Skip to main content
Login to LibApps


History

History Resources covering North America, Europe, Africa and the Middle East

Bibliographies

Bibliographies identify research that has been done on various subjects; they often cite primary materials that are available in manuscript or printed form. Graduate students must consult these works in order to avoid missing significant materials that may not be in this library. Undergraduates will also discover that using these tools will help them make better use of this collection, because bibliographies often bring together, in one list, material that may be scattered throughout the library, in books, articles, or government documents. 

 Bibliographic Index: A Cumulative Bibliography of Bibliographies. New York: Wilson, 1937-. 
Z 1002 .B595 HAYDEN REF (located on Table 1A)
A subject list of bibliographies published separately or appearing as parts of books and periodicals. 

Bibliographies in History. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1988. 
E 178 .B53x 1988 vol. 1 HAYDEN REF
An index to bibliographies in history journals and dissertations covering the United States and Canada. 

Henige, David. Serial Bibliographies and Abstracts in History: An Annotated Guide. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1986. 
D 20 .H497x HAYDEN REF

A bibliography of almost 900 abstract journals and serial bibliographies (i.e., those published at regular intervals), including bibliographical surveys published in journals. Use to locate specialized bibliographies on any subject. 


Merriam, Louise A.. United States History: A Bibliography of the New Writings on American History.  Manchester: Manchester University Press, 1995
E 178 .M59x 1995 HAYDEN REF

Arranged in broad chronological sections with subject specific categories, this bibliographycovers history scholarship in the 1980's and early 1990's. 


Writings on American History. Washington: American Historical Association, 1902- 1990. 
E 171 .W69X HAYDEN REF
The most complete bibliography for the period 1902-1961, with both author and subject indexes. From 1962 on, the citations are for articles only and are arranged chronologically, geographically and by broad subject categories, with no subject indexes. 

Hours and Locations