HUL 494/598: Why is the Amazon Burning? Visions of the Amazon: Imaginaries and Realities: Arizona Resources: Books and Databases
Books and Library Databases
Curator
Books
Be sure to search ASU's Library Catalog for titles. Here is a selection of books that may be on interest:
August, Jack L. Dividing Western Waters Mark Wilmer and Arizona V. California . Fort Worth, Tex: TCU Press, 2007. [Full Text available online]
Eddy, Frank W., and M. E. Cooley. Cultural and Environmental History of Cienega Valley, Southeastern Arizona . Tucson, Ariz: University of Arizona Press, 1983. Print.
Einberger, Scott. With Distance in His Eyes : the Environmental Life and Legacy of Stewart Udall . Reno, Nevada: University of Nevada Press, 2018. Print.
El-Ashry, Mohamed T., and Diana C. Gibbons. Water and Arid Lands of the Western United States . Cambridge [Cambridgeshire: New York, 1988. Print.
Fireman, Bert M. Arizona, Historic Land . 1st ed. New York: Knopf, 1982. Print.
Gammage, Grady. The Future of the Suburban City : Lessons from Sustaining Phoenix . Washington, DC: Island Press, 2016. Print.
Gober, Patricia., and Barbara. Trapido-Lurie. Metropolitan Phoenix Place Making and Community Building in the Desert . Philadelphia, PA: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2006. Print. [Full Text available online]
James, Timothy, Anthony John Evans, and Eva Madly. The Economic Impact of the Central Arizona Project to the State of Arizona . Tempe, Arizona: W.P. Carey School of Business, Arizona State University, 2014. Print. [Full Text available online]
Kupel, Douglas E. (Douglas Edward). Fuel for Growth : Water and Arizona’s Urban Environment . Tucson [Ariz: University of Arizona Press, 2003. Print.
Logan, Michael F. The Lessening Stream : an Environmental History of the Santa Cruz River . Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 2002. Print.
Logan, Michael F. Desert Cities : the Environmental History of Phoenix and Tucson . Pittsburgh, Pa: University of Pittsburgh Press, 2006. Print.
Schipper, Janine. Disappearing Desert : the Growth of Phoenix and the Culture of Sprawl . Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 2008. Print.
Walker, Henry P. (Henry Pickering), and Don. Bufkin. “Historical Atlas of Arizona .” Norman: University of Oklahoma Press 1986, Print. [Full text available online]
Ward, Evan R. (Evan Ray). Border Oasis : Water and the Political Ecology of the Colorado River Delta, 1940-1975 . Tucson [Ariz: University of Arizona Press, 2003. Print.
Webb, Robert H. Requiem for the Santa Cruz : an Environmental History of an Arizona River . Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 2014. Print.
Library Databases
Databases – search using these library databases for journal articles:
Tempe Bridge, ca. 1910
CP MCLMB A642
Greater Arizona Collection
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
