The Royal Society first published obituaries of its Fellows in 1830, in Proceedings of the Royal Society of London. Initially obituaries were read at the Anniversary meeting and were printed in the record of that meeting. From 1859 they appeared in a separate section at the back. From 1932 obituaries of nearly every deceased Fellow and Foreign Member have appeared in Obituary Notices of Fellows of the Royal Society (1932-1954) and Biographical Memoirs of Fellows of the Royal Society (1955 onward).
This resource provides information about people from antiquity to 1983, from resources from 1946 to 1983, in a single, easy-to-use database. Research people in the headlines or throughout history; find information on notables across all disciplines and subject areas with this practical resource.
Published since 1877, Biographical Memoirs provide the life histories and selected bibliographies of deceased National Academy of Sciences members. Colleagues familiar with the subject's work write these memoirs and as such, the series provides a biographical history of science in America.
Provides full text of selected newspapers worldwide, trade publications, legal periodicals, and legal scholarly journals. Includes company directories, financial reports, quotations, biographies, almanac, federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions, accounting statements/guidelines, and news transcripts.
The online dictionary contains 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000. An illustrated collection of remarkable people in anywalk of life excluding living people, it includes not just the great and good, but people who have left a mark for any reason, good, bad, or bizarre.
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) is making the archival collections of leaders in biomedical research and public health available on its Profiles in Science web site. The site, launched in September 1998, promotes the use of the Internet for research and teaching in the history of biomedical science. Many of the collections have been donated to NLM and contain published and unpublished items, including books, journal volumes, pamphlets, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, audiotapes, video clips, and other materials.
An Abstract/Citation Database, PubMed indexes citations for articles from MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE as well as out-of-scope citations from additional general science and chemistry journals whose life sciences articles are indexed in MEDLINE. PubMed also indexes additional life science journal articles that submit full text to PubMed Central.