Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

ENG 598: Holocaust and Genocide in Literature

Research Databases

Research Databases & Specific Collections (Documents, Images, Audio, Video)

YIVO Digital Archive on Jewish Life in Poland: Documents, images, audio and video files documenting the Jewish community in Poland.

Collections of the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee (1914-present): Records of the American Jewish community's overseas rescue, relief, and rehabilitation activities.

​DigiBaeck German-Jewish History Online (16th Century-present): Digitized collections of the Leo Baeck Institute in New York.

Judaica Europeana:  A section of European Project that's dedicated to Jewish life in European cities. Includes documents, photos, and online exhibits from libraries and museums in Europe and Israel.

Exploring the Vinius Ghetto: A digital mapping tool that uses geographical science and technology to research the Vilna Ghetto.

German History in Documents and Images, Nazi Germany: Documents, images and maps. The German Historical Institute, Washington, DC.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook: Full-text and multimedia files; check out the Selected Sources Sections (left-hand bar). Part of the Internet Modern History Sourcebook, complied by Fordham University (last updated in 1999).

Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945–1950: Primary source documents about post-war Europe and the refugees, including surveys, leaflets, reports of relief workers, US zone reports, War Office memos, Exodus Camp records, Displaced Persons Assembly Centre weekly reports and correspondence of relief organizations.

A Teachers' Guide to the Holocaust: An overview of the people and events of the Holocaust through photographs, documents, art, music, movies, and literature. The Florida Center of Instructional Technology, College of Education, University of South Florida.

Documents
EuroDocs: Includes links and full-text documents covering the European history. Extensive section about Germany. Provided by the Harold Lee Library, Brigham Young University.

Holocaust Rescue and Relief: Digitized Records of the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee: Digitized collection of an organization that aided displaced persons in Europe during and after World War II. The Andover-Harvard Theological Library.

Nazi Propaganda: 1933-1945: National Socialist propaganda documents in English translation. The German propaganda Archive, Calvin College.

Photographs

The Lodz Ghetto Photographs of Henryk Ross: Thousands of images from the Henryk Ross collection at the Art Gallery of Ontario, accompanied with four lesson plans and resources related to modern human rights issues.

Roman Vishniac Online Archive: Photos taken by Roman Vishniac (1897-1990) since the 1920s in Berlin. 1935–1938 photos are from Jewish communities in Central and Eastern Europe, where Vishniac represented the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee (JDC).
 
Encyclopaedia Judaica (Second Edition, 2007): Full-text articles, as well as photos. 

Published Documents

To search anthologies of published sources, go to OneSearch advanced search. Type "Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- History" on the first row and adjust your search from All Fields to Subject Terms. Put "Sources" on the second row and and adjust your search to Genre. WorldCat may be searched the same way (advanced search).

The following are just a few items from our collections.