Login to LibApps


Public Administration: Selected Databases for Public Affairs

How to get started on your research
Subjects: Social Sciences

Article Databases

Selected Databases

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online (1991+) Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.

Criminal Justice Abstracts (1968+) Covers major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. Includes informative summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided.

CQ Library (1983+) A service from Congressional Quarterly Inc. that provides access to two of CQ's premier publications, the CQ Weekly and The CQ Researcher.

Index to Current Urban Documents Includes published guide to the reports and research that are generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in approximately 500 selected cities in the United States and Canada .

Left Index (1982+) Indexes leftist & radical media from around the world. Covers political, economic, social & cultural issues, including the labor movement, ecology & environment, race & ethnicity, sociology, art, philosophy, history, education, & globalization.

LexisNexis Academic Full text of over 5,000 newspapers, trade publications, legal periodicals, and professional journals. Includes company directories/financials; Hoover reports; quotations; almanac; federal/state laws, regulations, court opinions; accounting guidelines; & news transcripts.

LexisNexis Congressional Research Digital Collection (2004+) contains background material used by Congress: CRS reports (from 2004 to present) and Committee Prints (from 2004 to present). Congressional committee prints are publications issued by congressional committees on topics related to their legislative or research activities. Committee Prints include: monographs, investigative field reports, draft reports and bills, analysis of bills, statistical materials, confidential staff reports, and hearing publications, etc. Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports are in-depth research reports that provide background information for Congressional investigations and legislative proposals.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCRJS) This collection is a federally funded resource offering justice, substance abuse, and drug policy information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

PAIS International (1972+) Index to political, economic, & social issues in current debate. Covers public & social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, & other social sciences.

Polling the Nations Online The database includes compilation of questions and responses from national, state, local and special surveys covering subjects from social and political concerns to economic issues. Information is gathered from professional polling organizations, television networks, universities, newspapers, businesses and associations.

Public Documents Masterfile (1700s to present) a searchable, comprehensive index of federal, state, local, and some international public documents, spanning over 200 years of publication. The database includes: Title information for federal government documents from 1789 forward with SuDocs numbers. Hundreds of thousands of subject index entries from B.P. Poore's "A Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the United States ", September 5, 1774 - March 4, 1881, John H. Hickcox's "Monthly Catalogue", and the GPO Monthly Catalog.

Full bibliographic records for all post July 1976 GPO documents.

Full bibliographic records for public documents held by the Library of Congress from all sources and for all dates. Initial files of full bibliographic records for state, provincial and international public documents.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975+) Supplies up-to-date bibliographic information and research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Finding the Full Text of Articles

The yellow "Get it @ ASU" links or other full-text links within our databases should take you to the article if we have it. But if it doesn't, it's a good idea to check further. There's a good chance that we might still have the article you need. There are several ways that you can do this:

Search the title of the article in Google Scholar. If you put the title of the article in quotation marks into the search box it will be a little more specific, but that's not always necessary. Usually just a simple cut and paste will work. Use the "get it @ ASU" links within Google Scholar to take you to the article. 

Search the title of the article in Library One Search. Same procedure as above. Note that this will only find the article if ASU has it, so it's more limiting than a Google Scholar search.

If those methods don't work, you can make a final check using our our Journal Title Lookup feature to lead you to the volumes of that particular journal that we have access to online.

These are also the methods you can use to find an article if you have gotten a reference from another source, such as a bibliography, and already know the citation information (journal name, volume number, date, etc.).

Hours and Locations