Skip to main content
LibApps staff login

Computer Science and Engineering

This is a guide to computer science, computer engineering, and applied computing resources for all ASU campuses

Introduction

This guide provides computer science/engineering majors, graduate students and faculty with links to relevant library and internet resources available to you at ASU. 

You can jump to the Quick start section for awesome links on your subject interest.

The SIDE HEADINGS on this guide include tips on research and writing, including:

  • Keeping Current shows how to set up alerts and RSS feeds in your favorite journals and indexing services so you're automatically notified of newly published material and don't have to remember to manually search these resources regularly.
  • Literature Review is a how-to approach to writing an in-depth lit review for a dissertation, thesis, grant application or lengthy term paper, including tips on determining the scope of the paper, search strategy, and appropriate types of resources.
  • Resources is organized by the type of resource: books, journals & conferences, associations and organizations, dictionaries, standards, and technical reports; on each sub-section, we'll link you to the best library and internet resources for that document type.
  • Writing & Citing contains information on writing in STEM subject areas and on citation style guides and management.

 

Research Data Management

What is data management and why is it important? Learn about it or brush up your knowledge with this tutorial. 

Once you've completed the tutorial, take a look at the LibGuide for Research Data Management and Sharing and find out how ASU can help you get started. 

Quick start

Beginner Video Tutorials to Industry Game Engines

General Game Development Resources

You can search for books, articles or courses using keywords such as "Unreal Engine" or "Unity" or "game development" in these databases

Epic Games provides tutorials for more advanced features with Unreal Engine

Journals (presently active)

ACM Digital Library

IEEE Xplore

Other

Conference Papers (held in the last 2 years)

ACM Digital Library

IEEE Xplore

Online resources

Journals (presently active)

Conferences (held in the last 2 years)

Databases

Knovel

  • Click on "Browse" on the left-hand menu.
  • Click on "Computer Hardware Engineering"

McGrawHill AccessEngineering

  • Look for "Browse AccessEngineering content by" and click on "Subject".
  • Find "Computer Engineering" and click the checkbox on the right. Then click "Browse Selected".

Programming language rankings

Introduction to programming

OR

  • Go to ASU's Library Catalog, and search for "Beginning Programming" or other similar keywords to locate books in print and online

Specific Languages

  • Go to ASU's Library Catalog, and use for your programming language (ie C++, Javascript, Python, etc.) as keywords for your search.
  • Other databases to find e-books for your programming language:
  • Explore subject databases for reference books, textbooks, and video tutorials:
    • O'Reilly for Higher Education
      • Find and click on "Explore Skills", then click on "Programming Languages". You can select a specific programming language or "View All".
    • McGrawHill AccessEngineering:
      • Look for "Browse AccessEngineering content by" and click on "Subject".
      • Find and expand "Computer Science", find "Computer Programming" and click the checkbox on the right. Then click "Browse Selected".

Introduction to AI/ML

eBooks and Databases

Journals

IEEE Xplore - Browse Journals, then search By Title using ("artificial intelligence OR machine learning") keywords

ACM Digital Library

Conferences (last held in 2024)

IEEE Xplore - Browse Conferences, then search By Title using ("machine learning" OR "artificial intelligence") keywords. Below are results from searching "machine learning".

  • Big Data & Data Science
    • ICBDML, Big Data & Machine Learning
    • BigDataService, IEEE International Conference on Big Data Computing Service and Applications
    • FMLDS, Future Machine Learning and Data Science
    • MLBDBI, Machine Learning, Big Data and Business Intelligence
  • Human Applications
    • AIMLA, Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning Applications Theme: Healthcare and Internet of Things 
    • ICCCMLA, Cybernetics, Cognition and Machine Learning Applications
    • MLHMI, Machine Learning and Human-Computer Interaction
    • SaTML, Secure and Trustworthy Machine Learning
    • SIML, Smart Computing, IoT and Machine Learning
    • MLNLP, Machine Learning and Natural Language Processing
  • Engineering Applications
    • AIE, Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning for Energy Transformation 
    • ICMLCA, Machine Learning and Computer Application
    • MLISE, Machine Learning and Intelligent Systems Engineering
    • MLCAD, Machine Learning for CAD
    • ICMLCN, Machine Learning for Communication and Networking
    • Machine Learning for Signal Processing
    • SenSys-ML, Machine Learning on Edge in Sensor Systems
    • PRML, Pattern Recognition and Machine Learning