Computer Science and Engineering
Articles (Journal) and Conference Papers
Citations and full-text of articles from Association for Computing Machinery journals, magazines, and conference proceedings.Access to citations is free to the public; full-text is by subscription only.
Covers the entire spectrum of engineering, including journals, conference papers & technical reports. Besides applied engineering, coverage also extends to manufacturing, qualitycontrol, and engineering management issues.
Contains full-text of journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards from the Institute of Electrical and ElectronicsEngineers (IEEE) and Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE).
Provides over 9 million citations and abstracts to journal articles, conference papers, books, reports and dissertations in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, information technology, production,manufacturing and mechanical engineering, it also has significant coverage in areas such as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics.
Access to Mathematical Reviews & Current Mathematical Publications. Indexes bibliographic data for recent & forthcoming publications.
Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references covering thousands of arts and humanities journals, scientific and technical journals, and social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines.
Books
To Find Books in the ASU Library:
- Use the ASU Library's One Search
As the name implies, "Library One Search" locates items from across the ASU Library's collections and includes not just books but also articles from scholarly journals, trade magazines and newspapers, chapters from reference books, dissertations/theses, maps, data sets, photographs, government documents and much more. New material is being added almost every day.
Search titles, keywords or authors in the single search box; an advanced search feature is also available. When the results list is displayed, use the Content Type option in left column to limit the results to books/e-books.
- If the book is available in print, clicking on the title will take you to the ASU Library Catalog where you'll in which library the book is located, it's call number and whether it is checked out. Use the Request on the catalog record to recall a book that is checked out or to have a book shipped to the ASU Library of your choice.
- If the book is available online, clicking on the title or on the "Full Text" link will take you directly to the book.
- If the book is available in print, clicking on the title will take you to the ASU Library Catalog where you'll in which library the book is located, it's call number and whether it is checked out. Use the Request on the catalog record to recall a book that is checked out or to have a book shipped to the ASU Library of your choice.
To Find Books In Other Libraries:
- Use WorldCat.org
If the ASU Library doesn't have the book that you need, request the book via our Interlibrary Loan Service.
Many e-books can be found through the ASU Library Catalog.
To limit your search to e-books:
- After entering your keywords and viewing the results screen
- Select Full Text Online from the availability subheading on the right hand side and then select Books from the Resource Type heading.
Results will include a link to access the book.
*Many of our electronic books are listed in the catalog however, we also have several e-book collection in which you can use the native search engine for these collections:
Books from major publishers in all subject areas.
Books from major publishers in all subject areas.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Full text of many books published by IEEE in addition to journal and conference articles and standards
Knovel
Over 2,000 science and engineering handbooks in which you can find facts, formula and property data.
Full-text of selected journals, books, book series, and reference works and the Online Archives Collection from science publisher Springer.
Synthesis Digital Library
Innovative online information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Dictionaries:
Hutchinson dictionary of computing and the internet
Abingdon : Helicon Pub., c2005.
Dictionary of information security
Rockland, MA : Syngress, c2006.
Encyclopedias:
Encyclopedia of 20th-century technology
New York : Routledge, 2005.
Encyclopedia of multimedia
New York, N.Y.; London : Springer, c2006.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Scholarpedia: an online peer-reviewed, open source encylopedia
Free web-based dictionaries:
BABEL: A Glossary of Computer Oriented Abbreviations and Acronyms
BABEL can be used online or can be downloaded freely for personal use only.
Free On-Line Dictionary of Computing
According to the site, the Free On-Line Dictionary of Computing contains more than 14000 definitions of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, conventions, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions, companies, projects, products, history, and anthing else that has to do with computing.
This free online dictionary, part of the internet.com network, has up-to-date definitions that reflect current trends in the field.
Programming & Machine Learning Resources
Getting Started
- Beginning Programming (2005) by Adrian and Kathie Kingsley-Hughes (online in ebrary)
- Library Catalog search Beginning Programming to locate books in print and online
Specific Languages
- Search the name of the language in
Machine Learning Resources:
Standards
For more detailed information about standards at the ASU Library, please see the Standards Guide
IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Full text of IEEE standards available in IEEEXplore
ANSI (American National Standards Institute)
SEMI (semi.org; "global industry association serving the manufacturing supply chain for the micro- and nano-electronics industries")
ISO (International Organization for Standardization)
Search Engines for Standards
ANSI Search (formerly NSSN)
Technical Reports
To identify what technical reports exist on a particular topic, use:
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
Contains over 2 million research citations from 1964 to the present. In addition to technical reports, also covers some computer products, software, video and audio material. Covers all subject areas of U.S. federally sponsored research and select foreign governments.
- Department of Defense (DoD):
- Department of Energy (DOE):
- Science Accelerator
Searches all of the following databases from one search interface:
- Science Accelerator
- Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
- Geological Survey (USGS)
- National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
- Science.gov
Searches over 36 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to 1,850+ scientific Websites. Covers all types of government publications in addition to technical reports.
- Worldwide Science
A single search interface for freely available English-language documents on the web; participating databases include those from: Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, India, Japan, Korea, Netherlands, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, United Kingdom, and United States (science.gov).
To find the full text of a specific report:
- Some technical reports are freely available on the Web at the sponsoring agency's website, try:
- Using Google or another Internet search engine to find the report either by title, author, or report number
- Go to the sponsoring agency's website and browse/search the site
- TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library)
An ongoing project to digitize technical reports issued prior to 1975. As of September 2008, mostly NBS (National Bureau of Standards) and some AEC (Atomic Energy Commission) reports were available. U.S. Bureau of Mines may appear soon.
- The ASU Library have some technical reports in the collections of Noble Library (Tempe Campus) and in our Government Documents Department (3rd floor, Hayden Library, Tempe Campus) in either print, microfiche, and/or CD. If the document(s) you need is not on the Web, check for availability by calling either Gov Docs (480-965-3390) or Noble Library (480-965-2600) or using our Ask a Librarian's service at http://lib.asu.edu/ask-a-librarian.
- If the document(s) you need is not available in the ASU Library, ASU faculty/students may submit an Interlibrary Loan request
- Last updated: Jan 2, 2024 8:27 AM
- URL: https://libguides.asu.edu/computerscience
- Print page
The ASU Library acknowledges the twenty-three Native Nations that have inhabited this land for centuries. Arizona State University's four campuses are located in the Salt River Valley on ancestral territories of Indigenous peoples, including the Akimel O’odham (Pima) and Pee Posh (Maricopa) Indian Communities, whose care and keeping of these lands allows us to be here today. ASU Library acknowledges the sovereignty of these nations and seeks to foster an environment of success and possibility for Native American students and patrons. We are advocates for the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge systems and research methodologies within contemporary library practice. ASU Library welcomes members of the Akimel O’odham and Pee Posh, and all Native nations to the Library.
