AIS 420/502- American Indian Research Methods

Treaties Between the United States and The Indian Tribes up to 1842

1778-1971. Available online and in print.

FDsys is GPO's official system of record for online Government information. FDsys provides free online access to official United States Federal Government publications. Through FDsys, you are able to: Search for documents and publications FDsys provides advanced search capabilities and the ability to refine and narrow your search for quick access to the information you need. Browse for documents and publications FDsys offers browsing by collection, Congressional committee, and date.

The Committee has jurisdiction to study the unique problems of American Indian, Native Hawaiian, and Alaska Native peoples and to propose legislation to alleviate these difficulties. These issues include, but are not limited to, Indian education, economic development, land management, trust responsibilities, health care, and claims against the United States. Additionally, all legislation proposed by Members of the Senate that specifically pertains to American Indians, Native Hawaiians, or Alaska Natives is under the jurisdiction of the Committee.

Requires ASURITE authentication
Provides access to U.S. legislative information: hearings; committee reports; bills, bill tracking; Congressional Indexes; Congressional Record; Federal Register; Code of Federal Regulations; U.S. Code; Public laws; National Journal, Congress Daily, & member info.

Executive Orders are the formal means through which the President of the United States executes a wide range of actions related to the Federal Government’s internal operations and organization, as well as foreign and domestic policies.
Presidential proclamations and executive orders have the force of law, and have played a role in many historic events, including Indian removal.
Part of ProQuest Congressional.

Requires ASURITE authentication
Congress produces a variety of publications as a bill moves through the legislative process on its way to becoming a law. A compilation of these full text primary source publications produces a legislative history that is valuable to a wide variety of researchers. Legislative histories enable users to trace the development of a public law from its early consideration to its enactment, including development that spans more than one Congress.

The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 51 titles. Title 25 contains laws related to Indians.

Requires ASURITE authentication
HeinOnline provides full-text page-image (PDF) format access to law reviews and journals; historical volumes of federal documents like the Federal Register; classic legal texts from the 17th through early 20th centuries; U.S. treaties; Supreme Court cases as they appear in U.S. Reports; and Attorney General opinions. HeinOnline's Law Journal Library offers access to pre-1980 legal-periodical scholarship that is not available on LexisNexis or Westlaw as well as recent volumes.

Requires ASURITE authentication
With nearly 800 unique titles and more than 800,000 pages dedicated to American Indian Law, this collection includes an expansive archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence. This library also features rare compilations edited by Felix S. Cohen that have never before been accessible online.

Document illustrating the history of Indian policy over time. Available in print and online.

Rulemaking is the policy-making process for Executive and Independent agencies of the Federal government. Agencies use this process to develop and issue Rules (Rules are also referred to as “regulations”).

The Reg Map is a chart that gives an overview of the "informal rulemaking" process.

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation.
Title 25 are regulations related to Indians.

Executive Orders are Presidential Directives generally related to how the government runs.

Tribal constitutions and codes are the heart of self-government for over 500 federally recognized tribes, and are the lifeblood of Indian sovereignty. The University of Oklahoma Law Center Library and the National Indian Law Library work with tribes whose government documents appear on this web site; these tribal documents are either placed online with the permission of the tribes, or they are U.S. Government documents, rightfully in the public domain.

An annotated compendium of Internet links; a portal of Internet sources of interest to legal researchers.

The National Indian Law Library (NILL) of the Native American Rights Fund is a law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. NILL maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources and assists people with their Indian law-related research needs.