NEWS - Finding and Tracking Reliable News
Your Librarian
HOURS:
Mon-Fri................7:00 am - 3:00 pm
or by appointment via phone, Zoom, Slack, Skype (no in person at the moment)
Your Librarian
News
Finding and tracking a news story of any era takes time and patience. There is a certain amount of bias in any media source. The point is to find reliable and credible sources. ASU Library has over 70 online news sources considered reliable and credible.
For the years before these publications were available online, please check the Journal titles to see what we have and the format.
One source you might find useful about US media bias is Vanessa Otero's (practicing patent attorney) Media Bias Chart. This is her opinion of where news sources fall on a continuum from liberal (left side of the chart) to conservative (right side of the chart). See Vanessa Otero's most up to date chart along with the older versions, which started in 2016.
AllSides.com also has a Media Bias chart. This web site promotes getting news from outside your usual bubble of news.
Internationally, the World Press Freedom Index put out by the Reporters Without Boarders group indicates governmental or ruling power control of the media. This does not rank by left or right leaning or bias.
Please note: Access to ASU Library's subscription databases and Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery services for articles not owned or owned in print require users to be current ASU students, faculty or staff for authentication.
Access may also be available over the ASU Guest wifi on ASU campuses for some subscription databases.
Major Current Event News Sources
To search several newspapers at the same time, we recommend these news databases.
If you are looking for specific time periods, be sure to set the publication DATE LIMIT in the ADVANCED search.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from several thousand U.S. and international newspapers and newswire sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Also includes broadcast transcripts, business magazines and miscellaneous other source types.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Provides full text of selected newspapers worldwide, trade publications, legal periodicals, and legal scholarly journals. Includes company directories, financial reports, quotations, biographies, almanac, federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions, accounting statements/guidelines, and news transcripts. - ProQuest News & Newspapers This link opens in a new windowMaximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Allows for cross-searching of the Alt-PressWatch and Ethnic NewsWatch indexes as well as current Arizona Republic, Barron's, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Wall Street Journal Asia, Wall Street Journal Europe and Chicago Tribune and historical Atlanta Constitution, Guardian, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Observer, Washington Post, Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call and Post, Los Angeles Sentinel, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, and Pittsburgh Courier
- CRL -- Center for Research Libraries NewspapersThe CRL Catalog has a search function for newspapers. An excellent source for hard to find newspapers. As a CRL member we can borrow the microfilm of these newspapers we don't own.
Arizona News
- Arizona Republic This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1999 +
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Contains full text of most articles, editorials, notices, and obituaries from the Arizona Republic. Does not include images and advertisements. For access to older locally-networked articles, 1987- June 2009, see: CD-News: Arizona Republic, which can only be accessed on an ASU Library computer.
- Arizona Republic, 1930- on microfilm
Especially useful for the years not online - 1930-1998 or articles not online due to Tasini. Reels or specific articles are requestable through Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery. Index to the archive is online at Arizona Republic Historical Newspapers, 1890- , a subscription fee required to see articles, but getting a date to look on microfilm is free. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Arizona Republican This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1890-1922
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
The Arizona Republican is the major Arizona and Phoenix metropolitan newspaper and later became the Arizona Republic.
- Arizona Republican, 1890-1930 on microfilm
Especially useful for the years not online - 1923-1930. Reels and articles are requestable through Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery. Index to the archive is online at Arizona Republic Historical Newspapers, 1890-, a subscription fee required to see articles, but getting a date to look on microfilm is free.
- Arizona Newspapers in Access World NewsFind the Tucson newspapers, the East Valley Tribune, and more! For older Arizona News, use the Arizona Historical Digital Newspapers.
- Arizona Historical Digital NewspapersPrimarily covers Arizona newspapers from 1880-1922. Some newspapers are included for later decades of the 20th Century.
- ASU Newspaper Index This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1906+
Maximum Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Indexes selected articles from Arizona State University newspapers: Tempe Normal School Student, Arizona State Teachers College Collegian, ASU State Press, ASU Insight, ASU Insight West, ASU Insight East.
Business Newspapers
- Arizona Capitol TimesAvailable through multiple sources. Reports on the Arizona state legislature activities.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
