Many health professionals use a variety of measurement and assessment tools in their work and research. These tests and measures include surveys, scales, assessments, diagnostic tools, and other instruments used to assess or evaluate a variety of attributes.
Published (commercial) tests and measures must typically be purchased directly from a publisher or commercial vendor. In many cases you must qualify as an administrator of the test before your purchase will be approved.
Unpublished (non-commercial) tests and measures are not published and sold by a publisher or company. In some cases, these unpublished measures will appear in journal articles and books (many times in the appendices of these materials).
Keep in mind that finding the full text of a specific test or measure can be a complicated process. In some cases, you may simply find the full text of a test or measure in a journal article, book, or one of our databases listed below. In other cases, you may only find reference to a test, or a sample of a measurement tool. In these cases, you may have to purchase the tool, or contact the author to see if you can obtain a copy. If you need direct assistance when searching for a tool, please contact your Health Sciences Librarians.
Uses & Permissions
Any sort of test and measure should be administered ethically and as the creators of the assessment intended.
NOTE: All of the titles on this list contain some actual test instruments.
Baer, Lee, and Mark A. Blais. Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health. New York: Humana Press, 2010. RC 473 .P78 H36 2010 NOBLE REF
Boyle, Gregory J., Gerald Matthews, and Donald H. Saklofske. Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Constructs. Academic Press, 2013. ONLINE
Davis, Clive M. Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 1998. NOBLE LIBRARY HQ 60 .H36 1998 REF
Educational Testing Service. Tests in Microfiche. Princeton, N.J.: Educational Testing Service, 1975 – 2004. LB 3051 .T449 REF
This is a microfiche collection of actual tests and measures. The fiche collection is downstairs, but the indexes (which are very thin yellow paperback volumes) are on the Test Table.
Fischer, Joel, Kevin Corcoran, and Kevin Corcoran. Measures for Clinical Practice and Research: A Sourcebook. 4th ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2007. BF 176 .C66 2007 REF
Johnson, Dale L. A Compendium of Psychosocial Measures. New York: Springer Pub., 2010. ONLINE
Maruish, Mark E. The Use of Psychological Testing for Treatment Planning and Outcomes Assessment. 3rd ed. Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum, 2004. RC 473 .P79 U83 2004 v.2 & v.3 REF Volume 1 (General Considerations) is ONLINE; Volumes 2 and 3 are located in Noble Reference RC473.P79 U83 2004 and contain some instruments.
Miller, Delbert C., and Neil J. Salkind. Handbook of Research Design & Social Measurement. 6th ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif.; London: Sage Publications, 2002. H 62 .M44 2002 REF
Robinson, John P., Phillip R. Shaver, and Lawrence S. Wrightsman. Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Attitudes. Vol. 1. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1991. ONLINE HERE
Rubin, Rebecca B., Philip Palmgreen, and Howard E. Sypher. Communication Research Measures II : A Sourcebook. Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2009. ONLINE HERE **NOTE**: There is also a volume one that contains a different set of measures. Volume One is only available in print, but it can be found in Hayden Reserve and other campus libraries.
Rush, A. John, et al. Handbook of Psychiatric Measures. 2nd ed. Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Pub., 2008. RC 473 .P78 A46 2008 REF
Touliatos, John, Barry F. Perlmutter, and Murray A. Straus. Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques. 3 vols. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage Publications, 2001. HQ 728 .H267 2001 REF
American Psychological Association. Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures. New York: Behavioral Pub. 1974 – 2008. BF 431 .G625 REF
This multi-volume set is an index to journal articles that include information about tests and measures. It provides a way to identify tests on a particular topic; there is a subject index in each volume. Validity and reliability information is given, if available. There is no guarantee that the test itself will be reproduced in full in the article, but in some cases it is. In any case it provides enough information to decide whether or not the test is worth pursuing, either by finding more research studies that have used the instrument or by contacting the author to request a copy.
Boyle, Gregory J;Matthews, Gerald;Saklofske, Ph.D, Donald H. (2008). SAGE Handbook of Personality Theory and Assessment. SAGE Publications Ltd. ONLINE
Contains in-depth descriptive and evaluative information on a wide variety of personality tests. A great resource.
Fredman, Norman, Robert Sherman. Handbook of Measurements for Marriage and Family Therapy. Brunner/Mazel, New York, 1987. ONLINE
Johnson, Orval G. Tests and Measurements in Child Development, Handbook II. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass Publishers, 1976. BF 722 .J64 1976 v.1 & v.2 REF
McDowell, Ian. Measuring health: A guide to rating scales and questionnaires. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006. RA 408.5 .M38 2006 HAYDEN REF (also copies at Downtown, Poly, and West)
Hersen, Michel. Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment. 4 vols. Hoboken, N.J: John Wiley & Sons, 2004. BF176 .C654 2004 HAYDEN REF
Test Critiques. Kansas City, MO: Test Corporation of America, 1984-1996. vols. 1-10. BF 176 .T418 HAYDEN REF
No longer being published, but one of the best sources of test reviews; similar to Mental Measurements Yearbook, but not limited to commercial tests.
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.