History

Indexes biographical information on notable people from antiquity to 1983, found in resources published from 1946 to 1983.

A digital resource dedicated to historiography and the examination of historical theory and methods using a global approach, featuring scholarship in the form of exclusive articles contributed by historians from many different countries.

Access thousands of digital historical documents from the UK National Archives, focusing on the political and national heritage of East and Southeast Asia, the Near and Middle East, North America, and the Slavic, Balkan, and Caucasus regions.

Cambridge Histories Online provides full text online access to volumes of the Cambridge Histories reference series. (Current coverage includes works published through 2016). It includes political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects. This resource is particularly useful for providing in-depth historical context. It is also a great resource for online history students.

A gateway resource that includes: Grove Art Online, a reference for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the 1990s; The Oxford Companion to Western Art; The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Covers information on artists, worldwide art, artistic techniques, and other art-related topics.

A guide to scholarly literature in the field of art and architectural history, covering major categories of research with bibliographies and recommended resources.

An illustrated collection of biographies of individuals who shaped British history and culture, highlighting figures whose impacts—positive, negative, or unusual—left a lasting legacy.

An ambitious project that shapes law into a global discipline, capturing the evolving research on law from diverse methodological perspectives. It leverages online publication for quick dissemination and systemic interconnection. Coverage from 2017.

Combines encyclopedias and scholarly reference works from Oxford University Press into a single, cross-searchable resource.

Features unique and rare eighteenth-century periodicals from archives in the UK and the US, showcasing the diversity and evolution of publishing between 1685 and 1835. While primarily UK-based, it also includes publications from other English-speaking regions like India.

International repository for archaeological data and resources.

A collection of over 1,600 streaming videos, including documentaries and series covering a wide range of topics such as science, history, art, and business from one of television’s most trusted networks.

Offers open access to a curated collection of rare texts, maps, photographs, and audiovisual materials from diverse global cultures, maintained digitally by the Library of Congress.

Provides historical context and diverse perspectives on border and migration issues across over 30 global border areas, featuring 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images covering topics like refugee camps, human trafficking, and undocumented migration​.

Open source database of terrorism events since 1970, published by the University of Maryland's National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START).

Multilingual database indexing journal articles, essay collections, and conference proceedings on the Middle Ages in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.

Explore the impacts of imperialism on both dominant and subordinate societies. With over a hundred titles, it focuses on cross-disciplinary work in areas such as culture, gender, law, science, language, and migration.

Free, curated teaching materials to help college educators integrate premodern critical race studies into their courses, including lectures, syllabi, and classroom activities.

A bibliographic research database offering citations and summaries of articles on urban affairs, community development, urban history, and more, crucial to urban studies. It serves as an essential resource for studying cities and regions across various relevant disciplines.

Full-text English-language translations of global news and reports from local, non-U.S. media covering political, socioeconomic, scientific, technical and environmental developments.

This database links Latin terms to vernacular equivalents (English, French, German) and offers deep connections between dictionary entries, allowing users to explore meanings, translations, and historical word usage in context.

A searchable corpus of Latin literature from antiquity to modern times, including classical, patristic, medieval, and neo-Latin texts in edited versions.

Searchable collection of classical Greek and Latin literature with facing-page English translations, enhanced by introductions, commentary, cross-referencing, and tools for reading, annotating, and sharing

From the first book published in English in 1473 to 1700, the EEBO contains over 125,000 titles printed in the British Isles and British North America.