing, geovisualization and cartography, and the associated technologies needed to transform geospatial data into powerful, value-added information.
- National Indian Law LibraryThe National Indian Law Library (NILL) of the Native American Rights Fund (NARF) was founded in 1972 as a public law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL serves the public by developing and making accessible a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assisting people with their Indian law-related information needs
- Proquest Congressional1789-present. ProQuest Congressional provides access to federal legislative bills, statutes, committee hearings, committee reports, and voting history while also covering executive branch documents and executive orders.
- ProQuest Indian Claims InsightPre-1948: claims presented to Congress and/or brought before the Court of Claims; 1948-1978: Indian Claims Commission, including briefs, docket books, decisions, expert testimony, oral transcripts; Post-1978: Claims brought before the US Court of Claims (through 1982) and US Court of Federal Claims (through 2006); documents related to post-2006 settlement of claims; legislative histories and congressional publications directly related to Indian claims, including congressional publications indexed by docket numbers; important Supreme Court decisions; and maps
- ProQuest Legislative Insight1789-2016 Documents the legislative history of laws enacted by the U.S. Congress with links to relevant documents including the enacted public laws and related bills; Congressional Record excerpts; and committee hearings, reports, and documents.
Zotero - Saves Your Citations and Formats Your Bibliography
- Citation Management ToolsThis guide will help you select the best citation management tool for you.
- ZoteroZotero is a free, easy-to-use citation management tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.
- Citation StylesHelp with different citation styles including how to format citations.
Additional Libraries and Organizations
- Heard MuseumThe Heard Museum is home to the Billie Jane Baguley Library and Archives — a comprehensive research facility offering extensive information about indigenous art and cultures from around the world and an unparalleled resource collection on nearly 25,000 American Indian artists.
- Museum Association of Arizona Membership DirectoryNames and contact information for nearly 80 museums in the state of Arizona.
Objectives for session
At the end of this class session you will:
- Better understand the services provided by the Labriola Center and the ASU Library.
- Know how to find primary sources within the ASU Library and online.
- Know how to use advanced discovery tools for in-depth library research, and how to properly cite your sources.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
