Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

ASU Dissertations and Theses

The ASU Library has a copy for most of the dissertations and theses written by ASU graduate and honors students. This guide explains how to determine what is available and how to get a copy.

Honors Theses: Introduction

Undergraduate students in the honors program must produce a thesis before graduation. This is just one of several requirements the students must meet;  therefore, the existence of a thesis does not automatically mean a student did graduate with honors. The Honors Theses collection starts in 1962 although Barrett, the Honors College, did not form until 1988. The Libraries' collection of honors theses ends in 2005; Barrett continues to maintain their own collection of the theses. Details are below.

Honors Theses: Fall 2012 to the Present

Starting with Fall 2012, Barrett is adding copies of the honors theses to the ASU Digital Repository under the Barrett, The Honors College Thesis/Creative Project Collection.  Although the bibliographic information is freely available, the College has requested that access to the full text be restricted.

  • ASU employees (faculty and staff) and currently enrolled students may access the full text by clicking on the "Sign In" link in the upper right corner of the repository screen; input your asurite id/password and once authorized, the pdf link(s) in the right-hand column for each thesis will now be active.
  • For non-ASU individuals or ASU alumni, please email the College at barrettadvising@asu.edu or use their Contact Barrett form to check on the availability of a specific thesis.   
  • These theses are not available for Interlibrary Loan. 

Honors Theses: 2006 to mid-2012

Barrett, the Honors College, maintains a print collection of ASU Honors Theses; their collection starts in 1970 and goes to the present. Barrett's collection is the only place where the Spring 2006 through the Spring 2012 theses are available. Please email the College at barrettadvising@asu.edu or use their Contact Barrett form to check on the availability of a specific thesis. These theses are not available for Interlibrary Loan.   

Honors Theses: 1962-2005

The ASU Library maintains a print collection of the Honors Theses from 1962 to 2005; the collection is not complete and none of the theses are available in electronic format. Use the ASU Library's Catalog to identify the availability of a specific thesis.  

  • With very few exceptions, the collection contains only one, archival copy of each thesis. The collection is housed in the Library's high-density storage; users must contact the Wurzburger Reading Room (480-965-4932 or archives@asu.edu) in advance to set up a time to view a thesis; archival material may not be checked out or loaned to other libraries.
     
  • For the few titles that have a second copy, this copy may be checked out and may be loaned to other libraries. Second copies from 1962 to 1998 are kept in the High-Density Collection; from 1999 to 2005, the second copies are kept in Hayden stacks, call number LD179.145 [year] [cuttered by author]
Subjects: Education, General

The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.