History

This collection covers the years from 1947 to 1980, encompassing files on all the countries of South Asia: principally India and Pakistan, but also Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ceylon/Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim and the Maldives. The collection is split into three, chronologically based parts, focusing on a variety of subjects and topics including the politics of Kashmir, India's relationship with the U.S., as well as Pakistan and India's regional neighbors, economic development policies and the relationship between Hindus and Muslims after independence.

Western perspectives on Chinese and Southeast Asian history and culture through primary sources from traders, missionaries, diplomats, and travelers spanning the 18th to 20th centuries.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Includes a complete set of digitized images of all the Dead Sea Scrolls texts from the eleven caves surrounding Khirbet Qumran.

An e-book collection of leading authors from around the Arab world. Includes over 11,000 titles. Classified by 27 genres and subject areas. Searchable by author, title, subject and/or keywords.

Western perspectives on Japan's political, cultural, and social history through primary sources from writers, diplomats, missionaries, and travelers spanning the 15th to 20th centuries.

The revolution which overthrew the millennia-old imperial system heralded a period of turmoil in China which would last for the best part of forty years. Encapsulated by the rivalry between the Nationalist Chiang Kai-shek and the Communist Mao Zedong, the turmoil of warlordism, competing governments, civil wars and Japanese invasion ended only when the Communist Party emerged as masters of a reunified China in 1949. Throughout most of this period the major European powers, the United States and Japan maintained considerable political and economic interests in China, most notably in the foreign concessions in Shanghai and other ‘treaty ports’. The years following the communist revolution were to see upheavals of a similar magnitude, as the civil war was followed by the economic chaos and mass starvation of the Great Leap Forward, and then Mao’s efforts to return to prominence through the socio-political alterations of the Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution. Due to the long-unique nature of the relationship between Britain and China, these formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials, provide unprecedented levels of detail into one of the most turbulent centuries of Chinese history.

Features 10,000 titles and 12,500 editions from China's pre-Qin to Republican periods, providing full-text and images for side-by-side comparisons of digitized texts and original manuscripts, including rare and variant editions across multiple fields.

Features digitized propaganda pamphlets and visual materials used for political messaging and public education in early Communist China.

This bibliographical index database provides full text search capability to more than 600 million volumes of e-books and other materials including dissertations, journals, magazines, web pages and newspapers. The first 17 pages of each e-book are available for preview. Document delivery is also available.