Astronomy

Astronomy resources at ASU Library.

Indexes and Databases

Astrophysics Data System (ADS)

Digital library portal containing research in astronomy, astrophysics, and physics.

Coverage: 1995+
Includes arXiv e-prints and links to external resources.
arXiv.org

An open-access repository for preprint research papers spanning various fields including physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering, and economics.

Coverage: 1991+
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Index

Provides extensive bibliographic coverage of research, technologies, applications, and organizations in aeronautics, astronautics, IT, electronics, communications, solid-state devices, and space sciences, spanning theoretical to practical advancements since 1962.
Inspec

A global index of scientific and technical literature in physics, engineering, and computer science, accessible through Engineering Village, with coverage dating back to 1898.
Science Direct

Leading index for peer-reviewed journal articles and book chapters in science, technology, medicine, and other fields, with full-text access limited to subscribed titles.

Scitation
Full-text to selected journals produced by the American Institute of Physics.
Lunar and Planetary Institute Meeting Abstracts
The LPI’s searchable abstract collection allows users to conduct refined searches of abstracts presented at LPI-sponsored meetings since 1997. The database currently contains more than 76,000 abstracts from more than 250 meetings.

American Institute of Physics

Peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and conference proceedings covering diverse areas of physical sciences, including content from member societies and flagship titles like Physics Today.

Write the topic in one simple sentence or as a simple question.
Example: How can airplane cockpit design be improved?
Divide the sentence into concepts.
Concept #1: airplane
Concept #2: cockpit
Concept #3: design
For each concept, determine synonyms, acronyms, abbreviations, spelling variations.
Concept #1: airplane, aeroplane
Concept #2: cockpit
Concept #3: design
For each concept, place the keywords within parentheses and separate by "OR".
Concept #1: (airplane or aeroplane)
Concept #2: (cockpit)
Concept #3: (design)
Combine the concepts into one search statement separating the concepts by "AND".
(airplane or aeroplane) and (cockpit) and (design)
Refine the strategy as new/better terminology is discovered via database searching.
For example, in the EI Compendex database, the term "aircraft" is used instead of airplane.
Repeat the search with the new terminology.
(airplane or aeroplane or aircraft) and (cockpit) and (design)
Refine the search as many times as needed.

Dissertations & Theses @ Arizona State University

Searchable database for full text, citations and abstracts of ASU dissertations. Index only: 1954-1979 (index only); Full text: 1979-present.
Dissertations & Theses Global

A collection of full-text dissertations and theses featuring millions of searchable citations from 1861 to present. It includes over a million downloadable PDFs, full text for most entries since 1997, and comprehensive coverage of older works, including PQDT UK & Ireland content.
Open Dissertations

An open access citation database of dissertations based on the print resource “Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities.” Dissertations may be searched by author, subject, title and granting university.

Coverage: 1902 to present