Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

ASU Dissertations and Theses

The ASU Library has a copy for most of the dissertations and theses written by ASU graduate and honors students. This guide explains how to determine what is available and how to get a copy.

Dissertations: Introduction

At ASU, doctoral-level programs require a dissertation. "Dissertation" is the preferred term at the doctoral level as "thesis" is generally used to describe the document produced in Undergraduate Honors and Masters programs. 

The availability, location, and format of dissertations depend on the time period in which the student completed the doctoral degree:

Dissertations: Fall 2011 to the present

The Graduate College requires doctoral students to submit an electronic copy of their dissertations to ProQuest; ProQuest waits for approval from the Graduate College before the dissertations are released into the ProQuest databases. ProQuest sends a digital copy of the bibliographic information and full text of these documents to the ASU Library for inclusion in several different databases.    

Note: Not all dissertations are available soon after graduation. The ASU Graduate College currently allows students to request an embargo of up to 2 years before their dissertation is made public; students may choose this option to protect their intellectual property rights or to preserve commercial publication opportunities among other issues. The full text of an embargoed dissertation will not be available for viewing in the following databases until the embargo period has ended.  

The dissertations from this time period are available as follows:

  • ASU Digitial Repository: ASU Electronic Dissertations and Theses Collection
    Has the full text of the dissertations, except for cases where the dissertation is within a requested embargo period; the full text is in PDF and is available for all to view, print, and/or download. 
     
  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) and Dissertations and Theses @ ASU databases contain the full text, except for cases where the dissertation is within a requested embargo period; full text is in PDF.

    Access to these databases requires a subscription.
    • ASU faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students may access these databases from both on- and off-campus
    • ASU Alumni and community members who live in the Phoenix area may access these databases from within an ASU Library; ProQuest does not permit us to offer off-campus access to alumni and community members.
    • Alumni and individuals outside of the Phoenix area should check with their local libraries, particularly libraries at publicly funded colleges and universities, for the availability of the "ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) database.   
       
  • ASU Library's Catalog
    Contains a bibliographic record for the dissertations and each record has a link to the full text in the ASU Digital Repository.  
     
  • The ASU Library does not retain or accept print copies of dissertations available in the ASU Digital Repository.  
     

Dissertations: 1999 - Spring 2011

The Graduate College required doctoral students to submit two printed copies of their dissertation to the ASU Library, one printed copy to their academic unit, and an electronic copy to ProQuest.   

The dissertations from this time period are available as follows:

  • ASU Digitial Repository: ASU Electronic Dissertations and Theses Collections
    Only the limited number of 2010/2011 dissertations selected for the electronic submission trial are available in full text (PDF); full text for 1999-2009 is not available.
     
  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) and Dissertations and Theses @ ASU databases contain the full text for almost all dissertations during this time; the full text is in PDF. 

    Access to these databases requires a subscription.
    • ASU faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students may access these databases from both on- and off-campus
    • ASU Alumni and community members who live in the Phoenix area may access these databases from within an ASU Library; ProQuest does not permit us to offer off-campus access to alumni and community members.
    • Alumni and individuals outside of the Phoenix area should check with their local libraries, particularly libraries at publicly funded colleges and universities, for the availability of the "ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) database.
       
  • ASU Library's Catalog
    Contains a bibliographic record for the dissertations and each record has the location for the print copies. The catalog record does not contain information about full-text availability.  
     
    • The first copy, aka the archival copy, is kept in storage and the user must contact the Wurzburger Reading Room (480-965-4932 or archives@asu.edu) in advance to set an appointment to view a dissertation. The copy may only be viewed in the Reading Room in Hayden Library and is not available for checkout or interlibrary loan. 
       
    • The second copy, aka the circulating copy, is kept in the Library's high-density storage and may be checked out or loaned to other libraries.  Note: not every dissertation has a second copy and some of these copies may be shelved in libraries other than Hayden; see the catalog record for availability.  ASU dissertations are given the call number: LD179.15 [year]d [cuttered by author]

Dissertations: 1973-1998

The Graduate College required doctoral students to submit two printed copies of their dissertation to the ASU Library, one printed copy to their academic unit and an electronic copy to UMI (predecessor to ProQuest).


The dissertations from this time period are available as follows: 

  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) and Dissertations and Theses @ ASU databases contain the full text for most, but not all titles; full text is in PDF.

    Access to these databases requires a subscription.
    • ASU faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students may access these databases from both on- and off-campus
    • ASU Alumni and community members who live in the Phoenix area may access these databases from within an ASU Library; ProQuest does not permit us to offer off-campus access to alumni and community members
    • ASU Alumni and individuals outside of the Phoenix area should check with their local libraries, particularly libraries at publicly funded colleges and universities, for the availability of the "ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) database.
       
  • ASU Library's Catalog
    Contains bibliographic records for the dissertations and each record has the location for the print copies. The catalog record does not have information about full-text availability. 
     
    • The first copy, aka the archival copy, is kept in storage and the user must contact the Wurzburger Reading Room (480-965-4932 or archives@asu.edu) in advance to set an appointment to view a dissertation. The copy may only be viewed in the Reading Room in Hayden Library and is not available for checkout or interlibrary loan.
       
    • The second copy, aka the circulating copy, is kept in the high-density collection and must be retrieved in advance of a visit. These copies may be checked out or used for interlibrary loan. Some dissertations during this time do not have a second copy. ASU dissertations are given call number:  LD179.15 [year]d [cuttered by author]

Dissertations: 1954-1972

The dissertations from this time period are available as follows:

  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) and Dissertations and Theses @ ASU databases contain mostly just bibliographic records however there are a few full-text dissertations during this time period. 

    Access to these databases requires a subscription.
    • ASU faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students may access these databases from both on- and off-campus
    • ASU Alumni and community members who live in the Phoenix area may access these databases from within an ASU Library; ProQuest does not permit us to offer off-campus access to alumni and community members.
    • Alumni and individuals outside of the Phoenix area should check with their local libraries, particularly libraries at publicly funded colleges and universities, for the availability of the "ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) database.
       
  • ASU Library's Catalog
    Contains a bibliographic record for the dissertations and each record has the location for the print copies. The catalog record does not have information about full-text availability. 
     
    • The first copy, aka the archival copy, is kept in storage and the user must contact the Wurzburger Reading Room (480-965-4932 or archives@asu.edu) in advance to set an appointment to view a dissertation. The copy may only be viewed in the Reading Room in Hayden Library and is not available for checkout or interlibrary loan.
       
    • The second copy, aka the circulating copy, is kept in the Library's high-density storage and must be retrieved in advance of a visit. These second copies may be checked out or used for interlibrary loan. Some dissertations during this time do not have a second copy.  ASU dissertations are given call number:  LD179.15 [year]d [cuttered by author]

Dissertations: 1938-1953

The dissertations from this time period are only available in print: 

  • ASU Library's Catalog  
    Contains a bibliographic record for the dissertations and each record has the location for the print copies.
     
    • The first copy, aka the archival copy, is kept in storage and the user must contact the Wurzburger Reading Room (480-965-4932 or archives@asu.edu) in advance to set an appointment to view a dissertation. The copy may only be viewed in the Reading Room in Hayden Library and cannot be checked out nor loaned to another library. 
       
    • The second copy, aka the circulating copy, is kept in the Library's high-density storage and needs to be retrieved from the collection in advance of a visit. These copies may be checked out or used for interlibrary loan. Some dissertations during this time do not have a second copy.  ASU dissertations are given call number:  LD179.15 [year]d [cuttered by author]
Subjects: Education, General

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.