A reference or citation is a written description of a bibliographic work and has two distinct purposes:
Although many references in the online environment have links to the full text, sometimes the links are missing or do not function, or you may be given a written list of citations without the URL addresses. In these cases, you'll need to know how to find an item using its citation.
The instructions below show examples of citations for the different types of documents in which engineering information appears; the citations are in the IEEE citation style. Following the citations are instructions for finding the document including what databases to use and what part of the citation to search in those databases. There will usually be two or more recommended databases for each document type; if you do not find the document in the first database, try the second one, etc., before using the Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery services.
Example of a citation for a book chapter ...
D. M. Flournoy, "Top Ten Things to Know About Space Solar Power," in Solar Power Satellites. New York: Springer, 2012, ch. 10, pp. 87-100.
Example of a citation for a chapter within an edited book ...
J. H. Choy, J. M. Oh and D. H. Park, "Biomedical Applications of Layered Double Hydroxides in Bruce," in Low Dimensional Solids, W. Duncan, D. O'Hare, and R. I. Walton, Eds. New York: Wiley, 2010, pp. 163-187.
Example of a book citation ...
R. Scott, In the wake of Tacoma: Suspension bridges and the quest for aerodynamic stability. Reston, Va: ASCE Press, 2001.
To find the book use:
Recommendations for long titles:
Example of a citation to a conference proceedings that has a unique title ...
Y.M. Chun, et al., Eds, Sustainable construction materials and technologies: International Conference on Sustainable Construction Materials and Technologies, 11-13 June 2007, Coventry, UK. London, Taylor and Francis, 2007.
To find the conference proceedings use:
Example of a citation to a conference proceedings that has a generic title (ex. proceedings, papers, digest, etc.) ...
S.S. Rao, P.S. Sundararaghavan, and A. Kunnathur, Eds, Proceedings of the Conference on Gateways and Barriers to Competitiveness.Toledo, OH, University of Toledo, 1991.
To find the conference proceedings use:
Example of a dissertation or thesis citation ...
R.L.Daugherty, Thin film transistor control circuitry for MEMS acoustic transducers. M.S. Thesis, Electrical Engineering, Arizona State University, Tempe, 2012.
To find the dissertation or thesis use:
2). ASU's Digital Repository (ASU dissertations/theses only)
Search TITLE as KEYWORD PHRASE (within quotes)
Example: "Thin film transistor control circuitry for MEMS acoustic transducers"
Example of an encyclopedia article citation ...
A. R. Hoffman, "Solar Energy," in Macmillan Encyclopedia of Energy, vol. 3, J. Zumerchik, Ed. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2001, vol 3, pp. 1050-1063.
To find the encyclopedia article, use:
Example of a government document citation ...
NIOSH, Occupational Exposure to Carbon Nanotubes and Nanofibers (Current Intelligence Bulletin 65), Cincinnati, OH: Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease and Prevention, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, 2013.
To find the government document, use:
Example of a journal article citation ...
R.H. Plaut, "Snap loads and torsional oscillations of the original Tacoma Narrows Bridge," Journal of Sound and Vibration, vol. 309, no. 3, pp. 613-636, 2008
To find the journal article use:
Example of a newspaper article citation ...
S. Cohen, and A. Geller, "Factors prevented more bridge fatalities," Tulsa World, pp. A.12, August 4, 2007.
To find this newspaper article use:
Example of a patent citation ...
H. Shimizu, et al., "Reciprocation type linear driving actuator and power toothbrush using the same," U.S. Patent 7474018, January 6, 2009.
To find the patent use:
Example of a citation for an industry standard ...
Standard Specification for Copper-Cobalt-Beryllium Alloy and Copper-Nickel-Beryllium Alloy Strip and Sheet, ASTM Standard B768-11.
To find the standard, consult the library guide for Standards.
Example of a technical report citation ...
M. Nelson and C. Shipbaugh, The Potential of Nanotechnology for Molecular Manufacturing, RAND Corp, Santa Monica CA, Monograph Rep. MR-615-RC, 1995.
To find the technical report, use:
Note: technical reports are seldom published and therefore can be hard to find. If the report did not show up in either Library One Search or Google, send the citation to Ask a Librarian and ask us if we can identify report and see if it's available.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.