Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


Tourism Development & Management

This guide will lead you to information resources for Tourism Development & Management.

Article Databases & Indexes


Most Useful Resources for Recreation, Tourism, Leisure, and Special Events Planning:

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) (1975 ) Covers a wide range of academic subjects. Features full text for selected journals, abstracts and indexing for over 3,600 scholarly journals, and coverage of The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and The Christian Science Monitor.

eHRAF World Cultures (Electronic Human Relations Area File) Covers ethnography by culture and subject, including family relationships, political organization, ideas about gender, etc.

LeisureTourism.com LeisureTourism.com is the web-based version of Leisure, Recreation and Tourism Abstracts, the most appropriate sources for identifying articles in those subject areas. From the LeisureTourism.com homepage click-on the link labeled "Abstracts Database".

 Passport GMID This database contains information on key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers. It is an integrated on-line information system covering over 350 markets and 207 countries.


Also Useful...

ABI/Inform Business, management and training

Business and Company Resource Center (1980 ) Indexes trade journals & regional business newspapers. Includes company directory information & Investext analysts' reports. Use for Finance, Acquisitions & Mergers, Trade, Money Management, Local & Regional Trends, Investments, Banking, etc.

CAB Abstracts Plus CAB Abstracts is a comprehensive database in the applied life sciences, covering the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. CAB Abstracts contains over 5 million abstracts from 1973 to present. CAB Abstracts Plus provides full text access to selected articles, conference proceedings, and reports via CAB Abstracts.

Cinahl/Ebsco Host:  (For articles on nutrition, use the "Special Interest" limiter in the search interface; select "nutrition."

Communication & Mass Media Complete: The CMMC is a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields.

ERIC Focuses on educational research.

ProQuest Statistical Insight:   Indexes statistical information produced by the state governments & selected private organizations. Sources Covered: Statistical Reference Index (SRI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and American Statistics Index (ASI) -- covering associations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state governments, university research centers, international non-governmental organizations and international intergovernmental organizations.

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service International)
Public affairs, public management, policy, and any topic which may be discussed as a public issue.

Physical Education Index This database is an index to materials from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, and patents on physical education, sports law, kinesiology, physicaltherapy, etc.

PsycINFO The premier source for psychology and mental health research.

SBRnet: Sports Business Research Network This database has market research reports, consumer surveys, news releases, government data, and articles. The topics covered include: Apparel, Archery, Attendance, Backpacking, Baseball, Basketball, Bicycling, Binoculars, Bowling, Camping, Cheerleading, Climbing,Exercise/Fitness, Eyewear, Fishing, Football, Footwear, Golf, Hiking, Hunting, Ice/Figure Skating, Ice Hockey, Inflatable Boats, In-Line Skating, Licensing, Martial Arts, Outdoor, Outlet Type- Total, Paintball, Racquetball, Retail Sales (Top Chains), Running/Jogging, Skateboarding, Skiing,Snowboarding, Snowshoeing, Soccer, Softball, Sports Medicine, Tennis, Volleyball, Water Skiing, Water Sports, Women�s Sports, Youth Sports, etc.

SPORT Discus (1975+) Covers all aspects of sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation. Includes sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and other sport- and fitness-related topics.

Social Services Abstracts Focuses on sociology and social issues.

WDI Online (World Development Indicators Online)
Data source on the global economy. Contains statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data since 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.

Wiley Interscience (Physiology Online)

Hours and Locations